Is this man Elderly? in New Immigrant

  • Oct. 22, 2014, 12:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo 014-11.jpg

Okay, he IS seventy, but does That make him elderly? He runs six miles
a day. He lifts weights. He devours books you’d never find in the “easy
reading” section.

Last week Tom went to Mayo’s for routine check-ups. In his online notes about Tom’s visit the peach-cheeked resident dermatologist described him as “an elderly gentleman.”

After a few moments of dismay and hurt, Tom has been getting mileage
with elderly man jokes.

Two days later the gastroenterology physician’s assistant, who’d written
about Tom’s fitness, went on to say he didn’t need another colonoscopy
for five years and at 75 she wasn’t sure they’d recommend one. What?
At 75 are you too old to matter?

Amidst this I’m reading Atul Gawande’s book “Being Mortal.” Gawande
is a favorite of mine you may recall. He’s an oncology surgeon who writes well about problems in the U.S. health system. Obviously “Being Mortal” deals with these pesky Elderly people and how our system is failing them. Okay, a needed discussion EXCEPT Gawande does us the unkindness of explaining how our bodies decline without even asking, not because of our bad habits, only because we simply ARE mortal.

Recent events with friends’ health had been rudely ponging our noggins with jeering threats. THEY could die and so could WE! The clock is ticking!

But, NAH, I don’t think that guy is ELDERLY. So, Dear World,
leave us alone!

(let’s see, in ten years I’ll be 79, if I make it…)


Last updated October 22, 2014


Beret October 22, 2014

Looks pretty darn good to me!

My brother's FIL just celebrated his 80th. He does not look 80. Why? Good genes I suppose but more importantly, he is an active 80. Tennis, biking, golfing, etc.

The message: keep on moving and start moving while you can.

Tick Tock Tick Beret ⋅ October 22, 2014

Absolutely true! And now that I have Jack, I am included in that!

patrisha October 22, 2014

My very nice doctor apologized for using the word "fragile" about me in her notes. I told her I didn't mind. I was quite aware that at my age things tended to break more easily than they used to!

Tick Tock Tick patrisha ⋅ October 22, 2014

Oh, I know what you mean and I agree, but I never once saw Tom or myself as "elderly" before.

MageB October 22, 2014

Nope, not at all elderly. :)

ODSago October 22, 2014

I have come to think that at 70 we were baby elders and at 75-80 we are elders; after 80, when most of my friends in that decade are not as healthy I think of them as old when they get fragile.

The word, elder, isn't anything to deny or be insulted by, to me it not only denotes age but also experience and depth and respect. At 69 it may not seem that way, but at 73 I see it that way. With respect to your view being different. I'd like to read the book you mentioned. And, will. Thanks.

ODSago October 22, 2014

Whoops!

Well, let me rephrase. I wrote respecting your view being different from mine. And, I'd like to read the mentioned book.

thesunnyabyss October 22, 2014

definitely not elderly,

this whole aging thing sucks, lol,

big hugs my friend!!!

~Katherine October 22, 2014

oops....I didn't mean to make the note private; must have been an error caused by being elderly. :/

jamez October 23, 2014

Well when are we elderly, I’m not sure it’s about age, Dad was driving and gardening into his eighties, he became elderly quite suddenly when he was eighty six, at that point it was his decline. Watching a play or a series on the television with a completed story he was elderly in his early sixties; he enjoyed his good years and never complained about the bad years and there were two of those.

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ October 25, 2014

Ditto about my Mom. It pleases me to hear about your Dad's good life. We know many active, happy, contributing eighty year olds (nearly all our local Democrats!!).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.