Good News from the Courthouse in New Immigrant

  • Oct. 22, 2014, 6:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today Penny, my SIL, was told she can visit Jack four hours a day and she can phone him. She cannot take him out of the care center. At this
point Penny is fine with this compromise. On November 19th the Court will reassess the situation.

Jack is the Winner here. I’m eager to hear about their reunion this
afternoon. Yesterday he was even more lonely for Penny and confused about why she wasn’t there.

Two things were interesting to me. The judge was puzzled, too, about why Penny was put in jail. He said yesterday (not in court) that he
thought it was a “trumped up” charge because the care center Director
is the wife of the Superintendent of Schools.

After the hearing today the opposition lawyer (son Dave’s lawyer) walked over to Penny and hugged her and said he wished he hadn’t become involved in this case and hoped she’d be okay. Penny and
Jack have known him for decades.

Penny said she is afraid to go to the nursing home alone, fearing staff will cause her trouble. Wisely, I think, she will take a friend along each
visit.

Hearing the happiness in everyone’s voice when Tom called with the
results was wonderful, but short lived. An hour later Tom called back and said whatever I did, don’t message our nephew on FB. The Sister
(Liz) who is on Dave’s side sent sister Jen a text about how horrible we
all are. Her vitriole hurt us all, making it certain the family is permanently broken, like a splayed body brutally pulled in four directions.
It’s violent and horrific to me.

Heavy duty disgusting human behavior has barreled through my days long enough! I am stepping back and will aim my focus on my love-filled, happy life.

Who was my balm once again today though? My beloved friend and former neighbor Mary who made me laugh out loud by telling me that once she and her Sisters all had t-shirts made that read “Unsuitable for Cloning!” My laughter renewed me. “Elderly” and disabled at 83 (or something), Mary’s sense of humor is fresh and her kind heart is full and robust.

 photo 014-12.jpg


Last updated October 22, 2014


thesunnyabyss October 22, 2014

that photo is amazing,

family rifts are the worst, they can mend but it takes much time and patience, I feel so much for Penny, it sounds like she was just railroaded and that is horrible, especially for Jack, makes me shake my head,

big hugs to you and yours tonight!

MageB October 23, 2014

The picture is lovely. The news of Penny and her Husband is great. So sad about the vitriolic anger tho.

Tick Tock Tick MageB ⋅ October 25, 2014

As I said to Jamez, Jack is as fine a man as my Tom. A man of integrity, an educator all his life and plain good company. If he knew of the vitriole around him he'd been dismayed. Thank you.

MageB Tick Tock Tick ⋅ October 26, 2014

you will like yesterday's shot better,

jamez October 23, 2014

Its very sad when a family is split into sides, I just hope that time will bring them together, at least things went well in court.

I love your colourful autumnal photograph, our colours are muted after seeing that image of rich autumn colours.

It’s nice to know that Mary is in good fettle.

Fettle is a good northern word – English north that is, good fettle is to be in Proper or sound condition.

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ October 23, 2014

Imagine you would have been among our Leaf Lookers. They have been abundant.

Mary is in good fettle as far as being a good and true friend. And she still remembers me! But the here and now is elusive and confusing to her but she carries on with great, good humor so what else really matters?

jamez Tick Tock Tick ⋅ October 24, 2014

RYNote. It was good to hear that Mary’s still able to laugh, that says something about her, her sense of fun hasn’t left her. Dad could laugh at him self when he was in his last months, not so with Mum; dementia brings out the truth of a person! Dad brought out the best in Mum, and it was much the same with my in-laws, but it was my mother-in-law bring out the best, she told us if we were looking after Dad ‘we would have an awful time’ and she was right …..

So in the wider sense, the yesterdays and today Mary was in good fettle – always.

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ October 25, 2014

Your experience shows the variety in people's nature (thus, also in the approach to their care, I think). Yes, Jack has always been able to laugh at his memory confusion like your Dad. easier that makes it for all of us, by laughing he releases the tension. Thank you for your appreciation of Mary's good fettle. Indeed she is and I was telling her about you. She loves Doc Martin and I told her you lived near there. She's been to Ireland and Cornwall reminds her of places she visited in Ireland, she said.

Deleted user October 26, 2014

Not sure about the whole story, but saw yur note to Gypsy Spirit (Pol) and thought I'd just say that I'm very sorry that your family has had this upset. Mine lately has been very hard to stay calm about, but yours is worse .. oh dear. And such stupidity on Facebook! It is common these days, it seems.

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ November 01, 2014

Thank you sincerely for your note and kind thoughts. I hope things have settled down for your family. We had seven calm, happy days which enabled us to sleep normally again and refocus on the Good. Today another awful FB message but we can only hope for the best, can't we, and not let the Turkeys get us Down! Thank you again.

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ November 02, 2014

Dreadful stuff, evoking compassion .... when it is possible to get past the anger! Strength and ease to you. Gah! When I hear of others who have unruffled interactions with extended family, I feel quite envious sometimes.

ODSago November 01, 2014

Oh that photo!

Family disturbances are the worst plague--I tend to stay away if they errupt and then...my family is smaller afterwards and I miss the old regard we had.

Tick Tock Tick ODSago ⋅ November 01, 2014

After seven calm days we've regained our equilibrium. Being able to sleep and to focus on all the good in our lives with no worrisome undercurrents doesn't recur without gratitude. "Old regard" is a good way to put it. Today came a another vile message from bipolar nephew and I am dismayed he hasn't yet been able to reign himself in. I also wondered how much abuse one needs to endure because someone is mentally unwell. I feel we have all been treating him like a child all his life (he's now in his fifties). I'm not feeling particularly charitable now but I'm not dwelling on it and certainly not responding.

jamez November 05, 2014

I have seen the news, I suppose it had to happen as there is just to two parties, unless the Tea party is still about; then there is a two and a quarter chooses. I’m a good way off, from here I’m not sure I can see any difference!

I can’t say the future looks any better here, Nigel Façade and his ukip chums are pushing British polices to the extreme right, a sort of handicap race with the British people being handed the handicap ‘gosh looks who’s running the country now’

The problem is some of those running right don’t live here, or is it just there money lives aboard …… The old country isn’t what it was, no no I’m wrong, it’s just as it was, the old guard are back; our democratic system is having a make over, more money for those who have plenty of it; and secret courts if we don’t like it!

Now after all that, how are you, I hope it is well; look after each other what ever is going on.

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ November 18, 2014

Sadly, the situation in Britain, mirrors that in many countries in addition to the U.S. I like your description. Big Money is winning and we aren't members of that club! I expected our election outcomes and was numb but not much more until a conservative friend started in with a factless tirade then I posted every liberal political comment I found on Facebook. As a later cartoon said, "I just shortened my Christmas gift list by airing my political opinions on FB!"

jamez Tick Tock Tick ⋅ November 19, 2014

RYNote. Now I have been told it’s a Hibiscus twice, thanks for sorting out my faulty memory Gypsy Spirit and Tick Tock Tick. As soon as saw Hibiscus on your note’s a light came on in a dark corner of my memory, I may get another next year!

jamez November 15, 2014

Our winter has been good day with some sun followed by a wet and windy day and so we go, as we could put it; It’s a nice day – no it’s isan’t – yes it is – no it’s isan’t – yes it is – no it’s isan’t – yes it is – no it’s isan’t – yes it is – you get my drift ……

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.