Peaceful, nurturer, and protector in A day in the life...

  • Oct. 5, 2015, 11:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had another therapy session today, and today my therapist did EMDR with me. It’s pretty cool. Before we did the EMDR he had me describe a peaceful place to him, tell me who a nurturing person is in my life, and who is a protector.

My peaceful place was lying in a hammock on a beach. The sun is setting, it’s warm and there’s a light breeze, and I can hear the waves rolling in. Set a little further back is a large house that looks like a beach hut with a huge front porch and there are lit tiki torches in the sand along the length of the porch.

My nurturer is my granny :-)

My protector is Jesus.

So after we talked about these things Mr. N handed me two tiny plastic thingies and told me to hold one on the outside of each knee and close my eyes. He asked me first to picture my peaceful place and while I did that he pressed a button on a little remote and the plastic thingies would give a short vibration against my knee, left then right then left then right and so on, back and forth, one knee at a time. After a few minutes of that then we repeated it two more times, once with me picturing being with my nurturer, and then with me picturing my protector. When it was over I was mellow like jello.

This technique is being used to get me to a comfortable place so that when we start tackling the tough issues I’ll be able to picture these images and calm down. I think it’s going to work really well. Mr. N said it’ll take some time to get to where I can automatically take my mind to that place and those people so we won’t be talking about anything upsetting until that happens.

I kept very busy today and it was great! I went to bed when hubby did at about 9 o’clock last night and I was out like a light within minutes. If you had any idea how rarely that happens you’d know why I’m so giddy about it…lol. I got up at 7 a.m. today, which is another phenomenon. I had breakfast and took my meds. Then I took some pictures of some things I’m hoping to sell and listed them on my church’s Facebook classifieds page. Fingers crossed! With me only babysitting on the weekends things are tight financially for me and hubby until I (hopefully) get approved for SSDI. I have every intention of going back to work when I’m better and able to, but until then I hope I get approved for SSDI so hubby and I aren’t robbing Peter to pay Paul every month.

Anyway, after food, meds and pictures and posting I got ready and ran to Macy’s to return some clothes I had bought for Ben in the wrong size (of course) to exchange them. Then I went to my appointment and afterwards had lunch at Tim Horton’s. That’s become my new norm; after my therapy appointments I drive the 2 blocks to Tim Horton’s and get a sandwich and iced tea.

After lunch I drove to Fairlane Mall to go to the Metro PCS kiosk I had gone to last week to get my phone looked at because I wasn’t getting any internet and couldn’t access my voicemail. The day before I had had my number switched from Verizon to Metro PCS because it would be cheaper. Big freaking mistake. I was able to get and make calls, but that was about it. When I went to the kiosk the next day they said they could fix it but it would cost me $45. I paid it and they supposedly fixed it but then the next day the same thing....no voicemail, no internet. I ended up going to the Verizon store and switching back to them. I called Metro PCS and they agreed to refund my $40 activation fee but said I would have to go back to the kiosk to get refunded the $45. Well, I did that and the fucker working wouldn’t refund my money. He said the $45 was a service charge and since they spent time “fixing” the phone he wouldn’t give me my money back. Asshole. I asked him why I should have to pay for a service that didn’t work and ended up with me going back to Verizon and he just kept repeating the same thing....it’s a service charge and we don’t refund those. I kept telling him that the service didn’t work and he got really crappy with me and said, “This is my kiosk, my rules!” Oh I was PISSED! I called Metro PCS and they said I could lodge a complaint but that was about it. So to all you out there, don’t ever go to Metro PCS. They’re crooked.

After that fiasco I went to Old Navy to get Henry some pajamas for when he and Ben are here on the weekends and ended up getting myself two camisoles, 2 t-shirts and a sweater. I had to hide the bag in the trunk until tomorrow when hubby’s at work. Then I’ll hang everything in my closet like it’s always been there and he’ll (hopefully) never suspect otherwise.

Then it was off to get my pedicure that my sister pre-paid for me for my birthday. My feet do look fabulous, I must say. I love pedis…they make me feel pretty.

Then the bank to deposit some money, then the pharmacy to pick up some prescriptions, then finally home to hubby.

It was a good day :-)

Tomorrow I’m going to do some cleaning here at home and get more stuff packed up to take to granny’s for our yard sale in a couple of weeks. I have so much stuff to sell it’s unreal! I hope I can get it all in my car. I’m trying to sell the bigger items on the church classifieds FB page and another classifieds FB page I belong to for the area I live in.

Oh, I just got a FB message. Looks like I sold the bar stools…YAY!!! Oh, and I just got a message from Ebay…the Betsey Johnson purse sold. SCORE!

Anyway, hubby and I are watching Avengers: Age of Ultron so I must depart. I hope everyone had a fabulous day!

Much love and God’s blessings to you all.

Amy


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.