My Perfect Childhood in All

  • March 31, 2014, 10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

From an outsiders point of view my childhood must have looked amazing! I was not a child of divorce. I had 3 siblings; 1 older brother, 1 older sister and a twin sister, and of course we had a dog to make our little family unit complete. I grew up in a suburb of a middle sized city. It wasn't the richest of the greater metro area, but it was probably the second or third wealthiest town.
I began riding horses when I was 8, I began running track when I was 13. I learned how to downhill ski when I was 14. We belonged to a pool club, we had bicycles, and all the toys kids could want for their back yards. In high school I became part of a slew of after school activities including yearbook club, science club etc.. I was also an active member of my churches youth group.
I was a B+ student and I held a part time job at McDonalds. I graduated and went away to start my adult life living on campus of a great school. I remember growing up dinner time meals were unavoidable. We sat down as a family every night and ate and talked together. The TV was off, and if the phone rang it did not get answered. Usually Friday nights involved ordering Pizza and sitting in the family room watching Primetime TV.
We were always together on holidays. Sometimes my brother would come to visit during the holidays. Sometimes it would be my dad's parents, or my mom's mom, or her Brother and his family that came to visit. We never went to their places, they always came to us. My mom was a great cook. We always had good food on the table whether it was a holiday or not. And of course there were always pictures taken at the holidays, and birthdays and other special occasions, to mark the occasions, and all pictures placed in a photo album to show.
And that is the good things I remember about my childhood.


Last updated April 24, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.