My Unexpected Disappearance in New Immigrant

  • Jan. 25, 2015, 2:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

More apologies. My intention was to write here daily but… on Thursday I had chest pains (brief and not severe) twice so there was no living with
Tom until getting checked. Of course many of you probably know that the mere hint of heart problems are given top priority in America so I went from the ER to the hospital for an overnight stay until I “passed” a stress test in the morning. Everything checked out okay with my heart but they found my potassium was low and pumped me full of that and a
chest x-ray showed I have a chronic lung condition (news to me).
Although I was dismissed I have to have a blood test today and see my
regular doctor (in Wisconsin) on Tuesday with suggestions for a CAT scan of my lungs and a pulmonary function test.

Yesterday we had made plans to visit Tom’s 93 year old aunt and two
cousins and we did that. Despite her age and fragility after four strokes,
Aunt Margaret’s mind is still sharp and laughter comes easily. At
this point every moment with her is extremely precious.

Our neighbor and friend who helps us with stuff (like pick up the
mail or newspapers) when we have to be away, fell Thursday and broke
her shoulder. She’s alone and younger than we are but has to wait
A WEEK before having a shoulder replacement so the swelling can
go down. So we are helping her a little too.

Our poor nephew continues to be mentally disturbed and got drunk
on Friday evening, breaking fourteen years of sobriety. We all fear
for his life if he adds alcohol to his already unwell body.

His wife and daughters have visited the nursing home and are sharing more about him. Great-niece Violet is heading to Colorado, will live with her Aunt Jen, will get a job and return to the University of CO again next Fall. We all fear for Dave’s life.

Anyway, long story short. My apologies for dropping in and having your support and kindness then disappearing!

I will be back as soon as I can. I feel fine but am very busy getting
things in order to leave for the river tomorrow.

I hope everything is well with all of you. I’m thinking of you!!

(Arbi, no word from my friend. That surprises me. Thank you for your kind offer.)


NorthernSeeker January 25, 2015

It's good to know about the lung condition....if it can be managed that will add to the quality of your life.

Deleted user January 25, 2015

You have much on your plate right now. I am so sorry. Best wishes on the test results for the lung condition. One of my aunts has COPD and Emphysema, but with treatment she manages very well.

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ February 25, 2015

Thank you for your reassuring note about your aunt with COPD. Perhaps I have lucked out with that, your comment was very kind and made me feel hopeful when things were uncertain. I hope your thyroid issues are being improved. One thing surely influences another when it comes to body chemistry, doesn't it. I hope things have grown easier in your life. You are a very special person to me.

MageB January 25, 2015

Just take care. We care. Hope you are taking tom with you.

Beret January 25, 2015

Lots going on for you but always good to see you here!

thesunnyabyss January 25, 2015

whenever you are ready to be here is fine with me,

so much going on, take care of yourself please,

big hugs and much love!

jamez January 29, 2015

Nice to see all these people on your side, I hope the winter weather is just as kind as them.

jamez February 10, 2015

How is winter in Cedar Falls, last week we has some sunny cold days, the was due to a strong cold wind blowing down from the north; the sort that feels like it can blow through our coats! Also last week Ziggy cut his paw, he was charging about like he dose, we think he ran over some sharp stones, it wasn’t series but he did leave a few red paw marks; so he is off agility for a while.

This week so far has been a little milder than last week, the forecast is for a dry week, and so it has been correct, as you may imagine I am lighting the fire every night, the fire pumps dust into the bungalow; but we need the warmth for now.

The count down continues, now it is two and a half weeks until March, spring is getting closer and it is the start of the family birthdays; my son kicks off with an early march birthday while I follow latter in March! There was a time when all the birthday’s were between the start of March, and were finished by the end of April, with just Mum waiting until September for a day she has been ignoring!

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ February 25, 2015

Anticipating family birthdays, along with spring, seems to enhance the joy of it all. Course some of us are more excited about birthdays than others, aren't we!?// Dislike thinking about Ziggy but good it was a smallish injury. Willow was leaving drops of blood by her water dishes recently. I checked her and checked her again and am still not certain what she did. She and the other cats bat at each other, sticking paws under the door. I think it must have happened that way. A mystery. // We did have heart wrenching news from our river friends that coyotes killed their old sheep dog. It was right outside their door. Showbo was special and greatly valued. Her violent passing made us ache. I know you understand loss. // Will be by to catch up.

jamez February 20, 2015

I have seen reports of heavy snow and low tempuras in north east America, I hope your somewhere with plenty of warmth.

We are getting sine’s of spring along with some cold winds, the best thing now is the longer light we have now; I always feel better when the days get longer.

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ February 25, 2015

Will stop by shortly and look forward to seeing signs of spring. Not that our area can complain about winter this year. Now Boston and the east coast, they deserve every complaint they utter!!
Amen to the miracle of Longer Days!!
Thank you so much for keeping me in mind, Jamez.

ODSago February 26, 2015

Catching up; hope I'll find better than good news in the following entry. My goodness--that heart issue deserved treatment and testing for sure. Hope your relative we have chatted about is doing well enough right now. Reading on.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.