Dave Lackey MCO or Eastern Chief Dispatcher / Eddie Leland Moore Texas MCO Chief Dispatcher SOC Santa Fe Railway Schaumberg, Illnois Part 1 in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • May 6, 2015, 3:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I really was blessed to have Dave as Chief. I also was blessed with “Eddie-Bob” as a Texas Chief as well. I guess Dave and me caused more commotion than Eddie did. I did the Locomotive Utilization for the Eastern and Southern Part of the Santa Fe. These two were my MCO’s (Manager of Corridor Operation) or what is known as a Chief Dispatcher.

SOC Days Date unknown:

During this time on the Santa Fe, we were dressed in business clothes. Suit and Jacket was optional. Trousers and collared shirt with ties. Women properly dressed. Friday was business casual. Saturday and Sunday, Jeans okay, no holes, a nice shirt we are good to go.

Dave would always talk crap. Konichiwa in his perfect Japanese dialect. Means hello, in Japanese. The incident, well it just happened and we were not privy to this. LOL !!!

This is probably during the dispatchers changing from the first trick to the second trick. Second trick is traditionally called the afternoon shift, 300 pm to 11 pm. The usual cast of characters are there.

Dave Linnegar was the Chilicothe Sub DS working Chicago to Ft Madison, IA. Jimmy Austin was the Marcelene Sub DS, working Ft Madison to the Kansas City Terminal (KCT). Dave Stiver was the KCT DS and Jerry Hill working The Emporia sub DS working the western limits of the KCT to Wellington KS. This is the front row, where we sit. There also is a windowed hall way where people can look in and see the operation. They can see the operation from Chicago, IL all the way to LA. Was a big “U” and two rows of pods. Of course, the “Transcon” was first and foremost.

Some times tours and / or visitors would come through. They were give access to the “non” sensitive areas. They would make the “U”, and things explained. “IF” they were really important they would give the King’s tour.

Dave is having a tough day. Not melt-down but stuff that needs to be addressed. Me, I am holding my own, and it is steady. Eddie-Bob, well, he needs “sum eengines” at Perry, OK for a ballast extra. He’s taken care of and the wires sent.

Looking up here comes a tour. I love it !!! They are all Oriental, or Asian to be correct. They stop at the window where we are at. “Dave you on the phone?” “No.” “Look at me, then the CAD (Computer Aided Dispatching and overlook), then look to the windows in the hall”. He does what I asked. His reply to me? “I am gonna fucking kill you”. The photographs were going off hot and heavy in the days of film. They go on, but some of the DS’s have seen what passed.

I said, “I am disappointed in our Chief and Leader that he didn’t take over and explain to the visitors and extend a Santa Fe welcome”. Well the cat calls came out. “Eddie-Bob what do you think?” “Well, ya’ll know I aint a linguist, but I think Dave coulda dun better”. I made the comment, “Ya know speaking all that Japanese, etc, you could have made that tour a big deal. That would place the Santa Fe, first and foremost in their minds”. Cat-calls again. Dave replied, “I was busy at the moment. I only speak the Manchurian dialect”. “That’s Chinese Dave”. “Doesn’t matter, everyone back to work!!!” LOL yeah right, he’s ribbed for a while longer.


Last updated May 06, 2015


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.