Ramblings in A day in the life...

  • Nov. 2, 2015, 5:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hmmm....where to start.

Okay, the epic yard sale, which wasn’t so epic. On Friday we hardly got any lookers, which sucked. And on Saturday it started raining at 11 a.m., which really sucked. If it weren’t for the two guys at the windshield repair shop (story about that to follow) and some family and friends of family, it would have been a total waste of time and gas and money. But I did get to see lots of family members, so that was good.

So, the windshield repair guys. You’ll love this story. Before I left on Wednesday (the one before this past Wednesday) I had to get my windshield replaced. To say it had a crack in it would be a drastic understatement. It was cracked almost completely from one side to the other with some curves thrown in for good measure. With the cold weather not far off I was afraid to drive my car for too much longer with my windshield in that condition. Anyway, I showed up at 9 a.m., apologized to the two guys working on it for all the crap jam packed in my car, handed the keys over, and went and sat in the waiting room and played on my phone. A few minutes later one of the guys told me he’d have to move some stuff out of the front passenger seat and I said fine by me. A little bit later I moseyed back to the garage to see how things were coming along. That’s when one of them asked me what all I was selling (I had told them I was on my way to Indiana to have a yard sale with my granny). I said everything you see except this bag, and pointed to the bag with my clothes and toiletries in it. He asked how much for that desk lamp? I said $5. He asked how much for the DVD player? I said $20. The other guy came up and said he wanted to get in on the action and so I started hauling stuff out of the car. To make a long story short, when I drove away with a brand new windshield (which cost me nothing…yay!) I also had $125 in my purse. Yep, I made $125 off the two guys who replaced my windshield! That, counting what I made over the abysmal weekend, and counting what I made off my sister, who wanted 10 sets of the salt and pepper shakers I was selling (I sent her a picture of all of them and then mailed them to her when I got home), I made almost $300. So not too terrible. But I know if we’d had more customers and it hadn’t rained, it probably would’ve been closer to $500. Oh well, I’m not complaining. $300 is better than nothing, that’s for sure. And like I said, spending time with family members was worth it.

I took a 1 1/2 hour walk today. It was beautiful and sunny out and about 65 degrees so I put on my walking shoes, put on my headphones, dialed up my Christian music on my phone, and set off. It was so nice....the fresh air, the smell of leaves burning, and the little dog that tried to chase me down a street…lol. Cute little thing to be acting so ferocious!

Tomorrow is therapy day. Last week we did the EMDR therapy again and I am totally digging that. This week we’re going to start each session with the EMDR, then get into the nitty gritty. It’s time to stop putting it off. Mr. N. reassured me that if I felt I needed to take a break then that was fine. He said it didn’t matter how long it took me to get through the tunnel, the point was to get through it. I liked that analogy and now I picture myself walking through a tunnel towards the light at the other end of it. If I have to stop and take a breather then I will, but I will make it to the other side. That’s a promise to myself.

Wednesday is my biopsy. I know I’ve said over and over that I’m not worried about it but damnit, it’s ALL I think about! I’m not worried about the actual procedure. I guess it’s the results I’m worried about, which I won’t get for 2-3 days after the procedure. Ugh. More sleepless nights ahead. Yeah, I haven’t been sleeping well at all. My husband is worried; he’s afraid I’m, in his words, “cracking up again.” Aren’t men such sensitive creatures? snort But anyway, lately I can only fall asleep if I put my headset on and listen to my Christian music as I’m trying to fall asleep. That seems to do the trick, even if I do end up getting up two or three times before finally falling asleep for good.

I roasted pumpkin seeds for the first time on Halloween. I surprised myself because they were actually pretty good. I also carved my very first pumpkin! We weren’t allowed to when we were little because my parents were probably afraid we’d cut a finger or two off so my dad always carved them, and when Josh was little his grandparents always carved one with him. Anyway, that wasn’t very successful…lol. It looked like a five year old did it. Actually, a five year old probably would’ve done a better job. Oh well, at least I tried.

Otherwise things are pretty much the same ol’, same ol’. I think I’m going to make the walk a daily thing…it’s good for me in a lot of ways; fresh air, exercise, and a chance to clear my mind and chat with God. Good stuff!

So I’ll end here. Hubby is making dinner (burgers and sweet potato fries…yum!) and I need to transfer clothes from the washer to the dryer.

I hope you all had a fabulous Halloween weekend!

Much love,
Amy


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.