A Gleeful Gathering in New Immigrant

  • Sept. 12, 2015, 11:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I hope many of you have shared in my great happiness of lunching with NorthernTeacher who is visiting long time friend and the person who introduced me to Open Diary, Woman in the Moon. Both have written about it in their diaries with a photo on Woman’s and also on my Facebook page.

This was my first experience meeting another diarist face to face and the experience was unforgettable. Both Woman and NT were warmly welcoming, which put me immediately at ease, then, as NT said, conversation seems effortless because we know so much about each other.

One of the first things I did was ask NT her husband and daughters
names. Funny, I was curious about that. Since I’ve been absent here for so long I was eager to hear details of the Princess wedding.

Both NT and Woman know how to have a good time. They’re open to trying new things - like the painting class - and are quick to laugh. I
appreciated their gusto and they tickled me with their tales. Their friendship and ease together was lovely to experience.

Because of Fergus I viewed NT as a cat person although I’d seen that photo of her with a dog. Her dog loving side was apparent when she set out to win over Woman’s timid Gracie. The ultimate success had been achieved when Gracie chose NT for comforting during a thunderstorm.

When we visit my Sister in the low humidity of MT we need chapstick in our pockets at all times. NT said it’s the same way in her area. The fact that she endured the highest humidity of our summer (On the worst day her hair was soaked and dripping) and went hiking in spite of it, got kudos and praise from me. Yes, NT is hardy.

From their writing we know WITM and NT are substantive, intelligent women, and they are endlessly interesting, so I guess their adventure-
some and fun-loving sides was a special discovery of being with them.

I could go on and on. Our time together felt normal yet poignant, the memory of which I will forever relish. Wish you all could have been there!
Praise be to Open Diary and then Prosebox for enabling us to continue our special relationships and conversations.


thesunnyabyss September 12, 2015

I'm so glad you all had such a good time, you guys are lucky, you are in my favorite group of favorites, lol,

I love meeting OD people, or I guess PB people now, it's always so easy and fun,

have agreat weekend!!!

Tick Tock Tick thesunnyabyss ⋅ September 12, 2015

I felt very complimented when you named me among your favorites. I feel the same about you. I wish you had been there.
You say it's "always so easy and fun" meeting OD/PB people, does that mean you agree that having so much knowledge of each other makes a difference?

thesunnyabyss Tick Tock Tick ⋅ September 12, 2015

I do agree, we know each other on levels most others don't, we already have a familiarity, a bond, and we even talk to some of the same people, so ya, definitely agree, lol,

whowhatwhere September 12, 2015

I was lucky enough to meet her entire family back in 2007! It's so exciting isn't it?

Tick Tock Tick whowhatwhere ⋅ September 12, 2015

That must have been something! I'm happy for you. Yes, it really IS exciting. Thank you for commenting!

ODSago September 12, 2015

I know that feeling, having met OD folk many times and felt something like that...we even met one and her friend in Paris...they took the train from Belgium. Nostalgia just remembering. So happy for you.

Tick Tock Tick ODSago ⋅ September 13, 2015

Your meeting was remarkable and reminds me that I relish knowing people from all over the world. That has been a mind-expanding aspect of OD. Very happy for you, too. Thank you.

ODSago Tick Tock Tick ⋅ September 22, 2015

Actually we went to Belgium another time and visited in her home town--they invited us to return sometime and stay in a student apartment that they have available for the month of August! We wanted to do that, but never were able to. So lovely of them to offer.

Tick Tock Tick ODSago ⋅ September 22, 2015

People can touch your hearts, what wonderful Belgian friends but it speaks well of you and Kermit, too, that they wanted you to return!

Beret September 17, 2015

I have so enjoyed reading their diaries and now your entry. The older I get the more I value good women friends!

ODSago Beret ⋅ September 22, 2015

Agree.

jamez September 27, 2015

I think Open Diary was wonderful, friends I made on OD are still close on ProseBox. I have met up with wordlywisdoms when she was in the UK, we got to gather in Bath; and it was a very good morning going round the Roman Baths.

I would think your meeting with Northern Teacher and Woman in the Moon should have been recorded, it sounds like a lesson in having a good time …………..

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ September 28, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm glad you enjoyed going to the baths with a worldly wise woman. "Wink"

ODSago October 28, 2015

Went to Jamz tonight to see how he is. FYI

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.