parenting rant in --

  • March 16, 2014, 11:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There have been a couple of threads in my facebook mom group that have really rubbed me the wrong way. The first one was about how some of them judged other peoples' kids on facebook and how theirs were "smarter." The second one was about how a few of them were jealous of other peoples' kids because they could do things their kids couldn't, developmentally.

It is just SO infuriating. Why do you care about comparing other kids to yours? Why don't you focus on your own kid? I feel like it is such a stupid and awful waste of time, and it propogates mommy wars, which I fucking despise.

I have never once thought about being upset or jealous that Cannon can't do something. I just feel proud of his accomplishments and I monitor his development to see that there aren't any abnormalities... but I will never push him to be "better" than other people. He is his own individual human being, and he will do things on his own time, in his own way. And he seems like a happy, well-adjusted kid so I think this approach is working for us.

I just don't understand, I suppose.


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.