Sitting is the new Smoking in New Immigrant

  • March 6, 2014, 12:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

That's what a cardiologist said while I was sitting, listening. Several new nails have been pounded in my casket this brutal winter. TV has saved my mind, but not my body! I have only myself to blame.

The Winter Olympics inspired me to get on the treadmill a few times, but not nearly enough. The first week of the event kept me happily occupied. If I wish ice dancers Meryl and Charlie into my mind, I still swoon. All the ice dancers and skaters, really.

The British series (Downton Abbey, Sherlock, House of Cards, Doc Martin) have provided royal entertainment. Very glad to have a happy ending to the much too short "Downton Abbey" series. One full of surprises this season, including some happy ones!

I have learned who Benedict Cumberbatch is and it's fun seeing where he pops up, including the kind slave master in "12 Years a Slave" and the cousin in "August: Osage County."

Online movies enabled me to sit atop my icy ridge and view many Oscar nominees (Blue Jasmine, Dallas Buyers Club, Gravity, Nebraska, Captain Philips, 12 Years a Slave, August: Osage County, Twelve Feet from Stardom) Watching them from the treadmill could have happened, but it didn't.

Oscar Night was a major event, with the truck once again struck on the hill and subzero temperatures returning, I loved Gown Watching and then the awards. I was happy with all the winners.

This week Iowa public television is having one of their damnable fundraisers. I despise them because routine evening shows are replaced with one special after another. Even if I liked one of them, I would not watch because I'm too furious. I made that clear when I upped to sustaining member this year. All my friends agree, we tune in because we relish the regular programming, not this stuff!! Grrr.

Anyway, this brings me to Garbage Day and I am hoping I can get myself out of this chair (Recliners should be banned), get the truck up the driveway, and cross my fingers for an unswerving descent after our 5" of new snow (now plowed).

Weather predictions are for above freezing temperatures, which leaves me pondering if I should shovel or let Mother Nature do the work?

Oh my gosh, I nearly forgot to say that a Red (fox red) Adult Screech Owl was in our entry alcove the other morning. A wondrous little bird, who looked at me and didn't stir. Then I messed up trying to take a photo and he turned with an indignant squawk and flew off. Beautiful bird, never knew screech owls came in red!

In other wildlife news. I am NOT to be feeding deer (by order of the DNR) but I couldn't tolerate their caved in sides. Plus two yearling fawns have broken legs, which devastated me, but are traveling about like Zipper on his three legs. "Survival of the fittest" seems to be at work among the nine because the adults are all being mean to all the fawns, jumping at them and chasing them from the food. What choice did I have but to buy 200 pounds of whole corn for them, being the sap that I am?

Thank you all for you varied useful or hilarious suggestions for not falling on the ice!!

I am thankful for: All of you Sunshine on a wintry day Shelter, heat, flush toilets and running water! Wool socks and sweaters For not falling...yet

Carpe Diem!


Deleted user March 06, 2014

I have not been on my treadmill once this Winter:-( I wander from TV to Amazon prime video , to books , to Facebook and back. I get stiffer and stiffer. Lots of constant pain and I am becoming a curmudgeon . I have been being hateful to F. And he to me. Thank goodness for Blake and my animals ! Will this Winter never end ? I am not sure I care really except for the cold. I have decided to give up gardening which greatly decreases my interest in Spring and Summer :-(

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ March 06, 2014

Even your gardening in pots? I can understand how you feel but I can't imagine you not gardening. / Aren't you revitalized after Florida? I don't have your pain and still can't work. I'm crazy in my head. Nuts.

Deleted user March 06, 2014

A red screech owl ??? Amazing! Fawns with broken legs ? I would have hysterics but so glad to read that they somehow get around anyway . Bless you for buying corn. The people who make the rules not to feed them should be starved for several weeks so they would get an idea what they are talking about. I bet even with my spine I could cheerfully put my foot squarely and firmly on their back sides !!!!!!

