I've got a secret! in A day in the life...

  • March 11, 2014, 4:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don't know why I've kept this to myself for so long....maybe it's the thought of failing. But I've started classes to become a court reporter! Working in the legal field for so long, I always talked to court reporters every chance I got...about the schooling and work and anything else regarding the job.

One thing I do and do well is typing, which I LOVE to do. I type well over 100 words per minute. My spelling, grammar and punctuation are top-notch, and I know legal and medical terminology like the back of my hand. When I was doing an online face-to-face meeting with my advisor, he posted a script of paper with court reporting "shorthand" on it. I looked at it once, then looked at it twice, then stopped him as he was talking (rude, I know) and read the entire paper to him. To say he was surprised (and impressed!) was an understatement. He said he'd NEVER talked to a brand new student who was able to read that page right away. I was quite proud of myself, to be honest :-)

So anyway, I'm officially a student again, and I have to say I'm kinda nervous but mostly excited....I really believe this is the path for me. So wish me luck, please.

In other news, not much is happening in my life these days. I was sick the night before last and didn't sleep at all, as well as still sick all day yesterday. All I ate yesterday was yogurt and a banana. Good news is I lost that three pounds I had gained...lol. Bad news is I'm still extremely tired a lot. Maybe I need to cut down on my sleep med. I'll try that tonight, but I'm not too hopeful about tonight because I slept until after 3 p.m. today. I might have to pull an all-nighter tonight, not take any sleeping med at all, and stay up all night and all day tomorrow, then try again tomorrow night to get myself back on a normal schedule. I hate sleeping so much...feels like I've wasted a whole day, which basically I have. Ugh.

I'm also having trouble pooping. I'm lucky if I go every other day, and even then I don't go much. I know that's why I feel so bloated all the time, and it's driving me insane! The pharmacist told me to try Miralax, which I have been doing for the past few days, but it doesn't seem to be working. Any of you out there (who didn't get grossed out by this paragraph) have any suggestions? I'm at the point where I'm willing to try just about anything. Only don't tell me to up my fiber intake, because that's the reason I'm so bloated. Lots of fiber and no pooping is not good.

Oh, guess what! I'm going to San Diego for 8 days in April to visit my son and daughter-in-law! I am sooooooo freaking excited!!! I called Josh the other night and told him I'd booked my ticket and he actually squealed and said Yay! LOL....my kid is such a dork sometimes, but he's a wonderful dork :-)

So I think I'm gonna go brush my teeth. I've already cleaned the kitchen and I've managed to eat half a sandwich and some yogurt. Then I'm going to hang out and wait for calls from a couple of people from the court reporting school, one from IT and one from Student Services. Then tonight at 8 p.m. I have another online class. I'm looking forward to it. AND all my books/supplies arrived today....woo hoo!!!

Hope everyone is having a fabulous day....much love! xoxo


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.