What I've learned about teaching summer school at an urban high school in --

  • June 23, 2015, 10:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m done with my summer practicum tomorrow.

I have learned that I don’t know much about the Cold War.

I have learned that kids sometimes don’t have filters, and will ask you probing questions. I got “are you pregnant” two separate times (I am not), but I also got “you have pretty eyes” two separate times.

I have learned that if you listen to the students, they will mostly listen to you back.

I have learned that some schools are hard to work at because of the administration, not the kids.

I have learned that falling asleep while trying to do work for my other education classes is common.

I have learned that trying to observe in a classroom with a substitute who is not certified is very difficult and I have to step in to discipline constantly.

I have learned that constantly having to discipline kids makes my brain shut down.

I have learned what it’s like to fail kids.

I have learned what it’s like to be one of two adults who lets things happen that I shouldn’t because the stress of it makes me shut down and feel powerless (they are masters are cursing, let me tell you).

I learned to pick my battles.

I have learned to plan lessons for future classes that don’t give too much downtime. (I wasn’t able to plan this summer because I literally don’t have time… and I didn’t agree with what the sub did everyday. All he did was give them book work).

I learned that it’s difficult having my own family to take care of when I’ve been in charge of someone else’s kids.

I think it’ll get easier. I hope it gets easier.

Sometimes I don’t think this is right for me, but my end goals is to be a librarian and I very much want to work with kids.

It’s just… so stressful. So, so stressful.

I literally have no time for anything but homework.


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.