Isn't Josh DREAMY??? in Site Updates

  • March 30, 2018, 4:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

And his little dog too!

(Side note: I’m going to turn off comments on this for purely practical reasons. Having thousands of page requests returning a tree with hundreds of comments in it each time is not helping site performance issues. I’ve mentioned that it’s a current design flaw to the new guys. I’ve also suggested a way we can speed up the database server without increasing costs because I think that’s the biggest pain point right now. I’m sure traffic on the site has spiked this week and it’s not dealing with it well.)

It’s been a difficult week. I’ve received a lot of support from people telling me that I have nothing to apologize for. I still want to. I could have handled this better. I’ve said things that have made people angry. I’ve shown poor judgement. I regret anything that has damaged this community. It’s my love of this community that has kept me doing this for so long. A website is just technology. A community is SO MUCH MORE.

Offers to help quickly started pouring in. I started receiving a lot of email from a lot of really smart and talented people. It was pretty overwhelming. I was suddenly torn in ten different directions. Turning over a website and community of this magnitude is no easy task. Who do you choose? Who do you trust?

Well, you already know who I picked if you’re current on site updates. Josh’s introductory email grabbed my attention immediately. A talented engineer, but a strongly community-oriented person who just GETS it. Understanding the tech is one thing, but understanding the community and its needs is such a huge part of this. His excitement, enthusiasm, and motive for taking over this sold me immediately. That’s really the reason this is moving forward so quickly. I will also be working with his unsung hero partner behind the scenes to make sure this transition goes smoothly.

Thanks to everyone who stepped forward, but BIG thanks to Josh and company, and to our own community member Jen who connected us!

As I mentioned above, I’ll be working with these guys as we transition. It’s just like any new job - they’ve got all of my brain dumps and slop to sort through, process, and learn before they can just dive in and make things happen. I’ve never particularly enjoyed taking over someone else’s code and trying to maintain it, so kudos guys!

As for me, I think I’m going to settle down here on Prosebox as a regular citizen when all is said and done. Preserving the community isn’t an entirely selfless act on my part. I have so many of you here that I don’t want to lose track of. There’s a saying in the software business which probably extends into most industries - “eating your own dog food”. If you don’t like using it, your users won’t like using it either. For me, Prosebox has been the tastiest dog food of my career.


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.