Brain on Fire in New Immigrant

  • Aug. 17, 2014, 10:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Anyone like (die for, can't wait for, devour, relish) medical mysteries? I can't get enough of them. When I read - with eyes wide and fear in my heart - the essay by Susannah Cahalan called "My Month of Madness"
I knew I had to read her book. In "Brain on Fire" this young writer
for the New York Post tells the nail-biting saga of her unusual illness.
All the characters are real people with villans and heroes among her doctors, with romance and with family at their breaking point. What you might not like, but which I love, is the medical background given about
brain functioning. Anyway, I loved this book so much that when Tom
returned I HAD to sit him down and read the high points. And he,
also interested in medicine, agreed it was a thriller with a very
surprising diagnosis. Available at bookstores and Target and probably everywhere.

Below are two pictures of Yakitti Yak (now Nisa- pronounced niece-ah). The first is obviously
when she appeared emaciated at our door in April. She had, however,
carried the chartreuse ball I gave her along with her.

 photo 006-13.jpg

Here is a later photo. She's still extremely thin but has been dewormed
and recently spayed. Despite having so many cats in our lives she stands out in her uniqueness; noisy, lovable to people and cats, exuberant and
acrobatic in her playfulness. She soars through our home with the greatest of ease! Ha! But true.

Bony little Yakitti, 4.25 pounds, about the size of Una who is 7 pounds. photo 029-8.jpg

I am thankful for:
Tom being a daily part of my life
Having known Violet when she was a little girl
The great minds and creativity of my Friends here


Last updated August 17, 2014


Deleted user August 18, 2014

That was a fascinating and terrifying book.

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ August 18, 2014

Terrifying but at least her disease was able to be cured. My heart bleeds for all those suffering mental illness and no one knows a way to help.

thesunnyabyss August 18, 2014

sounds like an interesting book,

Nisa looks so much like Ruby, who is naturally on the thin side, I've often called her my fashion model cat bc she is so thin, lol, but when she meows, barely anything comes out, it's like she is just mouthing the word, lol,

have a great day my friend, hugs and love!!

NorthernSeeker August 19, 2014

I read "Brain on Fire" last year...I enjoyed it. Have you read Wild by Cheryl Strayed? You might really enjoy that account, too.

Ragdolls August 19, 2014

Beret August 19, 2014

I'm not one to read medical mysteries. Right now I am in a phase where I am reading about how stuff was built. Like the PRR tunnels under the Hudson river and the Brooklyn Bridge, etc. I want to read about the NYC subways at some point.

ODSago August 25, 2014

Your kitty is thriving, I'd say. And chocked with personality from your words above. I miss having a cat (severely allergic to them, I found out). There were three in my life earlier. Sigh.

Yes, I read an essay on Brain on Fire. Same one I guess. I love that stuff!!!!!!

ODSago August 25, 2014

PS: didn't like Cheryl Strayed's book. Didn't really trust it. Something struck me as off and harkening back to writing classes in the 70s. But...apparently my taste does not reflect the American Public in general, for which they thank me or would if they knew.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.