Who knows in New Immigrant

  • July 7, 2015, 1:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

whether I’ll be disciplined enough to stay this time. I do know when Jamez notified me on Facebook that he had posted sad news here, I rushed back. Like other of his friends I have been mourning with him for what his family is enduring. He reminded me that my OD/PB family is
deeply etched in my heart.

I am glad for being in touch with many of you on FB, although I realize
it is not at all the same.

Have had some adjusting to do. In December I thought I would never
be part of my great-nieces lives and here I am communicating with their
Mother and Grandmother. That is a monumental happiness.

Their Dad, our bi-polar nephew, remains out of control. Not that he hasn’t tried, but he cannot keep himself on his medication. We fear
for his life. Because he’s unable to care for himself and eat regularly
he’s skin and bones. His Dad insists on talking to him or seeing him
every day. Sometimes Dave shouts, other times he’s calms. His parents
are understanding and generous, as they’ve always been.

Because Dave’s wife has become fearful of having Dave with the girls,
she is going to divorce him. Even so she continues to help him. Soon
she will move into an apartment, giving him their house.

Although David cannot manage to feed himself or take his medication,
this ghastly mental health system of ours says he’s too ill to make the
decision to allow his wife access to his medical records BUT too well
for her to commit him for a longer hospitalization. It makes me want
to tear my hair out, what ours and millions of families go through because
of this cruel, inhumane system. How will his daughters feel when he dies and nothing their Mother tried to do for him helped. And she has tried and tried and tried, brought him food, trusted him, bailed him out, raced to the ER to see him, sought out better doctors and nothing has worked. We all support her leaving him. Lila (four years old) was having lots of problems because of the stressful environment.

I have to admit it’s been a bit of a rocky road adjusting to being so near to that “other shore”!! I’ll be extremely fortunate to be alive in five, ten, fifteen or twenty years! My gosh. The end! Tom is taking it much worse and that has affected me.

Jack, the dog, is a force in my life. His happiness when I arrive, his
pulling enthusiastically on his leash, keep me walking. I would never
manage it without him. There is always some pain gnawing at me.
I never Want to walk, but I cannot let him remain on his 4 foot chain.

For years I have driven country roads. Do you do that? But walking those country roads has been an entirely new life journey. Jack pulled
me along as I heard the first birds of spring, then time gave us lilac
perfumed places. The other day they mowed the roadsides which expanded Jack’s sniffing range and made him happy but I lamented the
destruction of pink clover and milkweed. Picking up their blossoms I held each to my nose and inhaled as if with insatiable thirst. My goodness! I heard nothing, saw nothing as the sweet fragrances consumed me. I had my own little “Country Road” high!!

Life! It has not lost its passion. I find its gifts more poignant, more appreciated. Remember our dear friend John (86) who has late stage prostate cancer? After a year of feeling weak and unwell, his medications have miraculously become effective. Recently he spouted enthusiastically, “I’m feeling Great!” Then shared that he was taking a writing course and his son said he “passed” with his first paragraph. AND, he said he’s teaching himself the harmonica again.We didn’t know he’d played it when he was young. He and his son play together. AND, there was one more thing! “I’m oil painting! again!” He’s taking the course from the man who paints on public TV!!” Sweet, magical LIFE!

I have not forgotten you. Carpe Diem and have FUN!


NorthernSeeker July 07, 2015

It's great to read an entry from you and to know that you are having lovely nature walks with Jack. How are all the kitty cats?

Tick Tock Tick NorthernSeeker ⋅ July 08, 2015

Will write about the cats soon. They remain the joy of my life. I tell myself to get out more with people and after doing that I am often happier than before to be simply with my cats!

Sabrina-Belle July 07, 2015

I've also not been here very much for a while but am trying to get back into it.
I understand how hard it is to cope with mental health problems with in the family. My daughter is autistic and going through a crisis at the moment as her partner couldn't cope and left. My mum was bi polar and it can be so hard on the children. I was lucky in that Mum was not too bad when I was a child but after Dad and her sister died she had really bad times and I had to cope with them alone as she was not diagnosed then.
It is good that you are able to be a part of your great nieces lives again.
That is wonderful about your friend John. It just goes to show that miracles do happen.

Tick Tock Tick Sabrina-Belle ⋅ July 08, 2015

Thank you very much for writing, Sabrina-Belle, and sharing your family experiences. I hasten to add my sincere sympathy to you in having to deal with your Daughter and your Mum. What would you suggest be done to improve the system? What sort of help is offered your Daughter? Was your Mum ever hospitalized? In the US Dave has admitted himself five times for treatment since last November and those hospitalizations lasted a week. I believe that was all he was allowed. His daughter, our great-niece, is also bi-polar and she has admitted herself, too, but again it was a short stay. Do you find that trend in the UK? From other OD writers around the world, the laments are strikingly similar from families dealing with the mentally ill. In the US parents who are caring for their ill children who actually injure them, still often can't get them hospitalized. I have seen desperate parents interviewed. I do not understand the thinking but fear the cost of treatment is what's driving it and in the US the insurance companies have allowed only half coverage for mental illness treatment although the Affordable Care Act is to rectify that, I believe.
I would be interested in your view of how the system could be improved in the UK. Don't hesitate to disagree with me. Meanwhile, I hope your daughter's crisis has passed. I am so very sorry for her and for you and your family.

Sabrina-Belle Tick Tock Tick ⋅ July 09, 2015

The mental health system here in the UK is very bad too. I think one problem is that people with mental health problems are not up to fighting for their rights so they get put down. Right now my daughter is getting no help apart from medication for her ADHD. We are hoping that might improve when she gets an official diagnosis of Aspergers but we are really angry that she was only diagnosed with ADHD in her teens and Aspergers fairly recently, she is 30. As a child she had severe problems with social anxiety and obsessive behaviour but it was all blamed on our parenting.
My mum was never hospitalized, she wasn't diagnosed until her 70s but had been quite severely ill periodically by then for 17 years. The doctors were teating me for depression but failing to see her illness. Once she was diganosed medication kept her stable.
Your system is very different from ours. We have the National Health and mental health is the Cinderella service. Here people are only hospitalized in extreme circumstances and often discharged when still quite ill, you can't admit yourself you have to persuade the doctor. It all changed in the early 80s with something called Care in the Community, but there isn't any real care. I think we need to provide far more support for people with mental health problems.
I volunteer on a crisis line and the stories I hear from mentally ill folk are heart breaking.
It must be very difficult for your family. My daughter's partner is still away but talking about wanting to come back. I'm trying to help them sort it out and find support for them.

thesunnyabyss July 07, 2015

I'm so glad you have Jack to walk, aren't they amazing friends to have, always happy to be with you and take you on such great adventures,

I so sorry to hear your family's hands are tied in getting help for your nephew, it's so hard, especially with mental illness, what you see is not what you get, ugh,

big hugs my friend, and much love!

Tick Tock Tick thesunnyabyss ⋅ July 08, 2015

Yes, I guess your system hasn't been able to really help that much either, has it. Same thing I hear from other OD'ers in Australia, the UK and New Zealand. A sad situation.

Ragdolls July 12, 2015

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.