Destiny in 2014

  • Sept. 10, 2014, 10:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So now we know how I am going to be spending my next two days off.

The whole story of how we got it is funny as hell.

Both Ben and I had been looking at it and reading about it independently of each other and had no idea the other had an interest in it. I work with his best friend, Justin. About a week ago, Justin and I were talking and he said Ben was afraid I’d be fixing to get mad at him. I asked why and he said because Ben wants to get Destiny for the X-Box and it would require moving it from the bedroom, where I use it, to the living room when he gets the game. It suddenly made sense why he asked me if I used the X-Box much. I mainly use it for Netflix since I got a bit burnt out on Skyrim, but since we got a new Wii, that wouldn’t be a problem.

Then two days ago I get a text from him at work saying, “Call me.” I called him and this is how the conversation went.

Ben: “Have you heard the saying ‘it’s better to ask for forgiveness than ask for permission’?”
Me: “What did you do?”
Ben: “Have yo uheard it?”
Me: “Yes.”
Ben: “Do you believe it?”
Me: “It depends. What did you do?”
Ben: “I bought a game.”
Me: “Oh, you went ahead and bought Destiny?”
-silence-
Ben: “How the fuck did you know???”

This would have been the perfect opportunity to fuck with him, but I wasn’t feeling good and didn’t think of it. I could have said, “Oh, I finally installed those hidden cameras I was talking about.” Or Justin’s suggestion, “I know everything. Get used to it.” But, sadly, I missed the oppertunity.

Me: “Are you forgetting that I work with your best friend?”
Ben: “Oh. Right. What did he say about it?”
Me: “Just that you were worried I would hate you for moving the X-Box for the game.”
Ben: “…That dude has no concept of the Bro Code.”
Me: “My only question is, can we afford it right now?”
Ben: “Yes, we’ll be fine.”
Me: “Okay, I’m good.”

I wasn’t entirely. With us both being sick and taking time off work, pus being set back with the impound, I’ve been stressing about money. But I can stress about money to unhealthy levels even when I shouldn’t, so I have tried to rely on asking him if we’ll be okay in situations like these. If he says yes, I take some time and let it go. I may be upset for a bit, but I trust him. It’s taken me five years, but I know now if he says we’ll be okay, we’ll be okay.

So then I told Justin about the conversation and he found it as hilarious as I did. He agreed I should have fucked with him a bit, but understood I wasn’t in my right mind.

Later on, he came up and asked me to text Ben to see if he was able to buy a copy for him. Justin had texted him his card info at 8:58pm when GameStop closes at 9:00pm to advance order him a copy, and then his phone died. I texted, the order didn’t go through but Ben offered to take him to Walmart that night. Justin accepted and Ben said he’d have to ride home with me. I leave work at 10pm during the week and he gets off at 11pm.

After a bit of thinking, he asked his ride to bring him over to our place, but the way he did it was hilarious. “Hey, can you take me over to her place tonight?” His ride knew what he meant, but Dalton walked up at that moment and got a look of, “wtf” on his face. I said, “Justin, do you realize how bad that sounds?” We looked at each other for a moment and he said, loudly, “I’m hanging out with her fiancee tonight!”

Justin actually beat me to the house. I went out to eat with Tammera, so Justin and Ben got to hang out for a bit. When I got home, we talked about it, and we’re both expecting rumors to abound now. But they will be easily quashed. We’ve know each other for five years, before either of us worked up there, and he is best friends with my fiancee.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.