Dancing into our Hearts in New Immigrant

  • Sept. 7, 2014, 11:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Little great-niece Lila did that this week. Before her eyes were fully open on Thursday she asked her Mom, “Is it ballet class today?” Afterwards
they stopped by at the nursing home, Lila adorable in her ballerina outfit.

 photo 008-13.jpg

 photo 010-15.jpg

Although this isn’t a flattering shot of Tom or me, look at that
bright-eyed Lila. Can’t you feel her zest? And yes I am as tickled
as I look to be with her. She’ll be four in November and has grown
like a weed since seeing her at Violet’s graduation in May.

 photo 016-14.jpg

Jack’s new “home” couldn’t be more friendly. Course the residency
numbers aren’t near capacity but it’s nice welcoming newcomers gradually. The patient rooms (large room, closet and private bathroom)
open out on a large lounge area divided into smaller seating areas. A resident’s visitor had brought her dog to visit and Jack and Penny enjoyed that.

 photo 019-8.jpg

Penny and daughter Jen spend from noon until bedtime with Jack,
something recommended for his first two weeks.

This was the first time we’ve been with Jen in two years and the first since she had her brain surgery last October which left her with facial
paralysis and a lurching gait. Her memory is excellent and sense of
humor unrivaled so she could work if it weren’t for the extreme fatigue
that waves over her, requiring her to nap. Also, she cannot drive
because of vision problems and lack of co-ordination. She still has
speech therapy and physical therapy, plus biofeedback exercises
on her malfunctioning facial nerves.

Always very independent, Jen plunges ahead with whatever she
can do. It makes me wonder how I would handle the drastic
change in appearance and freedom. Although it’s been challenging and for
awhile she avoided going out, now she says she just avoids mirrors!
At home she uses handicapped transportation (calls ahead to be
picked up) and has her groceries delivered.

It was difficult for me to watch strangers interract with Jen as if she
wasn’t mentally normal. I wanted to explain that she’s fine. It made me realize I want to always treat disabled people as if they are normal mentally and I worry I may have assumed incorrectly in the past.

There was a glaring concern in the new care center, though, it seems their cook has not be schooled in food safety. Meat and egg-based salads were
being left in the salad bar 24/7 and one day Penny was served a half-cooked piece of turkey that was red inside and sitting in its pink juice.
I told Tom I was going to leave a private message on their FB page and
he was mortified. Ultimately I did, phrasing it well so Tom felt good
about it. I couldn’t face having the dear residents we met be taken down
with food poisoning (which had happened in the awful center where I
had my Mom for a couple weeks). One wonders what food safety violations were occurring in the kitchen in light of what was visible. Would you have spoken up?

I’m grateful for the:
Zest and glee of children
The colors of mums lined up for sale
My kind, knowledgeable friends

CARPE DIEM!


Last updated September 08, 2014


Daisy Mae September 08, 2014

Love the photo!

For everyone's sake I would absolutely have brought the food issue to the centers attention. What you describe sounds horrendous, especially for residents who are already vulnerable.

Tick Tock Tick Daisy Mae ⋅ September 08, 2014

Thank you, Daisy Mae for your support. That's what I felt too, the residents are already compromised and vulnerable. My Sister-in-law also went in and spoke to a cook. I wrote to the administration.

thesunnyabyss September 08, 2014

I am glad you spoke up about the food, just to be on the safe side, of course,

she is a cutie,

I'm so glad you had a good time visiting,

and thank you for your notes, they mean so much to me!

hugs and love!!

Ragdolls September 08, 2014

Lila is adorable. How cute! Yes, I would have spoken up, but knowing me & the horrible experiences with food poisoning that I've had, I would have reported it to the local board of health. The entire kitchen probably needs an inspection & the food handlers need remedial safety education. Especially with the health of the elderly & their delicate immune systems.

Tick Tock Tick Ragdolls ⋅ September 08, 2014

Thank you! Yes, I also had food poisoning once in college and it's nothing to wish on anyone, is it. Sorry you have had horrible experiences. I will not hesitate to call the health dept. if these problems continue. My Sister-in-Law did go in to speak with a cook yesterday. I wrote to the administration. Thank you for your support.

Beret September 08, 2014

I think that is a most lovely (and flattering) shot of the three of you! You have to wonder about someone who doesn't have a sixth sense about food safety. Sixth sense or whatever you want to call it. Pink meat?

jamez September 16, 2014

RYNote. I didn’t think of that at all, but he seemed capable with things digital I might have not have understand remedy, I’ve watched my nephew give advise or even worse demonstrate; have you seen those tricksters with three thimbles and a ball – their very slow by comprehension!

I need to get angry with these things, normally I would have dun so by now, but I’m rather involved with another activity just now; news will be a while alas …………………..

As for images with by words, I’ll have a word with my daughter, she tries things I didn’t know were there, I’m also enjoying writing; but yes I must get on the trick of wafting photographs between flickr and prosebox.

Things here are going quite autumnal, the valley is turning brown’ish and the evenings going cold with the ‘ish’ I expect your tumble through autumn to winter is more dramatic, here we have to wait and see if we have a winter; our last winter was mild with the cold but it did pile on the wind and rain!

Keep well.

ODSago October 08, 2014

How'd I miss this? My apologies...awaiting more.

jamez October 12, 2014

Our weather is still acting the Gentleman, dry and sunny days with the rain we have as been delivered over night, it all rather good but can it last!

We had our steam cleaner up out of the garage, it had been working a week ago but not this weekend, so I said I’ll change the fuse, opened it up and no fuse, I was asked can it work with a fuse ‘no’ The workers are using the garage, their a nice bunch and I’m sure they intended to replaced. They seem to have just what they need, I shore they wouldn’t any fuse. I have three tubs of fuses that my late Father-in-law, he passed away in 2007 at the age of 93, I wonder how old they are!

I hope you are well, I’ve had a heavy cold or something less than flu, I’m getting over it but I have to be up and about tomorrow; and early’ish morning are not my thing quite yet …!!!

Tick Tock Tick jamez ⋅ October 20, 2014

Think of you often. Especially when I pass your calendar. Also because of your tantalizing tease about "another project." I do hope, you know, it is your new calendar.
Very sorry about your cold. Some people here were stricken so I dashed out for my flu shot. Not that it will stop all colds, I know that.
Laughed about your FIL and all his fuses. Did he save lots of other things, too?
Will be by to catch up.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.