Joint Pain Remedy in New Immigrant

  • March 15, 2014, 12:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gin-Soaked Raisins!
Many "People's Pharmacy" listeners swear by this. Although I haven't tried it, I intend to. It's easy. 8 ounces golden raisins 6 to 8 ounces gin Spread raisins in a shallow pan and barely cover them with gin. Let raisins sit until the gin is completely evaporated. Eat nine raisins a day. Results may take a few weeks. That may be the one and only recipe I ever post. Take note. (From "Recipes & Remedies" by Joe & Terry Graedon)

Smile: The massive tow truck dragged our pick-up off the hill sideways in a dramatic, smoke and mirrors event. Cable was attached to the truck and to a tree and the truck was picked up like a toy and bounced and yanked around. The young magician in charge wore cowboy boots and scrambled up and down the steep, icy slope without falling! He must have had a former life in Switzerland. He was something to behold.

Frown: He broke the truck. At worst it could be the differential. The wheels don't want to move, the ABS and brake lights are on. Monday dancing cowboy returns with a flatbed tow truck to haul our shiny, new (2010) formerly perfect pick-up thirty-five miles to La Crosse where we get the diagnosis. Fingers crossed. Can you believe this? DOES EVERYONE ELSE but us KNOW NEVER TO HAVE YOUR VEHICLE PULLED SIDEWAYS?

Smile: When Tom and Willow left yesterday (he'll be back on Sunday) I was fascinated to observe the glee with which these four cats reclaimed the bedroom and bathroom (Willow's area). Una headed for a sit in the cupboard. Everyone had a drink out of their glass in the tub. Of course they had to use Willow's litter box. Gazing out the bedroom window was popular. Spot spread his fluffy self out on the bed and last night everyone slept with me. Life is good. We are calmed by routine.

Sad Face: When I saw five of Leo's kids' vehicles parked at his and Mary's house I became worried that Leo had passed away and rushed directly to see Mary. Leo was fine. Mary, however, I learned, has been in the hospital for a week and a half. They think it's pancreatitis. I need to talk to her daughters. Because I have no car I couldn't visit Mary but have talked with her. She said she gets up and walks, eats regular food, has no tubes but said no mention is being made of when she can leave.

Smile: At the recommendation of a Lansing local we tried a pizza place in town and were delighted, both because the pizza was good and also to be with people and away from the Great Truck Debacle. Had a spinach, feta, artichoke, garlic chicken pizza with homemade pesto on top. Crispy crust. Yummm.

Sad Face: My beloved cousin Eleaner died at 93. In our last conversation she said she wasn't ready to go. A month earlier she'd gone to Hawaii. But this was the very first time she ever had memory issues and did complain about always having to be taken to the doctor. She became another "second Mom" when mine passed away and we had great fun talking about family history. She was the family geneologist. At Halloween she was still making cards to sell in a local gift shop, something she'd done for years. Everywhere she went she started a Red Hat Society and thoroughly enjoyed their social agenda. I knew she wasn't well because she hadn't been on Facebook and hadn't e-mailed me. What joie de vivre she had!!

Frown: I'm overdue in mentioning that report that said women did not need regular mammograms. You should have heard my doctor roar about it. There was also the one awhile ago that discouraged PSA tests. He said the media does great damage with such reports and especially by not following up when they are discredited. Get those annual mammograms or PSA tests! Tom and I are examples of their value!

Smile: Melt water roared down the valley gully. South slopes have plenty of open ground for the deer and turkeys. I can see a large patch of open water in the main channel of the Mississippi.

MIRACLE: I HAVE BEEN ON THE TREADMILL EVERY DAY SINCE MY ONCOLOGY APPOINTMENT.

I am grateful: I'm exercising For each smile amidst the frowns and sad faces For the good feelings you give me

WISHING YOU A MIRACLE TOO!


Deleted user March 15, 2014

Yay for you being on the treadmill! You inspire me....I need to exercise everyday instead of sporadically like I have been of late. So sorry your aunt died. HUGS

QueenSuzu March 15, 2014

my sympathies on your aunt's passing. The aunt i was "overseeing" passed away last August at age 87.

I've been doing the raisins since the beginning of Nov., definitely takes a good six weeks. I feel a difference. My 79 year old aunt has been taking them for years and swears she feels a difference when she misses. do mine a little different in that i put them in a jar and cover w/just enough gin to cover and then a little more. i take 8. Mentioned to my family doc and he was all for it. hope it works for you (i happen to like gin but some people do not and think they taste horrible. you can add some cinnamon and a bit of honey as i've also read). Let me know how it works for you.

QueenSuzu March 15, 2014

QueenSuzu March 15, 2014

my apologies on your cousin passing and not your aunt.

Linda March 15, 2014

The ups and downs of life! So sorry about your aunt.

I don't think I'll be trying the booze soaked raisins. LOL! Let us know if it helps.

thesunnyabyss March 15, 2014

I'm so sorry to hear about your aunt, my condolences to your and yours,

my furbabies are always happy again when Wayne leaves, even if I'm not, they just love the space on the bed when he's gone, lol,

I would have let the cowboy move my truck sideways if it got me off the hill too, and Wayne is a mechanic, you'd think I would know better, lol,

I may have to try that joint reliever, my hips and knee have been aching something awful this winter,

I hope Mary recovers quickly,

Enjoy your weekend, big hugs and much love!!!

Marg March 15, 2014

Imagine not being ready to go at 93 - how wonderful! Really sorry she's gone though. Good for you getting on that treadmill every day - impressive!

MageB March 15, 2014

If it is on snow, it won't hurt it. The tires would have just slid on the snow and ice. He doesn't understand about the "sideways." But to tow it any distance is not good. I am poking him to answer you himself. :)

BentnotBroken March 16, 2014

Just a word of caution to everyone trying the golden raisin/gin combo. It DOES work! The pharmaceutical this combo makes is the same compound found in ANSAID meds ( ibuprofen,naproxen,etc.) If you have heart disease or kidney disease its not recommended you take this. I came off Meloxicam for this reason. The cardiovascular risks were too great. I now use tart cherry juice and blueberries in a smoothie. :-)

jamez March 16, 2014

To be beloved over 93 years says much for cousin Eleaner, I think very few of us are ready to go, Par-in-law passed away at 93 and he was wasn’t ready. Only Mar-in-law was ready and she had cancer, I missed her and also felt happy for her release. Best to put some things to one side a remember the good time, I remember Mar-in-law laughing on a Friday night, she was coming home from Ladies Club at church, she had three friends with her and all could talk! At some point on the journey home she had asked some one to pass her glasses over, she drove them all home complaining that the night was very dark, it was only when she got home did she realize what the problem was; one of her friends had passed her sunglasses; she could laugh at herself and she really did that night …. I hope you recall many good times.

jamez March 23, 2014

I hope you are will and thoroughly thawed out, we are getting all sorts of weather, but it feels like March weather so that’s ok.

Deleted user March 26, 2014

I am so sorry you lost your Aunt ...That is bad about your truck. That Cowboy would be paying the repair bill. I hope Mary gets better quick ! Cats .... With four again my house is cat crazy !!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.