Pelicans, Swans and Buffleheads in New Immigrant

  • March 26, 2015, 2:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yes, that hallowed migratory time is upon us. Week long warm spells (50’s and 60’s) have teased us outdoors waiting to see our first robin, listening to new bird songs and inhaling country freshness. Then Iowa played its usual nasty spring trick, dumping a whole twelve inches of snow on my little corner along the river. Tom, in Cedar Falls, got nothing. Prior to this surprise I’d been saying it would come (but one whole foot!) and blah-blahing about spring storms being okay and, after all, we need moisture. With mud spattered clothes from walking Jack and bone-chilling wind hurting my ears, a less pleasant voice is now speaking. And I shouldn’t, really, because the steep driveway was slick for only a few hours and by next Tuesday it’s to be in the sixties again

The six traveling cats and I officially moved in on March 8th. Tom, the man I prompted gently and smilingly each day for two weeks prior to the return to the river, stood up enraged as I packed for the move! “I thought we were only going for two days! It’s too early! I’m not ready! ”

Which brings me to the anniversary card Tom purchased for his Sister and BIL which pictures an old couple sitting on a bench, talking. The wife says, “Well, here we are together for another whole year.”
The husband replies, “Sure, I could go for another cold beer.”
Inside comes the summary: “Listening and understanding…
the keys to every great relationship.”
We laughed for days!!

Tom would have been back by now but he (sadly) caught my killer cold and has only been “up and about” for a few days. Meanwhile, poor Zipper, our three-legged cat, had a painful urinary blockage and has been in the hospital all week. He came home after the first visit but plugged right up again. He’s been one uncomfortable boy and we hope he’s able to come home tomorrow.

Of course that occurrence makes it obvious that I don’t want to leave the three non-traveling cats alone any more so before Tom does reappear, I need to purchase housing for the extra cats. There is not agreement on the best thing to do, as is the way in marriages of “listening and understanding.”

Before moving on from our challenges, I want to note a bright side. If there is someone you wish not to visit, tell them you have nine cats and mice.

Yes, when we two humans and six cats arrived there were eight mice in traps, one drowned and another racing under the couch. Pyewackett got that one the next day and we haven’t seen any more, not that I would kid myself that there aren’tmore lurking about.

The toxic clean-up is still underway. I need a HAZMAT suit!! My mask and gloves leave me feeling naked. The amount of intestinal fortitude required to drag out mouse debris can be overwhelming. None of the cupboards are safe. All the dishes I use are either in the fridg or closed, plastic containers.

Ironically, the mice survived on cat food, the only thing available to them.

I want new cupboards. I know I’ll not return anything to these until they are clean then painted!

Now that I have lost several of you with testy stomachs, I’ll add that I still have no hot water. I went to the hardware store to buy a new water heater but they were all too large to fit our space. They think it sounds like a thermostat problem but inertia has kept me from
scheduling a repairman. Hence my misery over the icy, cold water that hurts my hands is worse because it’s my own stupid fault. So much for my little experiment in Third World Living. My empathy has grown though, that’s for certain! And not having water all winter, hauling in
our own, that is an equally profound lesson.

Jack, the dog, is as thrilled to be walking again as I am. I didn’t take one walk during the winter. Well, I lie. I am not thrilled to take my sore feet, aching shoulder, testy knees and back out to walk, but Jack is exuberant about his brief daily run. In fact, I’d better head up to see him soon. He lives twenty-five minutes away.

Quickly, an update on the Illinois situation. On Saturday Jack returned home permanently. Wife Penny and daughter Jen will care for him in addition to several nurses, yet to be scheduled. So far, so good.

Jack does get depressed because he wants a job. Do you know if giving him something to do would help? One job he Has taken on is negotiator/referee between Penny and Jen’s arguments. He’s good at that!

Nephew David returned from another mental health hospitalization on Monday. He also allowed his wife, Heather, to be allowed to know what treatment and meds he was given and to talk to his psychiatrists. She was an inch from divorce, particularly about the latter.

Lila is seeing a counselor about bed-wetting but is her silly, busy, sociable, dancing self.

Violet is living in Jen’s townhouse in Loveland, CO and working at PetSmart in hopes of returning to UC-Boulder in the fall. She hasn’t written me yet but most communications are open again.

It feels wonderful to be far away and separate from it all. Penny drives me crazy with her self-centered ways. Perhaps she’ll be able to forgive people eventually but for now she is merely unpleasant and intolerable.

On a happy note Heather, Lila, Violet and other relatives are together for a long weekend of hugging and good times. Mental illness as it is
handled in America is heart-wrenching.

I don’t want to end on a sour note. I’ll look around for more laughter and be back.

Meanwhile, I hope you are all healthy and happy!!

I’m grateful:
For the many beautiful cardinals at the feeders.
For the laughter dear Mary and I share whenever we talk.
That doggie Jack has the exuberance of a five year old boy.


jamez March 28, 2015

It’s nice here reading your entry on Prosebox, a foot of snow is just enough to bring traffic to a stop here, we have dull weather every year but winters now and then …

The news of your family seems better, talking and openness is a good sine. I hope Zipper is better soon, and I shouldn’t forget Tom; we all need to be well as spring takes over; take care.

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ March 31, 2015

Everything isn't exactly "coming up roses" in Illinois but we accept every decent day with gratitude! The season itself helps.
And thanks for asking, both Zipper and Tom seem back to normal. Fingers crossed! I hope all your family is well.

