Ten Years in Each Day

  • Oct. 16, 2024, 9:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last Saturday was our 10th wedding anniversary. We usually take some time off around the holiday, and we do try to do a little trip (we’ve done St. John’s and Toronto, and I feel like there’s another one I’ve forgotten), but last year with the roof ($20k) and this year with the kitten, our money is already spoken for. So this year we planned on staying home.

Oh! I was thinking about how the weekend started and I remembered this: Friday I went back for a BP true, and it came back totally normal. Not even the high end of normal. And on my way back to work I stopped by a historic cemetery and listened to The Magnus Archives until 1, since I was told to return to work after my appointment.
Except as I was walking back into the building my supervisor was walking out and she was like, “What are you doing here?” I reminded her she told me to come back. She was like, “I sent you an email!?” I won’t get into the fact that she has my cell number. I hightailed it out of there as fast as humanly possible.

Since its October, it’s scary movie month. I mean it’s scary movies any time of the year, but we focus specifically on them in October. We watched a few, of note M finally watched The Craft: Legacy. It was harder for me to enjoy it this time (probably time #5) anticipating his criticism, but he didn’t hate it, and that’s enough for me.

Saturday was our anniversary, but it was a cloudy rainy day, and we enjoyed being indoor kids. Earlier in the week M texted me, “Let’s go to the beach on the day at sunset time and exist together xo”. It is a very sentimental gesture, coming from M. But since it was pouring, we decided to go on Sunday instead.

Sunday M went to the track, and I got the house all to myself. It was glorious.
After he got home, unpacked, washed the bike his gear and himself, we headed down to the shore. 6pm on the Sunday before Thanksgiving, we took bets on whether the parking lot and street near the beach we got married on would be full or empty. I bet on few to moderate, and M said moderate to full. I won. heh.

We walked down the boardwalk to the beach, passing a South Asian couple and a very fresh baby. They looked so happy. It was a nice start.
When we got to the water there was a woman in a white gown taking pics in the water (this is the Atlantic, it’s not warm at the height of summer!). We stood back and watched for a bit before wandering down the beach. There was a lot of young people taking pictures, portraits and landscapes. The sunset was beautiful. M and I talked about all the things that have changed since we said our vows on this beach ten years ago, and we talked about what has remained the same.
It was a really simple act, but it definitely made it one of the better anniversaries we’ve had.

We got home and heated up the savory hand pies we got for the occasion. We got high, watched a movie, and celebrated each other in a more practical manner until passing out.

On Monday I had to kill a huge chunk of the day, because I had a hair appointment at 3. Waiting is agony. But my hair is SO WORTH IT. OMG.
I did end up oversharing with this woman I’ve known for like, 10 minutes. We did have to spend 5h together and we did talk almost that entire time. Part of me feels vaguely mortified, and part of me wonders if she’s my new best friend. Hah.

BUT SERIOUSLY MY HAIR IS AMAZING. I wish I could link to a photo. Oh, here’s a photo of not me, but similar hair. Mine is a deep saturated rainbow. Heavy on the purple.

The Mage asked me how my hair went over at work, and I told her I’m back on Thursday. I’m curious if/what anyone will say. Men are so afraid of harassment complaints they apparently have forgotten that general compliments have never been unacceptable. (By general I mean, “Nice hair!”, nothing more).

Tuesday M spent the day waiting to go to the cart track with his friend, so I got a couple hours to myself again. I’ve been playing A LOT of video games. Also plant chores.

We spent today just bumming around. I had craft night, but everyone bailed, which was fine with me. I showed up anyway, ate some poutine, bought some stuff from Ikea, got some groceries and went home. We’ve continued bumming around.

Two days of work, and then another weekend, hurrah.

17 days until Cosmos comes home!!


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.