12/8/14 in 2014

  • Dec. 9, 2014, 5:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After two weeks of dealing with sharp stabbing pains in my spine, my right leg going numb and random sensations where it feels like I have Icy Hot on my lower back when I don’t (which isn’t altogether an unpleasant sensation but is definitely not a normal feeling when it just randomly happens), I finally took a day off work and went to the doctor. Well…I say finally, I didn’t have much choice. I barely got out of bed this morning.

Since I’ve fallen twice on stairs in the last three months, a fractured vertebra is a possibility. However, since I’ve been having issues with my back for about six months, a compressed disk is another likely possibility.Whatever the cause, something is putting pressure on the nerves to make the burning sensation and the numbness.

I would just like to say, I am almost positive methods of torture is something taught in medical school. Part of the exam involved my doctor poking around my back. I came close to tears. Both side of the disks in the middles of my back hurt like hell. The muscles in my low back just above my hips are so tense, they are hard. Even the softest prodding felt like I was at the mercy of a highly trained master of torture. I was ready to confess to the assassination of Franz Ferdinand if it would have made it stop.

Don’t even get me started on the x-ray table. With how I felt about getting up and down off that thing, I might as well have been walking into an iron maiden. Something popped in my back when I was laying down and I was pretty well useless after that. The technician basically had to rearrange me with each x-ray to get the right images. I think she’s used to that though. She worked with skill and precision, hitting the right position the first time with each image.

To add insult to injury, as I was rolling off the table (literally…I couldn’t bend over if my life depended on it right now), the gown opened up in the back, resulting in my bare ass touching cold metal, making me jump and more pain ensued.

I should find out the results in a day or two. In the meantime, I got a shot of steroids (hello weight gain, you cheeky bastard) and have been putt on a muscle relaxer and anti inflammatory. For one last kick in the shins, Walgreen’s doesn’t take my prescription insurance since it’s through CVS Caremark, resulting in $75 spent because I am in too much pain to go to a different pharmacy.

Fuck you too, Walgreen’s.

Anyway.

I’ve never asked for this before, but please keep me in your thoughts. This is actually pretty scary, more so even than my gallbladder. So much rides on the back. Throw too much at it and your entire way of life could change. I feel like I’ve been having visions of Christopher Reeve in my head the last few days, making this all the more unnerving.

Tomorrow, I’m going into work for a meeting but am coming home right afterwards. My manager has had a broken back before, so she is completely understanding of the situation. She called me today to find out some info on one of my people and still sounds like hell after her bought of bronchitis and laryngitis. I said, “I’d offer to trade you, but you have your own back issues.” She goes, “Yeah, thanks but no thanks. I’ll deal with the crackly voice.”

Now to play some WoW while the meds kick in. It’s my newest gaming addiction. This is what got me interested finally:

That gives me chills every time I watch it. So does the first instance you get thrown into in Draenor. You’re running your ass off with a bunch of NPC’s and Thrall is screaming at Hellscream. I’m one of those people that tears up during big battle sequences, like in the Lord of the Rings movies. WoW has that same emotional impact for me.


Last updated December 09, 2014


Star Maiden December 09, 2014

Feel better. I hope they can see everything on the x ray and don't have to put you through an MRI.

They had to do that with my shoulder... And it was bad. :p

Vamp Star Maiden ⋅ December 10, 2014

I already know if they have to do an mri they are going to have to sedate me. I can't do really enclosed spaces like that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.