Family and faemily in Public stuffs

  • Sept. 2, 2013, 9:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

whew What a rough couple of weeks....my Gran, who's house we live in, (one of her properties, not with her) and who we love very very much as the center of our extended family got really sick a few weeks ago and ended up in the hospital. She had pneumonia and they wanted to observe her and get some treatments going. She said it was "double pneumonia" though I don't know if that's a thing....it was bad enough that my mom felt she should come up and stay with Gran for a little while. That...doesn't happen. So that was concerning. My mom's an RN so it's wonderful when she can be here to help us all understand health related stuff.

Gran got out of the hospital and I went to visit her. Not but a few days later she was back in the hospital...but for something totally unrelated. Her heart started going too fast and she nearly died. She didn't have a heart attack, but her heart was up to 300 beats per min...which...really could have killed her if her heart was weaker. Thank goodness it isn't!! She was in the hospital again for a whole week. Half the time in ICU with IV meds to keep her heart rate under control, and then into critical care for monitoring and meds in pill form. Mom came back up to stay with her and my grandpa.

At the same time, Cyndi's (my wife) brother and our niece and nephew came up for a long weekend. It was wonderful to see them but such a weird dichotomy against the troubles of my Gran. We had a really wonderful time with them though. It was a really nice distraction, and great to see them. They live 10 hours away so it's not often we get the pleasure. Even rarer is their trip to come and see us. We played role-playing games the whole time and the kids didn't want to stop.

They left this morning and Gran got out of the hospital this afternoon. Both Cyndi and I have just been resting and trying to catch up on house hold chores today.

What a week....

In other random bits...Cyndi's brother's faemily (who just came; who we go to Faerie Worlds with, hence the distinction "faemily" hehe) is known as the Bu bears. SIL and BIL are "Mama and Papa bear" and everyone in their life knows this to be their animal totem. So I started to think about what animal we are. We share their last name so we can't be bears, that's them (and we're not bears...) and I came up with it. Bu* beavers. :) We love to work on and around our home, fixing, repairing and puttering. We're family people, committed to one another. Yep. We're the beavers. :) I'm going to buy us one of those decorative flags that has beavers on it, and Cyndi wants a totem pole that has beavers on it that looks like the beavers are creating the totem pole itself. hehehe.


Princess Buttercup September 03, 2013

the beavers idea is cute. :) and double pneumonia is when you have it in both lungs making it really hard to breathe. eep! glad she is doing better as well!

Rootless Princess Buttercup ⋅ September 03, 2013

Ah! That makes sense. Thanks. That is horrible. (I knew it was...I didn't doubt it...)

Satellite Six September 03, 2013

Hope your Gran is doing better. Our main sports teams around here are the Beavers and the Ducks. Tons of Beaver memorabilia around in the stores. If you like the colors orange and black, I am sure you could have a really easy time finding Beaver stuff online.

Rootless Satellite Six ⋅ September 03, 2013

My BIL and SIL live inn Eugene and graduated from OSU. So I'm familiar with the land of ducks and beavers :) I didn't want the college connotation, but more just the animal focus. I'm also from Oregon, which has the beaver on the back of the flag. So it's special that way for me too. :)

Satellite Six Rootless ⋅ September 04, 2013

Yeah, you can't live in here and not be familiar with the Ducks and Beavers and the rivalry between the two.

Kristin September 03, 2013

Glad Gran is doing better! I know how much she means to you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.