Dead Streets in anticlimatic

  • Aug. 28, 2024, 3:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Cooked the fish I caught yesterday for supper. One thing about fish as a food group that a lot of people don’t know is that fresh fish might as well be a completely different food than just about anything you’ve had from a restaurant or grocery store. Fresh fish doesn’t taste like fish at all. It just tastes like light flaky sweet meat. I pan fried it in Drakes and coconut oil, and did some traditional English chips out of potatoes in the oven. Nuked a can of corn for palette balance. It was incredible. No one ever warns you about just how good at cooking you get, without even trying, as you get older.

Took a ride this evening, as it’s another hot one, and hot evenings fill me with a need to commune with nature and humanity at the same time. I was hoping for lively streets, people to ring my bell ‘hello’ at, but they were absolutely deceased. Two people did I see, perhaps. And neither did I judge receptive to neighborliness.

Still, it was a beautiful evening. It dawned on me at some point that the apartments full of young adults were no longer the realm of my people. At some point I completely aged out of that demographic, and it’s replaced by what I will forever know as children- or at least as persons from a foreign generation too distant for me to establish intimacy with. Friendship, perhaps, but does that mandate intimacy? I’m not sure it does. I could do friendship. In theory.

The young adult population aren’t my people anymore. I’m with the middle aged now, and we apparently don’t leave the house. All the old people I loved have either died out or slipped into a state of dementia and forgetfulness. The middle-old people I remember from childhood, like my parents, are now just normal old people. They look like the old people I used to love, but they’re narcissistic assholes without any advice or life wisdom to impart. It’s somewhat infuriating. Together, in unison, my body and the world continue to degrade and degrade.

But on the bright side, I can pull fish free from the lake, fillet them, and cook a pretty mean chippy tea.


Last updated August 28, 2024


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.