What's up, Doc in Will Fly For Food

  • Nov. 7, 2014, 4:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I drove to Watertown to see my gynachiatrist today. It’s been a while and I was overdue for the yearly poke and grope.

The nurse who took my info upon arrival was the same nurse who I have always seen. She acted like we had never met (it hasn’t been that long) and then asked me stupid questions. She asked me if I was married, then about our plans for children. I told her we had no plans, I’ve never wanted children, to which she ” Awwww’d”. Seriously? Child free by choice isn’t some sad thing. It’s Not an orphaned kitten or some sad tragic but yet somehow adorable thing. Then she asked me if I took any prescriptions.
No. “Not even birth control?”
Seriously? You have my fucking medical chart in front of you. You should know I have an IUD.
Me:”I have an iud”
Her:” how is your mirena working for you?”
Me:”not a mirena. Non-hormonal. Hormones didn’t work so well for me.” Like can you even read? Did someone change the font on your nurse-tablet thing to WebDings?

Later, I explain my symptoms and the doctor tries to tell me I need to take birth control pills. “Seriously? That is why I have the paragard. I can’t use hormonal birth control.”
Dr Sweatervest: ” Why not?”
Me : head desk

I literally give up on life and the entire medical profession.

I also hope I don’t get the stomach flu since my sister, her husband, their kids and my mom all had it earlier this week.

<3 Sarah


pbrman November 07, 2014

Seriously, why do they even bother to keep records.

=bernard= November 07, 2014

Just happen to see this, oh yeah, I get the same feeling when I see my doctor. I mean it's like all of a sudden they can't read, or don't bother to look at your history. What really drives me bat shit is that they then like to give you a pop quiz with regard to the meds they've prescribed. And they wonder why I'm the cranky old white guy.

dickson. November 07, 2014

Who the fuck?

Star Maiden November 08, 2014

Sigh

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.