A Dog's Life in New Immigrant

  • Nov. 27, 2015, 6:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When you turn seventy be certain to shake things up by taking home a dog.

That’s what I did recently. You know Jack, the dog who walked me for
the last year. One day his urine turned blood red. I whisked him off to the vet who gave him antibiotics and said he probably had bladder stones. He didn’t want to work on Jack because I didn’t own
him.

After a night of tossing, I took him to our vet an hour away. Jack rode
in his carrier like he was on a vacation. Not a peep. Whew! That vet found no stones (another whew!) and changed medications. Yesterday Jack took the last dose and all looks good.

The surprise came when I returned with Jack to his home the second day.
His owners asked very kindly if I would like to take have Jack. Now you
know I would have paid to get him out of that environment, but still, I
was dumbfounded at their unexpected querie! Of course it wasn’t up
to me alone. I called Tom, rattled off all my reservations, ending that if
this didn’t work out we would find Jack a good home. Tom laughed that
each concern I had matched his and agreed to these conditions. (In case
I haven’t mentioned it, the last time Tom saw Jack the dog had jumped on him and was about to bite his face when I pulled him away! Tom has not forgotten that. No warm and fuzzy feelings on his part.)

You can imagine the changes this old gal is having to make. However, that is the part I enjoy most about our new adventure. So far, it’s good.

The four cats I have here aren’t freaking out. Jack has been easy to handle but has bitten my hand twice (didn’t break the skin) so there is that to work on.

Willow came down with a bladder infection this week which meant more long trips to the vet but Jack rode along and likes stopping at many different places for his walks. Nose to the ground, sniff, sniff and he’s
dragging me off.

Phase I at the river will evolve into Phase II in town. Not a dull moment.
I hope this explains a little about why I keep bopping in and out.

Heartfelt thanks to many of you who have already celebrated and/or
advised me on Facebook.

The question I keep pondering is whether I’ve left the realm of “Crazy Cat Lady” to simply “Crazy”?


NorthernSeeker November 27, 2015

How about "Crazy Cat and Dog Lady"? It's more inclusive and you are always welcoming the poor creatures of the world into your home...or feeding them on your sundeck in the case of birds and racoons.

Tick Tock Tick NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 27, 2015

Yes, you are right and I have been doing that since I could toddle. Blame it on my genes. In nearly every photo of my Mom and her Sister as kids there were cats, chickens and horses. I think you would like a horse in your house, wouldn't you? Or at least your yard!

thesunnyabyss November 27, 2015

I think you are the Loving Animals Lady, :)

I'm so glad you have Jack n ow, big hugs my friend!!!

Tick Tock Tick thesunnyabyss ⋅ November 27, 2015

The "Loving Animals Lady." Oh, I do like the sound of that. Fits for you, too! Thank you.

Deleted user November 27, 2015

You are not crazy !!!! Just kind ! I am so glad to hear Jack finally has a good home . Whew !!!! Thank- you for saving him .

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ November 27, 2015

I knew you would be happy, Jinn. I wish you were here to help me train him.

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ November 28, 2015

I wish I was too! Just remember dogs love routine. They love doing the same things , at about the same times every day. After awhile they will anticipate and remind you what needs to be done !!!

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ November 29, 2015

Thank you for that, Jinn. I'm trying to keep a routine.

This morning when Jack was attached to his crate with its door open, Tom walked calmly by and Jack grabbed his hand, biting it but not breaking the skin. Before I admonished him Jack had walked into his crate, looking ashamed. Any ideas on that?

What about the four dogs you mentioned to Paul Mason?

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ November 29, 2015

I wonder why jack would do that ? Was he startled ? Glad he did not break the skin. Have Tom and Tom only start giving him treats. He can just toss them on the floor in front of Jack to begin with. Bribery works !

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ December 01, 2015

It's a mystery to us, too, why Jack bites but having been abused all his life has had its impact. That said he is basically a friendly, loving dog. I can tell he'd like to spend time in my lap and be petted nonstop. An animal behaviorist, Patricia McConnell, who used to have a weekly show on WI public radio, advises not to do that. Says it needs to be on my terms as leader of the pack. We'll get it sorted out. McConnell also has a pamphlet on games to play with your dog which I'm eager to have. Jack is very bright and would benefit from more mental stimulation.