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ March 06, 2014

Don't think I didn't nearly perish when I saw the first fawn. I worried about it all night, whether to call the DNR about it and knowing it's too skitterish to be shot or whatever they would do, so I am more than grateful seeing them munching away. / Course you know the irony here, we have hit six deer that have required thousands (in insurance) for car repairs. Still, I cannot look into the eyes, see their sunken sides, and not feed "my own." Life is all about contradictions, isn't it.

Beret March 06, 2014

Yeah, I read that about sitting. This has been a gawd awful winter. No way can most people get out and about without risking life and limb. Do you have a treadmill? Oh wait, I see that you do. Treadmills are better than nothing but really boring. I absolutely love Meryl & Charlie. Just the way they look at each other.

Tick Tock Tick Beret ⋅ March 06, 2014

Exactly how I feel, just the way they look at each other. / Once I'm on the treadmill, I'm fine, but I tell you my head is nuts.

thesunnyabyss March 06, 2014

I love seeing the Oscar gowns, they are so beautiful and ethereal, oh to be tall and thin, lol, do you ever follow Tom and Lorenzo, they do great fashion commentary on the Oscars and everything else, lol,

this has been such a brutal winter on everyone and everything, I hope you are able to get out on the weekend, but be careful,

I hope your owl friend returns and you get a photo, and the deer, oh the poor deer, I'd feed them too,

big hugs my friend, much love!!!

Tick Tock Tick thesunnyabyss ⋅ March 06, 2014

Where can I follow Tom and Lorenzo? On TV or online? / For the last two years I've thought nearly all the gowns were gorgeous, have you? Whose did you like best this year, although I'm not sure I could narrow it down. Jennifer Lawrence's little red dress, Cate Blanchett's, Angelina Joli's, Sandra Bullock, and the pregnant actress's gown was definitely the most perfect maternity formal wear I've ever seen. / There was an IA TV report that many turkeys and deer are dying in our part of the state. I believe it's legal to feed turkeys, however, to feed turkeys is to feed deer! / Had to laugh at you wanting to be tall and thin. My Mom and Sister were/are, you know. Mom was 5'9" and Jeanette is 5'10" (well, now shrunken to 5'8"). How tall are you? Mom always wanted to be short. Both of them were/are stunning dressers,though, and stood/stand out in every crowd because of it. I was 5'6" and gorgeous for about five years of my life. Now I'm 5'4" and today I wanted to go to the bookstore on my impromptu visit to La Crosse but realized I looked like a homeless person, with all the corn dust on my coat and boots, and decided to wait!!

Sabrina-Belle March 07, 2014

The red screech owl sounds amazing!

MageB March 08, 2014

Yup, maybe time to spend the winters in town so you can get out and about. Horrible thought, but it might be worth it in the long run.

Daughter Margot had been through many different programs before getting clean and sober. She was living in the high desert and had just given birth to her 5th child. When her boyfriend threatened to beat on the baby, she snuck out in the middle of the night with the child. Social workers stuck her in "Sister Clair's"...a program for battered women, recovering alcoholics and addicts. She kept the baby with her. First she got her health together...teeth, eyes, that sort of thing, then she went to several counselors. One recommended that she take the fire course at a local college. She went further and got two AA degrees in Fire Safety and Fire Prevention. All through this she raised her child, went to meetings, volunteered, and now has completed two of the three graduate level classes to get a job. She get's grants, scholarships, and a little help from us.

Sister Clair's and her small daughter were the key to make it all work. Since Margot graduated from their program, Sister lost it all as she fell into the depth of Alzheimer's. Now there is nothing like her program for battered women, and it will be missed.

Deleted user March 08, 2014

Very cool, seeing the owl!

Yes, screech owls come in two "color phases". There's a red phase, and a gray phase. Which you see more of depends on your location; it isn't an age, sex, or seasonal thing.

And they're not afraid of people. They'll dive at you if you're close to their nest.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.