Smiles and Frowns (or worse) in New Immigrant

  • March 8, 2014, 3:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Smile: Daytime temperatures here will be in the thirties and forties all next week!

Frown: 26% of Americans believe the sun moves around the earth.

Smile: The turkeys love me. I put out their feed and in an instant they clamor like a bunch of hens. There are still about twenty of them.

Frown: Pope Francis said the Vatican had done a good job on the sexual abuse scandal, that they'd been very open in their inquiries.
Another case of the rich and powerful saying what that want to hear, no matter if it's the truth. I took this hard. I thought Pope Francis was going to be better than that. I am a fool.

Smile: Una discovered the rubber door stopper, carried it around, batted it and then hid it in a crevice for future fun.

Frown: The majority of Iowans would happily keep our ALEC member, conservative governor in office.

Smile: My hero, Senator Bernie Sanders, said he'd run for president because the country is in such a mess. Course the conservatives would assassinate him.

Frown: Pyewackett is in heat again and I have only myself and a massive veterinary conglomerate to blame. The company that bought out our WI vets former company eliminated their in-house lab which means I have to drag my cat(s) up for the pre-op blood test then wait a week for the results before heading up for surgery. Bah-humbug. In this weather you are asking for a blizzard simply by the act of making appointments.

Smile: Tom will be joining me tomorrow.

Frown (sad): My Sister, for the first time, admitted she is having the same memory problems I am. I am very sad, especially for her younger by thirteen years husband. He's lost his pets and I know has been concerned about Jeanette ever since she broke her hip.

Smile: The baby I nearly witnessed being born 43 years ago has had her first child. It was a traumatic deliver, two months early, with both Mom and Baby emitting scary medical readings, however, an emergency C-section saved them both. Darcy and baby Jaxson Takea (six pounds) are both home already. Their maternal grandmother, Toki, has been attending vigorous exercise classes "so I can be alive for my Grandson's high school graduation!"

Frown (sadly): Tom's good friend Ron needs nursing care (either in home or not) after knee surgery (scope). He fell at 3:00 AM and couldn't get up. The other day he told Tom if he had a gun he'd do himself in. No immediate family is present to help him. Tom will make some inquiries for him but family would be better.

Smile: My amarylis has two deep red blooms and two more buds. Pink, white, red, coral and orange geraniums are blooming despite the cold.

Frown: I keep spilling birdseed in this house.

Smile (quizzical): Do I dare believe the weathermen about this warming trend?

Frown: Now Congressman Issa has apologized for refusing to allow Congressman Isiah Cummings to speak. Did you see that on the news? I mean issa turning the microphone off and on? Spitting mad, I was, and the truth is Cummings is as angry about what the IRS did as Issa.

Smile: Our propane company refilled our tank without being asked. With all the talk of propane shortages, we were worried. What a huge relief!!

Okay, enough. I'll stop there and go clean up the bird seed!

Happy days to you all!


woman in the moon March 08, 2014

Nice mix of ups and downs. I have one geranium blooming. They are grateful for the light.

Marg March 08, 2014

A very balanced entry! Getting old sucks though whichever way you look at it.

Tick Tock Tick Marg ⋅ March 08, 2014

Yes, I'm afraid you're right, Marg.

NorthernSeeker March 08, 2014

My deep pink geranium is blooming...and it is daylight savings time tonight.

Tick Tock Tick NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 08, 2014

How has your winter up there been? Same bitter cold? / When I had to get up early I disliked DST for making it even earlier. Glad you're fine with it. Bless geraniums! Happy Days to you, LBH!!

MageB March 08, 2014

And it was a happy day. Loved your comparisons too.

Tick Tock Tick MageB ⋅ March 08, 2014

There are mostly good days now, aren't there! Yay!

Deleted user March 08, 2014

I liked your smile and frown format. May have to try that myself sometime. I am disappointed in Pope Francis, too, after having so much hope in the beginning. My friend who is a woman priest thinks he's all "smoke and mirrors", and I am beginning to wonder myself. :(

thesunnyabyss March 09, 2014

I like this format, very cool.

I like this new Pope so far, but I hadn't heard that yet.

We are going to have a few days above zero then we get more snow and oh ya, it's snowing now. I am so over this winter, I know I keep saying it, lol.

Have a lovely weekend with Tom, hugs and much love!!!

Deleted user March 26, 2014

I do love your format too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.