April 24 - Next Level Unlocked in These Foolish Things

  • April 24, 2024, 4:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, WOW! Thank you everyone, for the amazing notes on my last entry! Sometimes I worry a little that I might be showing ignorance with my musings and ponderings, but they are honest thoughts and they are what roll around in my brain until I get them out here. I am ever grateful for this place of actual feedback because I get so many fantastic ideas from it. And I feel safe here. I know there is always that potential for a troll here and there, but I feel like maybe they all have moved on to places like TikTok (ha!). Thank you, Prosebox!

As you know, I follow a lot of cancer patients on Instagram. I have found it useful to find a group of like-minded people who also give me food for thought and a sense of community in a pretty shitty situation.

This morning one of my cancer friends posted a reel about exercise and how when your muscles contract during exercise, they secrete anti-depressant proteins that go into your bloodstream and travel to your brain. I mean, we knew it all along just by how amazing exercise makes us feel, right? But these protein molecules are called Hope Molecules in the science world. How cool is that?!

I have exercised every single day since January 1, except for colonoscopy day, and even on that day I walked, so I guess I CAN say every single day. I am so, so grateful to be back on this routine where I’m getting up early and working out every morning before work or weekend play. It makes a world of difference to me. I can tell that I’m highly sensitive to these hope molecules.

I am also stepping on the scale every morning before the workouts. Today, April 24th, 2024 I hit my GOAL WEIGHT! This is honestly a huge milestone because, while my weight tends to fluctuate 20 lbs up and down, I haven’t purposely hit this goal since I was in my early 30s! The last two times I was here I was sick (1=after carotid injury, 2=during cancer treatment) and I wasn’t trying to be at this weight. This time, I am FULL of those hope molecules!

This time, I am working towards actual muscle growth and true body and mind maintenance.

So, while I’ve hit a milestone, that does not mean that the work stops there or I end my quest to ingest quality, healthy foods. As we’ve collectively said, growth is a lifelong undertaking!

Now, I’m off to secrete more hope…

xo,
GS


sudare April 24, 2024

Sometimes online friendship is tighter than the offline one.

TrippyNina April 24, 2024

Congrats on meeting your goal!
xoxoxoxo

WhatDreamsMayCome April 24, 2024

The "work" has just started. The good news is you're not carrying an additional 20 lbs!
Go Girl!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.