Keep It Real.. in Mental Health

  • Sept. 9, 2014, 3:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes what people refer to as “positivity” is simply denial. I’m all about having a positive attitude, but I have also battled major depression and other mental illnesses that are beyond most people’s comprehension all of my life.

I’ve had enough of people bitching at me in the name of “positivity” if I express a negative emotion.

No one has the right to tell me how I should feel; that is not the same as caring or support. It’s super unhealthy to keep our feelings bottled up. So why do so many people bitch at us when we express sadness?

In the past I have isolated myself and remained silent and distant from even close friends because I didn’t want to be a burden, especially considering most that truly know me only think of me as the comedian and the expectation to be “funny all of the time” is just too hard to deal with.

If someone truly cares about me they will accept me happy or sad.

The brutal reality is that some people have decided that they only want 100% Positive People around them. I get it. Team Happy doesn’t realize they may be missing out on our overall greatness if they shame us for our sadness, but that’s their loss, and I would rather have bouts of depression or sadness than to pretend to be happy and positive all of the time.

Seriously, at the end of the day being a fake ass bitch is the worst thing a person can be.


Deleted user September 09, 2014

Well said.

Deleted user September 09, 2014

couldn't have said it better

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.