OctoPhoMo 1 thru 5 in Those Public Entries

  • Oct. 5, 2024, 4:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A little late to the party, but, why not?

1. Purple OR Orange

My orange boi, Smudge. Modeling my first, then-in-progress, needle-knitted scarf.

2. Toys OR Teddy Bear

I currently have five, five-week-old kittens in the house. Everything is a toy to them. They use the pet steps to play King of the Mountain.

3. Book OR Frame

Books I found while thrifting.

4. Pickles OR Onions


Homemade pickles! On top: Vermont maple cucumber pickles (they’ll be ready to taste on October 23rd). In the middle: Four jars of pomegranate pickled cauliflower, and two each of basil beans and Italian-style beans (basil, marjoram, and garlic). I’ve also made caraway beets, but I don’t have pictures yet. Those were processed in a boiling water bath, and need six weeks for the flavors to mature. And on the bottom, half-sour kosher dills, fermented.

I might make spiced carrot sticks next; I just need to decide if I’m fermenting or canning them. Pickling has been a hobby of mine lately; I also just finished making a new batch of kimchi, and once I get another head of cabbage, I’m going to start some sauerkraut.

5. Wood OR Brick

My new kitchen table. That top is real wood, not particle board.


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.