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ December 01, 2015

It's a mystery to us, too, why Jack bites but having been abused all his life has had its impact. That said he is basically a friendly, loving dog. I can tell he'd like to spend time in my lap and be petted nonstop. An animal behaviorist, Patricia McConnell, who used to have a weekly show on WI public radio, advises not to do that. Says it needs to be on my terms as leader of the pack. We'll get it sorted out. McConnell also has a pamphlet on games to play with your dog which I'm eager to have. Jack is very bright and would benefit from more mental stimulation.

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ December 02, 2015

Good ideas ! Please let me know how you all are doing !

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ December 04, 2015

I wish I could get him to stop pulling the leash when I walk him. Any advice on that one?

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ December 04, 2015

When he pulls , say , " no" (loudly ) then stop him. Make him sit and turn around and go the opposite direction. Repeat this several times . Obviously you can't do this the entire walk but I would do five or six repetitions each walk. Dogs are smart . He will get it . You might do this when you really are not planning a walk but just plan to practice teaching him not to pull. If he manages not to pull , then reward him with a short stroll. I never let my dogs pull in front of me ; that is dominant behavior so I make them walk behind me or beside me ( on the left side ). I never let them go through a door in front of me either. You have to be the dominant dog . You correct bad behavior immediately with a sharp " No" and I always carry treats so I can immediately reward good behavior . Dogs love Cheerios . :-)

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ December 05, 2015

Is a dog trainable at any age, no matter if he's been breaking the rules with you for a year (on our walks)?
Never knew about Cheerios. Thanks.
He will "sit' but that has been taught as what to do before a treat (Sit and Speak). I have not gotten him to be consistent.
LOTS of training work needs to be done.
When he barked outside his owner shot him with the hose. I cringed when I saw that but when I couldn't stand his indoor barking any more I shot him from across the room with a spray bottle. It pained me to see his sad reaction but he knew exactly what it meant. I've hardly had to spray him since. Merely picking up the sprayer works and now holding my finger to my lips and saying "shhh" does. He's a smart boy.
And such a good boy in many ways. Every day the love and joy between us grows.

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ December 05, 2015

They learn fast at any age ! It's not true that you can't teach an old dog new tricks :-) love and affection mean everything to them. Cats are more independent ; dogs live for your attention and to feel part of your " pack". That is why it's so cruel to tie them up somewhere outside alone . It's like putting a person in extended solitary confinement; it's mental and emotional punishment . Dogs actually cry and get depressed. They grieve too. Most people do not give them credit for how much intelligence and perception they have .

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ December 05, 2015

Dogs learn no matter how old they are. Your affection and attention will mean everything to him. Cats are more independent but dogs live for their people.

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ December 13, 2015

Fingers crossed. Thanks.

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ December 16, 2015

I know you can work miracles !

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ December 04, 2015

I definitely think you should have him neutered . That will calm him down a lot and he will be healthier longer .

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ December 05, 2015

Yes, I definitely will. Thank you for the advice.

Kimber November 28, 2015

You're a good egg. :-)
Any idea when Jack was taken from his mom and litter mates? My dog was taken away from hers too early, and I had a terrible time teaching her not to bite.

Tick Tock Tick Kimber ⋅ November 29, 2015

Thanks for sharing that, Kimber. I have no idea how old Jack was. I did see him shortly after they got him and he was small but independent and spunky.
I have no clue about dogs. Tom bought a training book but it isn't helping much. We'll accumulate quite a few, I think. Jack did bite Tom's hand this morning (skin not broken) and before I said he a word Jack headed to the back of his crate and lay down. He knew it was wrong.
Thanks from The Good Egg! :-)

Do you think neutering will help? I want to do that anyway.
What worked for you?

Beret November 29, 2015

Yes, crazy, but in a good way! I hope Jack brings lots of love and positive energy to you and Tom!

Tick Tock Tick Beret ⋅ December 01, 2015

What I most enjoy is how much more active I am because of him. Up and down, in and out and walking. I already feel better. I feel positive energy, not Tom so much yet but I reminded him about how savagely Spot had bitten me in the beginning and that helped.

Deleted user December 04, 2015

It's great Jack is not cat reactive . Not the usual case for an outside dog. Can you please post a picture of him soon ?