Beret March 29, 2015

Nice to catch up with you again. You have such a busy interesting life! Cats are good when one has a mouse problem. It's probably impossible to find out where and how they can get inside. They can squeeze through the smallest opening. Weather here is fluky too. It's cold for this time of the year.

Tick Tock Tick Beret ⋅ March 31, 2015

Hi. Hopefully our 60's will be heading your way. // I feared grossing you to gagging with my description of the mice. I honestly want to replace the cupboards. Fell on dead ears to Tom the first time but will keep mentioning it! // No, our cats aren't that helpful at all with the mice. Remember their "catch and release" program? I expected the former outdoor cats to be savage but they aren't. Three legged-Zipper is the best because he's selfish and growls to keep the other cats away and also, therefore, holds onto the mouse and kills it (unintentionally perhaps). Imagine I should starve them for a few days for better results. Do think things are clear now. There is steel wool stuck in every hole we can find but mobile homes are notorious for mouse problems.//

Deleted user April 01, 2015

How good of you to take care of Jack, the dog , and walk him. Why do those people have him if they are going to treat him like that ? I get incensed thinking about it. Keeping a dog chained outside should be considered felony animal cruelty and be prosecuted accordingly .
As for mice ; one year when I was putting my plants in my sunroom for the winter , I saw a tiny mouse inside. It had huge ears and was cute , so I just ignored it. I had a parrot at the time and I am sure the mouse was stealing or picking up seeds from the bird. Every day when I fed the parrot, it would be sitting waiting for me. Soon there were two mice waiting, then three, then four. When it hit twenty and they were obviously peeing in the sunroom and chewing my plants, I no longer found them cute.i bought a have a heart trap and caught every jack one of them, then transported them to a timber a mile from my house. Luckily they did not come back . I think they were " deer mice" . They don't creep me out but I do not want to live with them either :-)

Deleted user April 01, 2015

Hi ! No the fox sadly disappeared but I have a possum friend now who comes to eat each day. He sits outside my French doors till I bring his food out . He was sick and hurt when he first came to us but I have him in good shape now :-)

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ April 01, 2015

Ironically, I was thinking of your experience with possums and wondering about those, too. What do you feed him?
A possum came all winter for birdseed and
cat food here. I haven't seen it recently and then I worry. You know how it is.

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ April 01, 2015

He showed up one day with a big wound on his head and he acted half frozen. He came to the French Doors and just sat there looking in at me . I went out and he hissed at me a little but otherwise seemed to be asking for help :-) I got him canned cat food, dry cat food, and then I scrambled him eggs :-) He wolfed them down. I dragged out an old feral cat box ( with blankets ) we had and put some Keflex I had in his water bowl . Every day after that he looked better. Now he visits at night and swims in my koi pond ( which annoys me ) but so far I have not seen him eating any fish. I keep him well fed. I love possums so I love getting to see him. He is not really tame, just tolerant of me. He still hisses if he thinks I am getting too close ! :-) he hates my neighbor's cat so I have to watch the cat doesn't bother him or that he doesn't hurt the cat. I love my neighbor but she lets her cat, Binks , roam and he is a pain in my yard to the birds and now my possum.

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ April 03, 2015

Will never forget about your baby possum and I appreciate knowing what you fed this little one. Never would have thought of the egg. Little guy came to the right door! I wish him well!
Googled Keflex to learn what it was, and also learned the dosage and that you can order it online! Wow!
Could you tell your neighbor to keep Bink in so he won't get hurt by the ailing possum? Some people are determined to allow their cats out and it drives me nuts. We have no hesitation informing our neighbors of their peril to birds and most of them remain our friends (and most continue to let their cats out). Grrr.

Deleted user April 01, 2015

Glad to read Jack is not as miserable as I imagined but I am still against chaining dogs out. If they can not be part of the family, don't have him. It's selfish and a lonely life for him .

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ April 01, 2015

Oh, I am opposed to it, too. Completely.

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ April 01, 2015

I have been on a dog / cat rescue binge but I had to stop . The stories were giving me nightmares and I was worrying obsessively . I am avoiding FB as much as I can so i don't see the pictures. Plus I spent way too much in pledge money to try to save them. I am an idiot :-(

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ April 03, 2015

I had to do the same thing. I left FB haunted and depressed. It was heartening to know good people were intervening but gut-wrenching to realize the massive cruelty out there.

Deleted user April 01, 2015

Glad your family in Illinois is doing a little better. They do not appreciate how nice it is that you and Tom care so much about them !

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ April 01, 2015

They are pretty much consumed by their own hurt and angst, except for our dear niece who does appreciate Tom enormously. We notice his Sister is now exhibiting more memory problems (she's 77) than before (worse than our own is our gauge!!). We fear Jen is caring for Both parents. You may recall Jen has some paralysis from brain surgery. Her attitude is nothing but inspiring and she has been taking yoga classes which are helping with her balance (she uses a cane)! We hope she'll ultimately be able to drive a golf cart or even a tricycle around her small hometown. Like she says, no fun having to ask her Mom to take her everywhere.

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ April 01, 2015

That is a difficult situation still. You and Tom can only do so much but it's wonderful that you care as much as you do ..,

ODSago April 29, 2015

As alway so interesting to rumble around in your thoughts and conclusions. LOved the joke. Can appreciate it even tho my old man has skedaddled from my side. My son is engaged to a girl raised in Iowa. Love it that you are at the second home with the six active little cats and the mice and such...

ODSago June 28, 2015

Time past for you to return, dear friend.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.