Life's Changes in New Immigrant

  • Jan. 29, 2014, 2:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My heart swells with relief and joy with each old friend I find (or who finds me) on, as Arbi wrote, our new Ship. The news of OD's passing hit hard, causing a mental vertigo of disbelief and sadness -- What? How? My friends gone? No!! No!! But for several months I've been reading the end-of-life journey of Carly (gypsy ~) who died a couple weeks ago (at 26). I thought of her optimism and I gave myself over to hope, knowing what our Open Diary community shared was too powerful to be denied, And here we are!

Another transition, a very sad one, occurred for my Sister yesterday. Following an illness as brief as our Pip's, she lost her cat, my nephew Sumo, to metastatic cancer. Sumo loved BIL, too, but has always been Jeanette's cat, sometimes sleeping on her head, always nearby her. During her recovery from her broken hip he was her constant buddy. Sumo, an enormous pale orange beach ball boy, was thirteen. His two favorite things were FOOD and being brushed. His fur was very soft. I grieve for my sad Sister today and for the loneliness she's feeling.

A transition of a different sort is happening here. Una is in heat, right on schedule as she turns six months. (I am late having her spayed.) So far her condition has been manifest only a couple times a day. When I go to bed she snuggles next to Spot (neutered male) and carries on with her loving requests, Spot washes her (as he always has) and she finally stops (although last night I wondered when). The kittens behave like crazy teenagers, literally never looking before they leap.

Tuca has curled up on me for a purr, making typing challenging, so I'll have to write more later. Yes, Cats Rule.


Thomas January 29, 2014

I moved here also

Tick Tock Tick Thomas ⋅ January 29, 2014

Hi Thomas! Glad to know you're here!

Daisy Mae January 29, 2014

So very relieved to have you here. I expect kitty photos regularly :)

Tick Tock Tick Daisy Mae ⋅ January 29, 2014

Hope to oblige you, Daisy Mae. Haven't tried to post photos yet. Very happy to see you here.

Beret January 29, 2014

All your fur kiddies can keep you warm!

Tick Tock Tick Beret ⋅ January 31, 2014

Hi! They sure do. Heat wave yesterday, in the 20's. I began sweating in my fleece Cuddlduds! What's cookin'?

thesunnyabyss January 29, 2014

six months already, I'm trying to figure this place out, slowly it'll happen, lol, sorry for your sister's loss, pets are such a big part of our lives, big hugs and much love!

Tick Tock Tick thesunnyabyss ⋅ January 31, 2014

Hello! Love talking with you at BOTH places.
My Sister is doing better, spoke with her last night.

Deleted user January 30, 2014

So sad about your sister's kitty! Glad I found you here...I'm sad about the loss of OD, but new beginnings can be fun...I just hope I am able to find all my friends here!

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ January 31, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. My Sister is adjusting and doing better.
We'll make the best of wherever we are, won't we. The important thing is we're together. HOW HAVE YOU AND YOURS FARED DURING THE COLD BLAST?

MageB January 30, 2014

So sorry about ~Carly and Pip. Glad to find you.

Tick Tock Tick MageB ⋅ January 31, 2014

Hi! Fun being with touch with you at both places. Thank you for your kind words for my Sister, Mage.

Marg February 06, 2014

Cats Rule?? Never! (she says trying to type over Willow who is splayed all over my lap and has typed his own comment already ......) Sorry to hear about Jeanette's Sumo though - that's a sad week for her. What happened to your Tock Number 2? Did OD pinch it on the way out? :) (You do realise I hope that it's playing HAVOC with my OCD .......) :D

Deleted user March 06, 2014

Cats do rule ! Frank says he hates them but I can't get by without them ... Caleb is finally becoming very loving and tries to sleep with me but I don't like the cats in the bedroom at night. My kids, cats and dogs keep me going.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.