Marg December 29, 2015

I'm lying here in tears at the thought of Jack finally having a decent life - what a fantastic gift to give him and I'm so glad the owners saw sense and made the offer! You two are just the business :)

Trooper was an older rescue dog when I got him and although I never got him to the point of being comfortable around other dogs I did make some headway with other behaviours through training so it's not too late and I know you will persevere and do everything you can for him. I'm so glad you're enjoying each other - he will reward you plenty! (It never ceases to amaze me how much love and trust an abused dog has)

Tick Tock Tick Marg ⋅ January 13, 2016

You Sweetheart. I think dog lovers are the best people in the world, Marg, don't you? Thank you for thinking fondly of Jack being saved. Trooper was fortunate to have you find him! I have felt so very strongly about helping Jack, however I have some misgivings because we have never trained a dog.
Some unfortunate events have occurred and I haven't written about them because they would upset people. In mid-December Jack bit my hands three times and has tried other times, including yesterday. While walking him I learned he's snap when he had food (like a dead rabbit which he chewed down whole!!!). Two of the bites I blame on myself because they involved food, but the nastiest one (although none required medical attention) was when I was undoing his leash and I still can't figure that out. The vet told me to euthanize him, that he was damaged by his years of abuse. I spent the entire holiday in sorrow. I haven't brought myself to it. 99% of the time Jack is a loving, happy pooch. This weekend another trauma occurred when Jack got away, my fault for not having his tie-out secured. It was bitterly cold and never in his life being able to run free, he made for it. He did the same thing Christmas day but was returned quickly.
We'd about give up hope when we received a call late the second day that some college guys had found him with his leash stuck on a car tire (my greatest fear). They returned him with food they'd purchased and had even given Jack a bath. They wouldn't even accept a reward although we are sending them a gift certificate. After his return I called the many businesses, schools and churches that had allowed me to post his Lost Dog signs and I tell you, I haven't felt so positive about people in months!! People were so happy for Jack, not polite happy, but gut happy. Two people had even posted his flyer on their FB pages. Anyway, you are among those terrific people I am so grateful for. I am putting my heart and soul in this effort and will do my best to reform my sweet doggie.
What is transpiring now with your Mother? I have thought of you in the midst of that. Best wishes.
Hugs.

Marg Tick Tock Tick ⋅ January 19, 2016

Animal lovers are just the best - most definitely! I really feel for you in this though - it's a very difficult situation to be in and poor Jack is probably just responding to years and years of abuse and coming out with inexplicable behaviours just like a child would. I'm very surprised at the vet advising you to put him down though - although I must admit once I was in the same situation with Trooper after he'd bitten 2 children on 2 separate occasions with apparently no provocation the vet I spoke to for advice DID very much emphasise how dangerous a situation it was because he'd seen the other side of the whole biting business. However he also encouraged me to try muzzling, getting a cage, shutting him in a room when the wee ones were round - all of that - so I'm surprised your vet hasn't done that or even put you in touch with a decent trainer.

It was a TERRIBLY stressful time and I think the hardest thing was knowing I had to decide what was right for Trooper and I in the situation we were in and that's the rub - when it comes right down to it you're the one who has to do all the hard work and go through all the stress. Whatever the outcome though I'm just so happy Jack's with you now and getting the love he so deserves!

Mum - poor Mum died on the 17th November last year. We're not quite sure if the tumour advanced fairly quickly - things seemed to move relatively fast once she went into the home - we couldn't do scans or tests because it would have been far too stressful for her. Eventually she was moved to a hospice and spent her last fortnight basically fading away - I was amazed how long she went without food and drink - 6 days! But at least she was at peace there - her pain was managed and she was pretty sedated for most of the time - and whether it was coincidence or not I will be forever grateful that she waited until my brother and I got there on the night she died (she passed away literally 10 minutes after we arrived!). My greatest fear was that she would die alone or with a member of staff and it made such a HUGE difference to me to be there with her at the end. And it was so peaceful as well.

I miss her loads but I'm also glad she doesn't have to go through any more anguish because those last 3 months were brutal poor soul. I just hope she's now with Dad and they're reunited after almost 40 long years apart!

Sometimes the world is a very sad place - but people on here brighten it up again :)

jamez March 16, 2016

Leve craze to Trump, he was made for it ........

Deleted user July 18, 2016

I deleted my account in a moment of insanity :-( so now I can't see anyone's entries and they can't see mine. Can I ask you to please add me again to your friend list ?

Deleted user September 05, 2016

Come back and write again ! We miss you ! How is Jack doing ???

Deleted user April 18, 2018

I wish you would come back ! You are missed !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.