More Smiles and Frowns in New Immigrant

  • March 12, 2014, 4:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Smile: Tom is here with me.

Smile: Tom's friend, Ron, is greatly improved. He and Tom went out to lunch twice. A nurse is visiting him every day and if he has a concern, a nurse heads right over again. He is making plans for people to live upstairs and help care for him. The bad part of this is that one of the people is his severely alcoholic stepson.

Smile: Thanks to a couple days in the forties, the driveway is clear of ice and snow.

Wide-eyed Frown: Despite that when backing the truck into the snow, I got too close to the slope and it slid down about three feet coming to rest on a tree and a fence post which damaged a back door. We'll need a tow truck to pull it out. Yes, I hit my psychological bottom. Then I thought, better a damaged vehicle than a damaged Tom and when he arrived safely he shook his head in disbelief at the truck and, as usual, stifled any comment. What a gem!

Smile: The oncologist didn't find any lumps or anything ominous at my exam yesterday. My mastectomies were one year ago March 14.

Long, sad face: Several very ill looking cancer patients were in the waiting room, including people much younger than I am. Again, what does a damaged truck matter in the scheme of things.

Smile: The oncologists lectured me about increasing my exercise. I asked them very seriously if they knew how to get me to do it, because I don't.

Frown: Hard being nuts.

Smile: A bulletin posted in oncology told of a group that will pay for adopting a pet for a child with a serious diagnosis and even pay for its food for the first year.

Smile: All four blossoms are wide open on my velvety amarylis.

Smile: Monday was so warm that I sat outside in the hot sun. It felt life-giving. The ice on the river is turning blue on the main channel, there are areas of open water. Some risk-takers continue to ice fish in the backwaters though, as usual.

Smile: We can have the door open for awhile most days. Kitties have screen marks on their noses! We not only see birds, we hear them. Very soon Love will be in the air. Birders report seeing geese, pelicans, ducks and Great Blue Herons swarming by the thousands a few counties south. I'm very eager to witness those swarms here!

I'm grateful for: Tom's presence and kind heart. My good oncology report. Spring's arrival

Don't drive like I do!!

Later: I got on the treadmill - and walked - for thirty minutes. Mark your calendars!


Deleted user March 12, 2014

Yay for a good oncology reports and kittens with nose prints! :)

jamez March 12, 2014

Nice to read your good news, and bent cars are easily mended, but a hit on the wallet – I know! Here across the pond we have some quite spring like weather; the March effect is here! Warm days are very welcome here and I expect in Iowa, I know your winter was much harder than our winter; but I needed some thing to right about …..

thesunnyabyss March 12, 2014

your for your oncology report!!! what great news, and again, I so totally sympathize about the exercise, I need to get my butt moving too,

I'm so glad Tom is there to help deal with the truck and everything else.

I'm so glad you are having nice weather,

have a great evening, hugs and love!!

Daisy Mae March 12, 2014

You bring me smiles. How grateful am I to see an entry from you. And so happy to hear the oncology reports are good.

Linda March 13, 2014

Many more smiles than frowns. Such a good thing.

Beret March 13, 2014

Lots of good smiles today! And somehow warmer weather makes things much better.

jamez March 13, 2014

Oh dear I’ve been told the snow has blow in over North America, I hope it’s not to deep. We did get to agility today, it was a dry day but cold and very misty, I carried Lola to the field only to find the gate area was almost dry; she walked out holding her head up ….

Marg March 15, 2014

Lots of smiles there and sounds there's plenty to smile about!

MageB March 16, 2014

Bravo for walking. G says the towing company has insurance.

Deleted user March 26, 2014

Yay for a great report and the fact that you are exercising again ! Kudos to Tom. Crossing my fingers that a nice Spring will come to us soon !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.