Feels like coming home. in New Immigrant

  • Feb. 25, 2015, 12:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Think I’ll hunker right down here for awhile and catch up with you.

All that hullabaloo about my lungs was much todo about nothing.
Two doctors have concurred that if I don’t have symptoms, I
shouldn’t worry. Will probably have chest x-rays every once in awhile to check. Of course I am enormously relieved but also wish I’d kept my mouth shut to you until I knew more. Feel like I cried “Wolf” and am angry at myself for causing concern where none was needed.

Otherwise, life is good. Tom acts downright happy to have me with him and the feeling is mutual. We both laugh out loud at these silly cats all day long.

Everything seems different though, facing 70 this year with
life determined to rub our noses in our mortality. Not
depressed about it, more like stunned. Dedicated to
living in the moment.

Have felt abysmal about politics and the inaction on global warming. I believe we’ve waited too long. No way out of some scary, sad changes.

Now, on that happy note, I want to begin catching up with you.


Last updated February 25, 2015


woman in the moon February 25, 2015

Good to hear from you. Glad things are well.

Tick Tock Tick woman in the moon ⋅ February 25, 2015

Miss you and I think of missing your posts and wonder what the heck I am doing?

Beret February 25, 2015

Glad to see you back here! I find the state of things abysmal too but we are probably like-minded in many regards. NG and I are planning a trip to Glacier. Will probably be going through Kalispell at some point so would love to visit a gallery!

thesunnyabyss February 25, 2015

I have missed you too, I'm glad you are here and healthy,

big hugs and much love!!

Tick Tock Tick thesunnyabyss ⋅ February 25, 2015

Have to be here for the Big Announcement. Grateful I can catch you both places though.

MageB February 25, 2015

We are all staying here enjoying your happy return. Hugs.

Tick Tock Tick MageB ⋅ February 26, 2015

Oh, thank you. Have you had rain in San Diego? It proves how significant the CA drought is when they say the recent deluges won't make any difference. // Will visit you before long.

jamez February 26, 2015

How nice to hear from you again, but it was sad news about your friends dog Showbo, America is a country you can’t tame, and perhaps shouldn’t be tamed, Britain being a small island and with a long history much of our dangerous animals have been pushed out.

Up in the Scottish Highlands they are introducing wolves, the last Wolf in Scotland was killed by Sir Ewan Cameron in 1680, I’m not sure it was a good thing; if they can kill a dog they can kill a child. Time will tell!

Yes it is great to have the longer days coming back, and to feel a little warmth in the air again, next week my son has his birthday and myself latter in March, April will see my Sister and Sweethart have birthdays; and it would have been Dad’s 93rd.

Thanks for your notes, it’s good to hear from you; perhaps all the springs are coming at once.

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ February 26, 2015

Your comments about the taming of the British Isles is interesting. I'd never thought of it. I saw the special on the Queen's Garden and was impressed by the different wildlife in it. // Do you know the reason they want to bring back the wolves in Scotland? They are doing that here, usually because the wolves had once been native to an area and believe it's best to have that ecological balance. For the last two years they have allowed wolf hunting in two adjacent states to reduce the population somewhat. Myself, I've been a supporter of wolves and coyotes because they kill deer and we are definitely overrun with those. Did I mention that our friend's neighbor has shot 42 coyotes this winter? (There are no limits on them. ) I guess we need to ask our game wardens what desirable numbers are. Showbo's "Mom" is our sheep raising friend but due to her husband's late stage cancer she sold her flock. I imagine that number of coyotes is causing great concern for farmers. // Have a happy time celebrating your son's birthday, hopefully in outrageously spring like weather! We're heading for a couple more subzero nights but it'll be up near freezing by the end of next week. At this point that feels comfortable!! // Fond regards to you and your family and Lola and Ziggy. Oh, I neglected to mention, I think, that I loved your "Lola" Christmas card.// In what ways do you believe the exercising most benefits Lola and Ziggy. Do they seem to feel bad when they don't go to class?

jamez Tick Tock Tick ⋅ February 26, 2015

We do have Deer in the UK, they are kept on large estates in England and Wales, in Scotland they roam in the Highlands, but their numbers are kept so they well not be to many for the area they live in. There is one small deer that roams freely mostly in the east south and across the south but not as far as Cornwell, they are Muntjac Deer a small and exotic looking deer, they are be surprisingly hard to spot, they have been seen in gardens and villages where their numbers are high.

The Muntjac Deer were brought here from China in 1900, and they are a long way from the wolves in the Highlands of Scotland! I’ve had a rumble on the WWW to learn more about Scotland’s wolves, and they are not going wild, the European Wolves are kept in captivity, one location is the ‘Highland Wildlife Park’ near Aviemore, we’ve been there several times – thirty years and more ago! Local people are not very happy about wolves, should they wonder!

