TP in Will Fly For Food

  • Sept. 12, 2014, 4:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I worked at skyways today because I am a glutton for punishment.
Basically, what had happened was the Hoff approached Nate about flying his brother to Anoka County. Nate really didn’t want to do it, he basically said he didn’t have the time or the motivation so he got together with his boss and they set a really high price.
When Nate delivered the price to Danny he hemmed and hawed about it so Nate figured he was off the hook. He hinted “You know, Sarah has Thursdays off.” Danny was absolutely gleeful, scheming and telling Nate ,” that’s great I could have her work the desk and I could fly my brother.” Nate was like “not exactly what I had in mind but good luck with asking Sarah.” At this point Nate and I had already talked and I had gone off on a rant about how much it sucks having a vagina because nobody ever takes me seriously. Danny is always raving about how great I am and how it’s such a shame I’m stuck in this little town when obviously I should be somewhere cool working as a hotshot pilot making a bajillion dollars and getting all the bitches. But when it comes time to have a pilot do a flight for him he goes to Nate and doesn’t even think of me. Wat. I know he has some cred because he flies pretty regularly for work. Also he has an in at skyways because he used to be a ft pilot for them for what, 3 years?

Nate thinks I need to stop listening to feminist podcasts that give me too Many of those blasted feelers and make me take shit personally. I can’t help it. It always seems personal to me.

It’s just that stuff like that really annoys me. And for example when we go to Oshkosh, everyone just assumes Nate is the pilot and I’m just his wife. We were even approached by someone with the 99’s which is a women-in-aviation group. The woman approached Nate and was talking to him for several minutes before she even acknowledged me. Once she found out I was a pilot she was more interested in me, or namely, getting me to open my wallet and pay to join.

I know that this is part of being married. I know it’s part of being the other half of a set of pilots. I just wish that it wasn’t that way. I wish I had some kind of discernible skill or that I just wasn’t a pilot and did something completely different so it wasn’t like this. So they could say like “oh that’s Nate, he’s a pilot and his wife Sarah is a (insert occupation here).

To add to the obnoxiousness, someone Nate and I know around the area is retiring. He has a really good federal job in law enforcement, and he also happens to fly as part of his job. They got a grant to buy a second airplane but if this guy retires they won’t have any pilots in their ranks. Nate suggested that I would be a good candidate because I’ve been involved with law enforcement on the state level with my current position and I really enjoy what I do. I’ve also been looking for an opportunity to get back into flying since I really kind of miss it. This guy kind of shrugged it off. He suggested he would rather have Nate do it, to which Nate said, “well I’ve got plenty on my plate right now and don’t really have time except weekends but we will stay in touch. This job, btw, would be similar to what I did with aerial photography, flying between 500ft and 3500 feet, day time, visual flight rules only. No instruments, no fancy shit. Exactly the type of flying I like and Nate doesn’t so it’s not a matter of experience.

So compounding all this crap lately I have been feeling the worst kind of mediocre. I wish that I would have done things differently to get me to where I am. I feel like I have no real world skills. Everything I’m good at sucks and is boring and I hate it. But why would anyone take me seriously. I didn’t try in high school. I didn’t try in college. I got mediocre grades. I never did any internships or anything that is special or neat or sets me apart from anyone else. I’ve never been the best at anything. Not at a video game, or school, or work, or at a sport, or a race, whatever. Nothing. I consistently do things well, but it seems like nobody ever notices it. I get told all the time that is how you get the bosses job is you show up, keep your mouth shut, do your job well consistently but I have yet to see that pay off. It’s like everyone likes there to be toilet paper on the roll, but nobody ever knows who changes it, they just know it gets changed. I feel like that is all my life is, making sure there is toilet paper in the bathroom.


dickson. September 12, 2014

Ugh. Sounds really fucking brutal :(

Star Maiden September 12, 2014

That job sounds perfect for you. Did Nate really push it with the guy or was it just a suggestion? Sometimes you need to just convince them.

Either way, people suck. Lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.