April 12- eye exam day etc in Old

  • April 12, 2024, 10:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had been reluctant to get a new eye exam because the last time a doctor just pissed me off. Not like I stayed pissed off for years. I made sure to get a different doctor this time. It always seems like a big ordeal to get all those tests done. The facility I went to was near one of the local big hospitals. I was surprised at how busy they were, but also how efficient they were. I kept hearing one doctors name called over and over. The one I was going to see. When they give me those tests where you have to read letters and numbers, I feel it’s like a school test that I’ll be graded on. Surprisingly, I was told I did better this time than my last visit. In the past few years, there is a sort of dread that there may be some bad news. Last visit, I was told a freckle inside my eye could be cancer or not. That bothered me. He was so cavalier about it. Apparently, I don’t have cancer. In the eye at least. I was told today that I will not need cataract surgery for a few years, which is a relief, and there is no macular degeneration, which is another relief. No signs of glaucoma. Use a warm compress on my eyes if I have any oil gland problems in my eyes. Years ago, I had keratitis, and it started to gouge a hole in my eye. An oil gland in my eyelash was not working, and so my eyelash was gouging my eye without lubrication there. fortunately, modern medicine fixed it and saved my eye. I’ve noticed much less eye problems, such as irritation since I quit working in the factory. My eyes were dilated and fortunately it was a cloudy rainy day today. Despite wearing sunglasses on the way home, it was difficult to see, things were blurry. But it all went very well. My eyes are in good shape for an old bastard. I decided to change frames something different for me more rounded. Did not take me long to choose some frames and a woman looking over the frame said it did not take me long. I had a choice of thinking it was a bitch comment or just a comment. I laughed it off and said I’m not vain. I did go for quality in the lenses which jacked up the price quite a bit. Fortunately, Medicare pays for an eye exam. I think this is a pre-bucket list thing to do.

Earlier in the day, I went shopping for kale and a pepper. I saw and talked to a lady worker that I often talk to. Somehow, in the short conversation vaccines were mentioned, and she said she does not believe in them and only believes in holistic medicine and that vaccines are bad. I grinned and told her I get every goddamn vaccine I can get in my arm. She looks horrified. I was more amused. She said she was forced to get the Covid shot by the food store. Horrible food store trying to save lives. She told me that her parents had told her that we all have a strong immune system that can take care of all those nasty things that we get vaccinated for so we don’t need vaccines. Again, I smiled and laughed and told her I will continue to get vaccines and I wish her a good luck with the way she’s living and somehow a long healthy life. I went to Aldi just for the hell of it not really needing anything but in their junk aisle I found a great deal on a small trashcan and a planter that I needed for only five dollars. Great price in both. I tortured my poor aloe plant by repotting it. I repotted a peace lily plant yesterday.

On the way home, spur the moment I took a left turn instead of going home and drove over to the factory. I used to work in. Over three years ago. I was amazed that some of the roads had changed been improved. For some odd reason, I was extremely anxious as I approached that old building. I heard that it was bought by a marijuana growing company for growth and research. The old Michigan ladder company sign was still up there and it made me feel a little bit sad. The massive sawdust collecting machine was still rusting away off to the side. No vehicles there, but I had heard from someone that used to work there that they had seen people working at the place trying to fix it up or something. I messaged my former boss a little later and told him nothing much had changed. As I write this, I feel a little bit sad because much as it sounds ridiculous. It’s true. I felt sorry for that building that it was so alone without the workers it once had inside it. I had seen a blueprint for renovating it for the new owner and there was an extreme amount of work to be done. My former boss, and I agreed that that old factory would need a lot of money poured into it for repairs. When I worked there, they were rotting timbers all over the place and every year the roof leaked. The snow would melt and water would be streaming over the concrete floor. I doubt if I will ever go that way again. I did need to put a few extra miles on my car. I was amazed at how it’s Atlante had changed so much in just three years.

I am a little self-conscious and surprised at how I am with people these days. I was once self-conscious and fearful of how people would react to things I said. Now the things that I do say are often humorous, cheerful, and positive. I will often compliment women on their hair or some other aspect of them or men the headgear they are wearing. I like the Carefree Forrest Gump waving I do. Maybe it looks idiotic, but I laugh when I do it. I just don’t give a fuck because I am enjoying myself who I am being full of humor and being positive in how I live. I looked back on my life, and I wonder how people can be so stupidly cruel to each other so petty. So much stupid bullshit has so much meaning to so many. So much for so many is about vanity and ego. To me, it is so fucking stupid. Is the woman at the grocery store doesn’t like vaccines or does not believe in them or other medical care so be it that’s her life. Live and let live. Six hours after leaving the eye doctor place I see my eyes are still dilated. Oh well.

I think about how people bitch and complain so much. As I once did and try not to do these days. If I cannot change the situation to better, my life, then shut the fuck up and live with it. Some people think complaining is therapeutic. I don’t. I do believe that, writing it out or talking it out to a good listener a caring listener can help if we can change ourselves or the situation in life for the better. Spinning wheels and not moving forward and making much noise about it is just fucking stupid. I say that with humor and not as some grumpy old man.

Three days without junk food, junk sugar. Already I feel more energetic and alert.


Last updated April 12, 2024


Skeletor April 13, 2024

I do my best to respect the opinions of others, but like you I trust modern medical science, chemists and those who abide by the Hippocratic oath more than my limited knowledge of medicine. I get vaccines and I’m not ashamed of them or of my choices to do so.

I hope you get some relief for your eyes, and I’m glad that you’re not experiencing cataracts or glaucoma.

Scott Skeletor ⋅ April 13, 2024

Thank you, good, sir according to the doctor for an old fuck, I’m doing very good with my vision. Previously, somebody had told me I would need cataract surgery. Nice to be able to kick that down the road a bit.

Skeletor Scott ⋅ April 13, 2024

100%. My grandmother has to have almost monthly checkups because she got glaucoma. She developed like three cataracts in the last fifteen years and they are just no damn good. Here’s to your health and kicking that so far down the road you don’t even have to see it my friend

Scott Skeletor ⋅ April 13, 2024

Yer a good dude. One of the better on here. That whole cliche of "health is wealth" is so true. I think birthdays should be days of GRATITUDE for getting so far.

Skeletor Scott ⋅ April 13, 2024

Thanks for that. I appreciate the kind words for sure. I am super grateful for everything I do and don’t have. I just made some fresh enemies on here today in the name of trying to offer a counterpoint, but that happens sometimes. It’s nice to have friends 😊. Our health absolutely is our wealth

Scott Skeletor ⋅ April 13, 2024

I had considered that counterpoint thing today too with someone but decided STFU. People will be how they will be. I DO try to pull someone up if they are feeling down even if they are kicking and screaming about it ;-) Fuck the enemies!

Skeletor Scott ⋅ April 13, 2024

That’s the way I go. I’d rather pull us all up, even if there are kicks and screams! And sometimes I don’t know when to shut my foolish mouth 😆

Scott Skeletor ⋅ April 13, 2024

Humility is a beautiful thing.;-)

Skeletor Scott ⋅ April 13, 2024

It is and I do my best to practice it constantly. I always need more

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.