Here we don’t carry firearms and knives with a blade more the three inch’s is unlawful for us to carry, I’m not keen to come face to face to wolfs with my Victorinox Swiss Army Knife, in panic I might put out the corkscrew! Where as the wolves would have time to find the toothpick!
It’s some since you’ve been through the resent entries, so I would aim you to the Dec. 22, 2014 entry, ‘The Dog’s Agility Class Christmas Party’ That entry may amuse …..

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ February 26, 2015

Oh, Jamez, how you make me laugh! Fumbling for your Swiss knife and getting the bottle opener instead. That sounds like me, too. // Little Chinese deer down near you. That's fine since they are controlled and can't mingle with native deer. Invariably introducing alien species causes an imbalance with serious consequences. // Many Americans disliked the reintroduction of wolves, too. They've placed several peregrine falcon nest boxes in Iowa, including one on the power plant near us at the river. Then I learned they prey on Great Horned Owls which we hear and enjoy, so there are always tradeoffs that ignite emotions, I guess. // I will head to your Agility Class Christmas Party entry.

jamez February 26, 2015

With your resent history you have a right to say so when your worried, so I’m very happy for your clear slate. There is a good lesson for all of us, each day is a good place to be; relax and enjoy. Relaxation is doing things you enjoy!

jamez February 26, 2015

We do have Deer in the UK, they are kept on large estates in England and Wales, in Scotland they roam in the Highlands, but their numbers are kept so they well not be to many for the area they live in. There is one small deer that roams freely mostly in the east south and across the south but not as far as Cornwell, they are Muntjac Deer a small and exotic looking deer, they are be surprisingly hard to spot, they have been seen in gardens and villages where their numbers are high.

The Muntjac Deer were brought here from China in 1900, and they are a long way from the wolves in the Highlands of Scotland! I’ve had a rumble on the WWW to learn more about Scotland’s wolves, and they are not going wild, the European Wolves are kept in captivity, one location is the ‘Highland Wildlife Park’ near Aviemore, we’ve been there several times – thirty years and more ago! Local people are not very happy about wolves, should they wonder!

Here we don’t carry firearms and knives with a blade more the three inch’s is unlawful for us to carry, I’m not keen to come face to face to wolfs with my Victorinox Swiss Army Knife, in panic I might put out the corkscrew! Where as the wolves would have time to find the toothpick!
It’s some since you’ve been through the resent entries, so I would aim you to the Dec. 22, 2014 entry, ‘The Dog’s Agility Class Christmas Party’ That entry may amuse …..

ODSago jamez ⋅ February 26, 2015

Chuckled at your mock-fears re: fumbling and pulling out the corkscrew....

ODSago February 26, 2015

Hi...your conversations with readers are a real treat, on both sides. The room is getting dark as I type but want to congratulate you on the lung problem being resolved as not a threat. Yay, YOU! Good to read here and to know you and Tom are at the lake (river?) is that it? And doing well. Spoke to our investment broker today in the conversation he said that acturarial (sp?) charts suggest I will live another 20 years and I'm 73.5 so...not to worry re being 70 soon. If I did I'd become a legend in our family album--no one has lived to be 90. I'd guess another ten years would be fantastic.

Tick Tock Tick ODSago ⋅ February 26, 2015

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on mortality! I should have expected that, shouldn't I, since I consider yours the wise voice on life's realities. My Mom lived until 89 and did very well until her mid-eighties when her health and mind began a gradual decline. My Dad died at 75 but he was a heavy smoker most of his life. His parents made it to their eighties. Tom is convinced that I am killing myself by not exercising enough and that seems borne out by the research. Today I headed out to do some mall walking and the cold (9') was biting my legs through my jeans and I came right back inside! An hour has passed and I am still wearing my winter coat and sitting beneath a woolen blanket. Tonight it's to be -13'. Gone are the days I walked to work in that stuff, then shoveled for a couple hours. Hibernation suits me now!! // I relish your words wherever I read them, the more sites the better, Pat.

Fishermanswife March 14, 2015

Writing about something that bothers you is a way to deal with it. At least for me and I don't think I'm the only one. Be glad it's nothing serious. And your readers are happy too.

Deleted user April 01, 2015

I am finding facing mortality is not pleasant either. I am fine with getting old as long as I can keep my wits and get around but anything less would not be any quality of life. I am so glad your lungs are ok . Keep a close eye on them!

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ April 01, 2015

Ditto to everything you said. I think believing in our "right to die" helps
a lot. Neither of us intend to sit around
and waste away mentally or physically. //
How are you dealing with your pain now?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.