I love getting around to a proper sucking session. in The Napkin.

  • May 6, 2024, 10:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I woke up early, and felt motivated to vacuum. I’ve meant to vacuum once a week, but who actually holds themselves to that. Nonetheless, with four cats, even a half-assed vacuum will pick up a ridiculous amount of car furr.

It’s a “yeah, duh”, but periodic vacuuming has correlated with a decrease in allergy symptoms. I never considered myself allergic to cats, but maybe it’s just a threshold thing. Like. I’m not lactose intolerant, but the body can only handle so much lactose before it goes “Dude,. What the hell.”

Or maybe it’s some unrelated dust it’s picking up, only Pepperridge Farm knows.

And by “woke up early”, time index 9:33 pm.

Waking up to darkness is definitely better than getting home under darkness of night. When I was getting home from workies at midnight, it was like I was running on adrenaline. Just wired and that masked I’m-not-tired-but-I’m-exhausted-and-I-should-relax-but-I’m-too-amped-up-to-relax crap. Whether it’s as early as the day before, or as late as just before the sun rises, waking up to darkness feels like borrowed time.

Once the sun is up, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TODAY? HUH, SUSAN? WHAT HAVE YOU ACCOMPLISHED?

And getting home at 1pm. Man. So much better than getting home at midnight. Never underestimate the effect of direct sunlight on the mood. Whether acute or overall.

As a matter of personal circadian, I’ve always felt sleepy in the afternoon. So I come home, and peak sunlight softly decreases in intensity. Rather than napping, I just go to bed proper.

I’ve tried a straight-up overnight job, and I didn’t last. Going to work at 10 pm sucks. Sleeping purely during daylight just doesn’t work for me. Trying to sleep before noon always felt like I was getting to bed “late”.

Whereas, somehow, going to bed around 2-4pm feels like “going to bed early”.

Unrelated:

We accept manhours as a scientific unit of measurement. It will take five manhours to complete this task.

Yet the phrase “It will take five manminutes to complete this task” has a decidedly different impression.

Anyway, eat your oatmeal.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.