The beginning in Crocheted Creations

  • Feb. 16, 2014, 1:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I learned to crochet, like the super basic stuff, when I was in Girl Scouts. I was probably in about 3rd grade or so? I loved it, but I remember working on the square that I was making (maybe a potholder? I don't even remember, or maybe it was just a "gauge swatch") but it turned into a triangle because my teachers (who were really not that great at teaching, although I can't imagine it is easy to teach 15 eager 3rd grade girls to do something like this, so more power to them!) either neglected to mention the "turning chain" or I just forgot that portion (which is quite possible, either way).

So I was discouraged for awhile because I had no idea why it happened that way, and my mom knew nothing about crochet, and my grandma who did is deaf and I didn't know how to ask/communicate with her to learn. Now I wish I would have sucked it up and learned from her, it would have been an awesome bonding experience.

For years I collected yarn and books, I got a book of a sampler afghan, as well as a book of various other afghan designs, my grandma who could no longer crochet because of her arthritis, gave me all of her yarn. It was in two huge trash bags. Still in the skeins because that is how she worked her yarn. And I took every single skein and wrapped it into a too-tight ball because I did not know that was an issue. When we moved out of that house into an apartment all of that yarn ended up in the trash (or maybe my mom donated it somewhere? I don't remember, I was too busy being a self-centered teenager to notice what my mother did during that time). None of that yarn was special in any way, I am sure 99% of it was Red Heart Super Saver. My grandma liked to make afghans, and that is the best stuff for it.

Anyway, so I had gathered a new collection of yarn, all of it was Caron One Pound, because I was going to make afghans, and you need LOTS OF YARN for that. -shakes head- I never got very far because I would lose interest.

I had, by the way, figured out why I ended up with a triangle, however, Anything that took more than one sitting to make, I would lose interest in, so the many squares that I made for the sampler afghan, eventually got thrown out. (I never gauged anything anyway, so I am sure each square I did was a different size, and it would not have worked well for the afghan).

Eventually, while I was dating Matt (most of you know him as Nemo) in my early 20's (fuck, how did that become so long ago?!) He requested a scarf to wear on the early morning chilly rides and he wanted it to match his motorcycle. So I went to work on buying some yarn. I found a cheap site (I don't remember what it was now) that had some yarn on sale for like $1.00/skein. I didn't know how much I would need, so I bought about 15 skeins of lime green, and 15 of white. I knew that they were small skeins, but I didn't know how much I would need. And I didn't want to run out.

I should also mention that this was bulky yarn. I got the box of yarn in the mail and realized I bought waaaaaay too much. I still went about making the scarf for Matt. It was my first finished project. I never took a picture. I do wonder if he still has it. I wouldn't blame him if he didn't. I don't think he even owns a lime green motorcycle anymore. Plus, he lives in Arizona, so there isn't really a reason for him to have it.

Annnyway, so that was my very first project. It was too wide and too long for the likes of most people but Matt LOVED it because it kept the cold off of his delicate Arizona skin. ;) At least the damn thing was soft! haha.

Oh yeah, and the design was just wide stripes of green and white. No fringe, if I remember correctly. Just a plain ol' loooong rectangle.


Sharee February 16, 2014

I love to crochet. I had the same problem with way over estimating how much yarn I was going to need. Over the years I've gotten better, although sometimes I think the only reason I crochet anything is so I can go buy more yarn.

Princess Buttercup Sharee ⋅ February 16, 2014

hahaha right?! I keep trying to make myself use what I already have, and then I find an awesome sale (I recently bought a couple sampler packs on knit picks) or I find a pattern I really want to make, but I have to have a different type of yarn that what I already own (of course!). Great example: I want to make socks or gloves, you can't use acrylic worsted weight for that! ;)

Ditch Witch February 16, 2014

i want to crochet so bad..everything I make is on a loom...like a loser. do you still crochet a lot??

Princess Buttercup Ditch Witch ⋅ February 16, 2014

as time permits, yes. :) And I have tried to make things on a loom and I just can't do it! I wish I could knit with any kind of proficiency.

Fries February 17, 2014

ugh. I still need to learn more. Im going to do a slumber party with one of my gals and we are going to do a crochet lesson! :)

Deleted user February 18, 2014

That's on my to do list. :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.