School begins in Life from the bottom of the world.

  • Feb. 4, 2014, 3:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today Miss Fidgets started Grade 5...boy those years have flown! Since her school has merged with another one, there is a variety of uniform colours since the "new" school has yet to discuss options with the new school board. The other school was red and blue whilst our school was green and blue. I went against the grain and didn't buy a blue cardigan (she has green) because I am not going to fork out money for a uniform piece if it's going to change in a couple of terms. When you pay $45 for a cardigan, you want to get as much wear out of it.

Miss Fidgets learnt chess over the holidays, her Poppa taught her, she even checkmated him in one game! Her teacher is the Chess Club teacher and last year they came 3rd in the Sth Island which is very impressive. Miss Fidgets is going to join the club this year as she loves the strategy involved and she is very competitive when it comes to games. I have the rest of this week off (tomorrow is a public holiday) so I will most likely get the housework done and other mundane things like that.

A friend is sad to see her 2 girls go back to school, she is a stay at home Mum but her girls are now in Grade 5 and Grade 3 so she's effectively home alone. She helps out in classes but I reckon this is so she can still be with her girls. I love Miss Fidgets but I also love interacting with adults at work and having time away from any kids. My friend doesn't drive so she can't just go out and do the grocery shopping or pop out to the mall when she feels. It all has to be around bus schedules. She is the only person I know who doesn't drive. She told me she just never wanted to learn and when she was a student she happily took the bus everywhere. Her husband keeps threatening that she will have to learn soon. She needs to get a life separate from her kids but in years to come, her girls will probably ensure that happens anyway as kids do.

Bob was in Nelson (top of Sth Island) this week and is home tonight and also has the rest of the week off, not sure this is good or not! I get so much more done when he isn't under my feet!

It is summer supposedly but we have only had a couple of hot days which were met the next day with cold temps or rain. No complaints from me, I love it being warm and then cold the next day as I can't tolerate the heat well at all. Yesterday was mid 20'sC and today it's overcast and a cool breeze...perfect!


memelou February 04, 2014

Ugh, we have 3 months and then the kids are home for summer break. Gotta figure out how to entertain them.

Tick Tock Tick February 05, 2014

Yikes $45 for a child's cardigan? Is it cashmere? (kidding) Very glad Miss Fidgets loves school. / Enjoy your time off!

Deleted user February 05, 2014

School uniforms are ridiculously expensive!

Mcdinzie February 10, 2014

Grade 5 = year 5?? Wow either way I can not believe she is that old!!!! And she has a very alert mind obviously to be loving and "getting" chess

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.