THE GOOD in New Immigrant

  • Oct. 20, 2014, 5:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo 002-11.jpg<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://s1230.photobucket.com/user/ticktock65/embed/slideshow/"></iframe>

Meet my new buddy, Jack, alias my exercise coach! This will be the third week that Jack has been walking me. Isn’t he cute? He’s two and I have
no idea what sort of mix he is. Would appreciate hearing what you think.

 photo 015-10.jpg

This is a Win-Win story. I first met Jack two years ago at election time when I left yard signs with his owners. He was a wee pup and so cute. But for the ensuing two years I’ve watched him live his life as a tragic “lawn ornament,” attached to a six inch chain in all weather and all seasons. He has only a plastic barrel with some straw inside for winter. When “it’s really bad,” his owners said, they chain him in the garage.

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://s1230.photobucket.com/user/ticktock65/embed/slideshow/"></iframe>

My heart has ached and ached for him, I have spent nights worrying about him. Finally, when I took the political signs this year, I asked his owners if I could walk Jack, explaining my inability to exercise and my realization that I need a dog I can’t have.

We walk near his home, on a country road with scenery like this to
enjoy.

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://s1230.photobucket.com/user/ticktock65/embed/slideshow/"></iframe>

THE BAD

“I’m in jail!” cried his Sister. That’s what Tom heard when he answered the phone three weeks ago about 8:00 PM! As you would imagine, life hasn’t been the same since.

What had happened? Penny was at the nursing home, getting three days of Jack’s pills prior to taking him out for a home visit (which she has the
legal right to do) when her son arrived and physically grabbed her in an attempt to stop her.

Why? Because he thinks it is harmful to his Dad, the care center says he’s more agitated when he returns and son Dave thinks Penny isn’t acting
in his Dad’s best interest and says his Mom is incompetent to have power of attorney over him.

When Penny broke loose from Dave’s hold she headed out, meeting the Director at the door and allegedly pushed her into the wall with the door.

Penny hastened to the sheriff’s dept. to request a restraining order against
her son. As she did that, the police chief came up and arrested her on
misdemeanor assault by the care center director and jailed her overnight.

This is a small town and Penny knows people at the sheriff’s office. Staff was very open about their confusion at why she was being jailed.

Later that evening Penny was presented with a restraining order her
son had gotten against her. She cannot see husband Jack until Oct. 22nd.

While I would have needed psychiatric care if I’d been tossed in jail, Penny actually did well because of the kindness of the staff who kept checking on her and comforting her. She said she never would have survived it otherwise. When she was released a young staffer walked her to her car with his arm around her reassuring her, “You’ll get through this, Penny.”

Not a lot has transpired since then, except that one nurse at the care center came forward and said Penny was telling the truth about what had transpired and the only thing she couldn’t see well was the door. Three
other staff say Penny did hit the director with the door. The police report
says there was no mark on the director’s arm.

One other thing we know is that Danielle, the director, is friends with Dave and his wife and she is supporting Dave’s charge of incompetence.

Tom is headed to Illinois again as I write. The family vitriole has not diminished. One daughter is taking her Mom’s side because she thinks it’s best for her Dad but that doesn’t mean things are amiable.

And how has Jack been during Penny’s absence? He is more confused and very lonely for Penny. He doesn’t understand why she isn’t visiting and brings her up often, referring to her affectionately as “Little Bear.”

Tomorrow they meet with Penny’s lawyer and on Wednesday there is
some sort of legal meeting.

Meanwhile, Dave’s wife had serious bariatric surgery this morning and
last night Dave thought he was having a heart attack.

I haven’t seen Tom this upset in decades and it all seems unnecessary
and something that should be dealt with with a family counselor, not
a lawyer.


Last updated October 20, 2014


thesunnyabyss October 20, 2014

oh how horrible for all concerned, perhaps they could spend the weekend together, Dave the son or the daughter with them, just to keep things on an even keel, family is so hard sometimes, poor Tom, and you, must be so sad,

and yay for your walking partner, what a great way to help that poor dog out and yourself too, I've been dutifully walking Dashman, sometimes twice a day, it seems to be helping a little,

I am so glad you updated, I was beginning to worry about you,

big hugs and much love!

Ragdolls October 20, 2014

Good to see the update! Very good to read about how you & the dog have 'rescued' each other! But, my, oh my on the family situation. Besides the manic episode, it seems that karma has it's teeth in both Dave & his wife's backsides right now. Hoping that everything works out for Penny & Jack.

Tick Tock Tick Ragdolls ⋅ October 20, 2014

Hi! I will post cat pictures next! Isn't it the pits when a family gets like this considering we used to all laugh wildly and have the best times together!! Thank you for your hopeful wishes!!

Beret October 21, 2014

Oh my. What a mess of problems. I feel for all of you. It's complicated to say the least. On the other hand, Jack and you sounds like a win-win situation! Keep on truckin.

MageB October 22, 2014

Yes, and hugs to you.

jamez October 23, 2014

I took one look at Jack and I have him sorted, he’s a perfect mix.

As for the other part I don’t now what to think, I don’t know what to say its always sad when families get in to those situation, I hope there is someone who can talk some them into seeing each others sides.

I notice a few photograph codes in your entry, I’ve been there!

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ October 25, 2014

Those photos came and went! Some were photos and returned to codes. Do you write then post photos all at once? I was splitting it up. Perhaps that's a no-no.
I agree. Jack is a perfect mix. He's small enough for me to handle and I love his perky little ears. Mostly I love seeing him leap and frolic and look so happy! Some days I ache during the walks and I know I'd NEVER stay with it if it weren't for Jack.
The family situation is embarrassing and also feels like a nightmare. Jack is the most pleasant, people loving, sociable, good man. Never heard a swear word from him. His career was in education, first teaching high school math then working at the state level educating teachers in math and computers

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.