A Million Dollar Idea!! in New Immigrant

  • Feb. 28, 2014, 9:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I last wrote an entry I was complaining about and describing the brutal cold and nothing has changed. It's been difficult to write here, feeling like I'm a broken record. In fact, today our temperature is not predicted to break zero.

For three days I've been scared to venture out to the truck which is at the far end of the driveway. Our sunny days have melted the snow enough that everything has turned to ice, meaning the truck couldn't get enough traction to turn around and head toward the house, instead it kept slipping toward the steep slope. Eeeek!!. So there it sits as I contemplate how to get to it safely. Add to that, that I'm having a prolonged siege of vertigo and you understand why I haven't advanced past the "contemplating" stage.

This led to my Big Bucks scheme. I'll gladly allow YOU to reap the rewards of patenting a garment (perhaps a long coat) that will prevent bones from breaking during a fall. Tom thinks it can't be done and I understand his reasoning. Cushioning could prevent bruising, but may not be able to stop bones from breaking. Rather like the limitations of a football helmet. The final words from doctor at the end of my recent annual physical were "Be careful on the ice."

The challenge to the great minds out there is physics, I suppose. In the meantime Tom suggested I tie a pillow around my bum! I'm considering "paddling" across the ice in the tobaggon, hoping the momentum doesn't hurl me down the glassy incline!

Please send your ideas quickly!!


elaine2 February 28, 2014

You can buy these "things" that slip on over your boots that have studs on them so that you have better traction on the ice. Maybe someone else has more details. I saw them only once.

Beret February 28, 2014

I'll get Emily on this right away! Seriously, some kind of controlled sliding sounds like a good idea.

woman in the moon February 28, 2014

I took off my shoes and crossed the icy parking lot in my stocking feet. Was effective but my feet got cold.
Had to dry out my socks. (I guess that was the day it rained on the snow and made ice.)

Daisy Mae February 28, 2014

I needed that invention last Friday as evidenced by the fact I am now wearing a brace on my broken leg from slipping on an icy slope.

Tick Tock Tick Daisy Mae ⋅ February 28, 2014

Oh dear, Daisy Mae. I'm so sorry to to learn about your accident! Have a smooth, swift, comfortable recovery. Meanwhile I'll stay indoors.

thesunnyabyss March 01, 2014

oh I hope you find a way soon, we are cold here again, but not that cold, and apparently with the wind, Regina Saskatchewan is facing -67 today, brrrrr

stay safe, hugs!!

Tick Tock Tick thesunnyabyss ⋅ March 05, 2014

Someone posted a FB photo of Niagara Falls, thought of you. When Wayne returns it will still be winter!! Did you hear they wonder what impact the frozen Great Lakes will have on warming and the weather patterns in their vicinity?

MageB March 01, 2014

LOL....not falling is one option.

jamez March 01, 2014

Me being me my first thought was get out your disc of Maurice Ravel’s Bolero, then put your skates on, where as I of course I would sit it out until it melts; see I’m like your doctor putting out useless advice – at least I’m cheep!

Before posting I had a quick look at what your friend are advising, I think you need some more friends …..

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ March 05, 2014

You cracked me up and I NEED a laugh, Jamez. Got myself through THAT fix but now I'm in another, after the truck slid backwards down the driveway. I was grateful it didn't go over the deep edge since it was free-rolling out-of-control. I guess Tom will get his way next winter, won't me, and we'll blow out the pipes and lock up for the season. (Which will assure us a mild one, won't it!!) Felt good to laugh. Thanks.

Marg March 02, 2014

Actually one of your noters had a good idea - drunks never feel their falls do they and have less injuries as a result n'est pas? So there you are - bottle of Jack Daniels every time you go out will do the trick!

Otherwise stay inside with a bowl of soup and a blazing fire! :D

Tick Tock Tick Marg ⋅ March 05, 2014

I'll tell you, I HAVE been thinking about a sip of wine!

Marg Tick Tock Tick ⋅ March 05, 2014

You'll need a tad more than a sip methinks! :D

Deleted user March 07, 2014

I love Bonnie rose's picture in my mind but I still think bones would break ! I say : call for HELP ! I fell on my butt and hurt my right hip last summer so I take no chances. I hurt one of my left ribs getting out of a boat in Florida and I have had three weeks of misery from it . Better very safe than sorry !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.