Pueblo work train mid 1980's in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • May 15, 2015, 3:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This was probably an old Open Diary entry and I either didn’t copy it or may not have sent it. I checked the archives here and didn’t see it posted, but I could be wrong.

I am working the Denver Engineers extra board by choice. It affords time at home, it is mostly helpers, and an occasional trip to Pueblo in the pool. We also get deadheaded down to protect the yard in Pueblo. The Santa Fe hasn’t decided, whether they need an extra board in Pueblo. Should they call you for the yard, the railroad bites the bullet, and deadheads you down early for rest. That way if they need ya for 12 hours, you are fully rested and not on continuous time.

The phone rings about 430 pm for 630 pm call. “Bob.. This is Syl in the crew office. I need you to dead head to Pueblo for rest. You will be on a Pueblo Yard work train till released”. “Okay Syl, 630 deadhead to Pueblo. Don’t call a ride I am driving down”. “Okay thanks”.

I pack about 3 days worth of clothes, just in case. Truth be known, I was there for one shift, but you never know. I call the wife and say “You are on your own. I am deadheading down to Pueblo for a Yard work train till released” “What’s till released mean”? “Well when they are done with me, and the job, then I am released. They can’t hold me more than three days, or they will have to post a bid for the job”. “Alright”. “Its probably a one day job, I’ll call ya when I get to the motel”. She is self reliant, like she is today.

I leave about 715 pm for Pueblo. I am south and don’t have to fight rush hour in and out of the Denver Yard office. I’ll tie up 2 hours after the call. 850 pm I arrive at the yard office, tie up at 830 pm. I tell the caller I’ll be at the motel, call me there. I check in, KKTV channel 11 news and lights out.

The phone rings at 430 am. “Terry.. work train Pueblo Yard 600 am. The call is repeated, and a 7-11 breakfast of coffee and Hostess donuts…lol. I still chew at this time, ya gotta have chew.. SORRY… I sign the register, talk to the crew and we get our marching orders.

It is late April early May, and the clouds are low and its raining. “Go to the
MOW ( Maintenance of Way ) yard grab these tracks and shove to yard 11. Call when ready will have a south lead job grab ‘em”. We switched out in about 45 min. There were two GP-20’s in various tracks. We ran one lite, and placed it on the lead, because the lay out of the land, we couldn’t shove up Yard 11. There was a train blocking 11 on the north end, so this worked better. The other GP-20 gathered the tracks, and we shoved them into the other Geep. I went to the other Geep and shoved up the lead. All done the GP-20’s are together, and the south lead grabs our scraps for the afternoon Hill Cut.

I wait, the crew is in the yard office, but it a warm cab. The rain is dripping in around all the leaks. Poor old GP-20’s, they are slowly leaving the roster. They are 20 to 25 years old, and been fully used to and through their usefulness. The south lead will grab these later, these two and the GP-35 on the south lead are short dates. They will go to Newton, KS on a Ballast drag with a few gons with rail in them. Newton will work the inspections and rotate them into the pool as needed. Mostly local and drag freight add-ons. They’ll show back up here like a bad relative.

 photo Santa Fe 3069_zpsxexjub2r.jpg
A Santa Fe GP-20

“Yardmaster to the work train engineer”. “Yeah Jug, go ahead”. “You still on the power?” “Yep I am”. “Look for the crew van and come to the yard office, leave the Geeps, for the south lead job”. “Will do…the 3154 has the air cut in”. “I’ll tell ‘em”

I leave the Geeps for the South lead job. I am in the yard office. I talk to the inbound and outbound crews. The speaker bellows. “If the work train engineer is here call me”. “Jug I am here.” “Go to the fuel track grab the 3142 and get on yard one. Need the power on the north end, Go up yard two . It is clear to the switch, by three cars, call when in the clear”. “okay Jug no problem”. The 3142 is another GP-20.

The head brakeman and me get the 3142 and place it against the gons. There is five of them. These are relay rail gons, and have the couplings locked. The end gates are down, and there is about eight “sticks” and about 400 ft in length, for Pueblo Jct. We call Jug, that we’re in the clear, and get an air test from the carman.

We are told out the outbound, and instructions from M.O.W. and the DS. We take the CTC signal, and are told go to Salt Creek Jct and clear. Wait for two loads, then back to Pueblo Jct to drop rail.

The first load follows us out, and Ray Rotondo is on a Houston Coal train right behind. We’re lined via Minnequa Yard, the coal trains will head up to Southern Jct, via “the new way”. I watch and high ball the loads by Salt Creek Jct. We get the okay to head for Pueblo Jct and drop our rail.

The section secures the rails to be unloaded. I get the instruction to ease back. In 20 minutes we have dropped the relay rail for the Jct. Back into yard one, power back to the fuel track. The afternoon yardmaster says “You’re released I’ll call a ride”. “Don’t I drove down”. “Okay, thanks”. I tie up off the yard job and start my Deadhead back. I stop by the motel and return the key. Back to the Denver. I call when I got home, and tie up. Ten times out, maybe later next evening.


Last updated May 15, 2015


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.