Pisstrated in Adventures in Retail Hell

  • Aug. 17, 2014, 10:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yeah, pisstrated. It's a mix of pissed and frustrated. Our newest hire, the one who has been here all of a week, TRIED to call off tonight. We told her too bad you're shit out of luck because there's NO ONE to cover for you. She showed up, an hour late, but still. And it's not the first time she's been late either!

Still really pisses me off though. My 1 year anniversary here is in a week and you know how many times I've called off...NONE! Not a single time, EVER! Have some fucken respect for the people you work with for fuck's sake!

Just so tired of people that don't wanna work, or hell even show up :(

I've also spent the vast majority of my night on the phone and redoing the schedules for the next 2 weeks to accommodate everyone. Ugh! So not what I wanted to do tonight!

Well lunch break is almost over so I guess my rant is too.


Winter24375 August 17, 2014

that sucks. I hate when people call off unnecessarily plus calling off which makes us short aka what happened to me last night. :( on the plus side? it's nice to see u writing again. :D

Manda Melle Winter24375 ⋅ August 17, 2014

lol I'm trying! Just hate that all I have to write about is work nonsense :/

precious butterflies August 19, 2014

I think its important to have a good work ethic. I rarely call out of work, but if I have to, I do. I can totally understand your frustrations with people who call out for no reason though! It is frustrating!

Manda Melle precious butterflies ⋅ August 19, 2014

Especially when they JUST started. Calling off on your 5th day is just shitty, I don't care who you are, what you do or how much you make. Then there's the fact that we're a small store, there are literally only SIX people that work here...one only works weekends and one was on vacation! WTF are we supposed to do when someone calls off?!?!

Mrs.Kristen.Canon August 19, 2014

just older August 19, 2014

I don't miss retail at all! I worked at Meijers for five years and the never ending rotation of new hires was mind boggling.

Manda Melle just older ⋅ August 20, 2014

I think I'd miss retail...maybe lol The stories are good anyway! New employes every other month doesn't really bother me, as long as they're willing to actually work while they're there and most are.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.