Oh happy day! in A day in the life...

  • March 13, 2014, 10:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Considering we got our taxes for the year 2012 done last night (yes, we are behind, shut up), and we owe a little over $1,600, I'm in a fabulous mood today! I pulled an all nighter the night before last, and luckily my BFF Robin was doing it too so we were both doing school work and messaging each other all night.....that and drinking tons of coffee...lol. I stayed up all day yesterday and felt great all day....didn't feel sleepy not even once! After hubby got home from work he took his daily "after work snooze" while I waited for phone calls from various people at the college to get some questions answered. Then we went and got our taxes done, then picked up some Chinese food on the way home for din-din.

Last night I went to bed around 10:30 p.m. (remember, this is after being up all night and all day with no sleep at all) and got up at 8:30 this morning....YAY ME!!! Perfect night's sleep....for me, at least. Hubby ended up on the couch...lol. I asked him if it was because I was snoring and he said, "You snored a little bit, but I want to know where you were running to." I was like, huh? He told me that I was literally moving my legs like I was running while I was asleep, so every few seconds he'd get a kick in the leg. I don't remember what I dreamed last night, but apparently I was doing some heavy duty running! I feel bad he ended up on the couch, but I slept like the dead AND woke up feeling great. Thought for the day....if I was horizontal running, does that still burn calories? Hmmmm.....

The one thing that is marring my fabulous mood today is the fact I didn't get my short-term disability check this week. They're effing around again, asking for more information from my doctor, just like they did last month. So this means I have to wait until this coming Tuesday, when I will HOPEFULLY get paid again, and if I do then it'll be retroactive and be for two weeks. That's all fine and dandy, but I've got bills to pay....I plan on getting that check every week so my car payment or cell phone or whatever is due won't be late. The Hartford is AAA's short-term disability provider, and I'm getting tired of their shit. Pray I get paid this coming Tuesday, because I am going to be so screwed if I don't. My car payment is already 4 days late. If I do get paid this coming Tuesday, I can get it paid right in the nick of time (they give you 10 days past the due date before they consider it "late").

I've decided I'm going to go through all my jewelry and take anything gold that I don't wear (and believe me, I have a ton of jewelry that I never wear!) to one of those "WE BUY GOLD" places and sell it. I don't like yellow gold anymore...I like silver or while gold. Anyway, one of my aunts did it a few weeks ago and she ended up getting $909!!! I know I don't have enough to get near that much, but hey, every little bit helps, right?

I'm still praying for a decent, and quick, settlement from this case with AAA. I've started court reporting school and let me tell you, it ain't cheap! So I'm going to have to set up monthly payments with the school for now, and as soon as I get a settlement (IF I get a settlement), then I can pay the school fees completely off and not have to worry about that.

If I could sell my car right now, I would. If I'll be working with hubby starting in April, we'll be going to and from work in his vehicle, so no extra vehicle would be necessary. BUT....the problem is that I like to go visit my BFF and see my daughter and grandbabies whenever I get a chance, and a lot of times I go by myself....and I can't do that if we only have one vehicle. I also go to church by myself and my small group on Thursday nights, and that wouldn't be possible if I didn't have my own car. Oh well -sigh-.....it was just a thought anyway. Right now I'm wishing I'd never bought the car and that we'd just put in the $1,000 it would've taken to get my other one tuned up and a few minor things replaced. The body was in perfect condition....no rust or dings, and it had brand new tires on it. The only thing it needed was a really good tune-up and some.....shit, I don't know what they're called, but they're little things in the engine. Ahhhh well, you know what they say....hindsight is 20/20. But at the time we didn't have $1,000 just laying around, and I was so excited to get approved for a brand new car (first time ever!), and with such a phenomenal interest rate, that I jumped at it. I do love my car....I just don't love the car payment and the insurance payment...lol.

But hey, I'm not going to complain. I have an awesome husband, four wonderful, healthy kids, two amazing granddaughters, a BFF I couldn't live without, a sister I'm finally building a relationship with, and overall an amazing family. I also have my church, which I love, and my small women's group....those ladies are beyond amazing! I'm beyond blessed, and I have nothing to complain about. There are billions of people all over this planet that have it far worse than we could even imagine.

I'm excited that my BFF and I are "in school" at the same time. She lives in IL and I'm in MI, and we're not taking the same courses, but what's cool is that we started at almost the same time, and we'll have each other to stay motivated and to lean on when we're feeling discouraged. How freaking cool is that!

It's colder than cold out today, but the sun is shining brightly and I have all the blinds open. Just the sunlight alone helps my mood. I don't care if it's cold....I don't have to leave the house if I don't want to. But sunny days do a lot for my mood.

Oh, did I tell you I quit smoking? Yep, I'm doing the vape thing now. I use the liquid that has zero nicotine in it, and it smells good! I don't even have to go outside to do it because it's not smoke, it's vapor, and it smells like mango. When I'm not vaping it's usually still in mouth because I chew on it...lol. I guess it's an oral fixation thing. Get your filthy minds out of the gutter!

Okay, I'm going to hang out a bit, watch some t.v., clean up the kitchen, do some school reading, then get ready for my small group tonight. I hope you all have a wonderful day and for all you out there who work, remember.....tomorrow is FRIDAY!!!

Much love! xoxo


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.