Rich in every way that matters in A day in the life...

  • Oct. 20, 2015, midnight
  • |
  • Public

I’m typing this entry from my phone so it probably won’t be a long one.

I took my laptop to the pawn shop today. My goal is to get it back eventually but right now things are uber tight for us. 10 days in the hospital will do that; no babysitting and all the gas my husband used driving back and forth to see me took a financial toll on us. But that’s life and I’m not going to complain. I still have a roof over my head, clothes to wear, food in my house, and a car that gets me where I need to go. Most importantly, I have my family, friends, my faith and my God. What more could I possibly need?

Had therapy today. I came right out and told Mr. N that I wanted to talk about something different because I didn’t want to be down the rest of the day. He was cool with that so we chatted about different family members, especially the two that are convinced I don’t need therapy, I just need a 12 step program because it worked miracles in their lives. My feeling is, that’s awesome for them! But I’m NOT them, and they’ve never been through what I have. So Mr. N and I discussed how to calmly and politely respond when they start preaching and change the subject. I don’t have to convince them or anyone that what I’m doing is right for me. I’ll respect their opinions and I hope they’ll respect mine. If not, then there will be things that I will not discuss with them at all. End of story.

I’m leaving Wednesday for granny’s for our yard sale. I’m so excited! Hubby and I loaded my car up tonight except for a few small things and let me tell you, it is jam packed! I hope I sell a lot of stuff. We could really use the extra cash for some bills. I’m a car payment behind and I’d really like to get that caught up.

Tomorrow I get to have another mammogram but just the left boob this time. They’re also going to do an ultrasound of lefty. I’m not worried. Dense breast tissue is normal in my family and this has happened to my mom and all my aunts at least once. And breast cancer doesn’t run in my family. So I’m not sweating it.

Tomorrow evening I and others from church are going to Detroit to a homeless shelter and we’re going to prepare and serve a meal to the homeless. I’m really looking forward to doing this, and I think it’s something everyone should do at least once in their life. That way when you’re tempted to complain about what you don’t have, you can remember that there are people out there who literally have nothing. That’s why I say I’m rich in every way that matters, because I truly am.

I think I’ll head to bed now. Busy day tomorrow between the boob doctor, the meal preparation and serving for the homeless, and getting the last few things packed up for my trip. And I be tired!

Have a lovely evening everyone!

God’s blessings.

Amy


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.