Walking in a winter wonderland in A day in the life...

  • Jan. 11, 2016, 10:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Or should I say slipping and sliding in a winter wonderland? It snowed here yesterday and now it’s snowing again and it’s icy and cold cold cold!!! This is supposed to last all night and all day tomorrow as well....yay! We’re not even to the middle of January and I am already ready for summer. I used to be a winter person because the cold weather didn’t bother me. I didn’t mind the snow and the cold as long as there was also some sun. This year there has been plenty of cold, now we’re moving into snow and ice, and we’ve hardly seen the sun in weeks. UGH! Gray skies do not do my mood any good. And something has changed with my body. Whereas I used to be hot all the time, now I have trouble staying warm. So it’s official....I now hate winter.

I’m still on the hunt for a part-time job. I went to Kelly Staffing this past Friday and did the Word and typing tests and did great on both of them. I also did all the registration. They told me to call in twice a week to see if any potential jobs had come up, so I’ll call tomorrow and then again on Thursday. I also dropped my resume off at an urgent care clinic last week but haven’t heard anything from them. Tonight I went on craigslist and submitted my resume for four or five different jobs. So I guess now I’ll just wait and see and keep looking. I’m really hoping something comes through, but I’m leaving it in God’s hands. I’ll do my part and keep looking and God will take care of the rest.

I went to ReNew last Tuesday night. ReNew is a program at the church I go to for people struggling with any kind of problem, be it alcohol, drugs, spending, gambling, depression, anxiety…pretty much anything. They meet every Tuesday night. Last Tuesday night the leaders announced that they were starting a 50 week 12-step program for those who were interested and I thought, oh yeah, this is for me! They had the books available but I didn’t have the $14 for it. I talked to one of the leaders and told them I was interested but didn’t have the money for the book and before I could ask if I could pay later she handed me the book and said “Honey, we won’t let that stop you. Take it.” So I got the first week’s “homework” done and tomorrow will be the first of the 50 weeks. I’m excited about doing it but also nervous; nervous because I’m famous for starting things and not finishing them, and I really want to finish this. And because I want to do this so badly I know the enemy (Satan) will try to throw anything and everything in my way to stop me from achieving my goal. But it’s okay....let him try. As long as I stay focused on God then I’ll finish this course and be so much better for it. :-) I’m just praying the weather isn’t too bad tomorrow night. I really don’t want to miss any of it.

I have a therapy appointment tomorrow afternoon but depending on the weather I don’t know if I’ll make it. Hubby will call me after he gets to work and let me know how the roads are. But he said that when he gets up tomorrow morning if it’s white-out conditions then he’s not going in. He’s got six weeks of vacation time so it won’t hurt him to miss a day because of the weather.

Man I wish I had something interesting to talk about. I’m probably boring anyone who’s reading this to tears and for that I apologize.

I slept in so late today, but after having the boys all weekend and hardly getting any sleep on Saturday night, last night I crashed and I crashed hard. It actually felt really good, but now I’ll probably be up all damn night…lol. No biggie, I have TV, movies and the internet to keep me entertained. I wish I had a good book to read though. I love to read. Well, I love to read when my OCD isn’t kicked into high gear and making it impossible. When my OCD is bad reading is a nightmare because I spend all my time counting the words in every sentence I read. I know, it’s ridiculous, but that’s how my OCD manifests itself - I count things. Very annoying and frustrating, I tell you. And the more I try not to do it, the worse it gets.

Oh, how could I forget? Our grandson was born on January 5! He came into the world at 8 pounds, 3 ounces, 22 inches long, and he’s absolutely perfect! We have two granddaughters and now we have a grandson :-) And the girls just love their baby brother! Seriously, he is the most beautiful baby boy I’ve ever seen (apart from my own son, of course).

A few entries back I wrote about friends and mentioned that I’d had to put some distance, basically “take a break”, from my friendship with my best friend. I’ve been missing her so bad lately. But I can’t be a good friend if I’m not mentally healthy, so things have to stay the way they are for now. I have to keep up with my therapy and doing this 12 step program and hopefully one day we can resume our friendship. I hope we can, but it really all depends on if she’s willing to. I know I hurt her by backing away, but I did explain to her why I was doing it and why I thought it was necessary. I hope she understands.

Okay, well, I guess I’m out of things to talk about for now. I hope everyone has a wonderful week!

Much love,
Amy


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.