The Never-ending Employee Shuffle in Adventures in Retail Hell

  • Aug. 15, 2014, 3:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

-sigh- Just when we think we have enough to staff to function with the utmost efficiency something comes along and fucks it all up...

We finally had 6 people(plus a stock guy who only works weekends) which is just about ideal for a store of our size...and now our assistant manager is leaving :( She's moving to another store, closer to where she lives, to be the manager. I'm happy for her in regards to that, but I'm sad to see her go. She's been there almost the whole time I have and although we've had our ups and downs(she's the one that's married but has a boyfriend :/) I generally like her and am going to miss her. And I must say the way our district manager went about this is shady as fuck. She knew our store manager wouldn't want to give her assistant up so she waited until she went on vacation then came to our store to convince our assistant in person to take on the other store. Apparently the assistant can't say no to the DM's face so that sealed the deal.

With her leaving someone has to fill her spot...The natural next in line is my co-lead sales associate, the co-worker that has become my good friend...BUT she's been entertain the idea of putting in her 2 weeks notice(which I think would be a BIG mistake seeing as how she has 6 kids and man with a less than reliable work history, but hey, that's none of my business -sips tea Kermit style-) so I doubt the idea of taking on more hours and responsibility is really what she wants. Then next in line is...ME! No matter what I'll be moving up. If my co-LSA steps up to assistant then I'll be bumped up to her full-time spot, that's option #1. Option #2 is that she stays in her current position and I move up around her. Option #3 is she quits, I get bumped straight to assistant and we have NO LSAs O_O Option #4, the least likely option, our store manager hires in a new assistant...seeing as how we can't even find reliable sales associates that are worth a damn I don't even see her attempting that.

Seriously, people suck! Last month we had a girl come in for ONE day and then just never come back...no call, wouldn't return our calls, nothing! WTF? This has got to be one of the most easy and laid back jobs EVER! Why walk out on that?!?! Before her we hired someone who never even showed up for the first day. Came in for an interview, did all the pre-employement stuff and all that, but just never bothered to show up for her first day. We've also had a few people not show up for interviews we've scheduled with them. WTF? Why bother applying if don't care about getting the job? Quit wasting everyone's time!

Anyways, back to this moving up business...It had already been on my mind since my co-LSA has been talking about leaving, thus I'd have to take her spot. I originally didn't want it because I don't really want to work full-time...but if we're being honest I already am! All summer I've been working anywhere from 32-38 hours a week even though I'm not supposed to get more than 30. So if I were to become full-time, officially, I'd really only be working 2-8 more hours a week, at the most. So I've decided that if I'm offered either position, full-time LSA or assistant, I'm going to take it.

Then there's the matter of filling my position, which is probably going to have to be done no matter what course of action we take and neither of our current sales associates can do it! One of them is pregnant and will be taking maternity leave in October(which we still need to find someone to cover for her then too!), the other has a full-time job so she's not available enough(we'll be lucky if she sticks around in her current position because of that). Ugh! -rips hair out!-


ThisIsME August 15, 2014

Oh fun hope you guys can find someone who sticks around

Manda Melle ThisIsME ⋅ August 16, 2014

Me too!

Deleted user August 15, 2014

It irks me when people don't show up for an interview, or just not show up to work at all. There are so many people who would love to have a job.

Manda Melle Deleted user ⋅ August 16, 2014

Exactly. I feel like these are the same people who sit on their ass and complain that work is soooo hard to find. No, it's really not, you just have to DO something, heaven forbid!

Simply Adia August 16, 2014

Girl, it's like that in every profession. Our customer service reps start out a over $13/hr with benefits, 401K with 100% matching, paid vacation, sick hours, work/life balance, medical, dental, vision, Christmas Club, employee owned stock, etc. It's a good job for entry level customer service reps. The business we do isn't difficult either. Most of the phone calls are telling people their balances on their FSA debit cards or answering COBRA questions. We had people quit after a few days, not show up for interviews, show up to interviews and then not call back when they were called to be offered the position, walked out at lunch to never return, etc. And it's not like we pay our customer service reps less than everyone else around here. BUCA (The Blues, United, Cigna, and Aetna) don't start their customer service reps anywhere near $13/hr.

I've been interviewing people for an analyst position in my department (basically am assistant to do the large renewals that I am finding myself not having time to do) and it starts at $30k a year with all the benefits I mentioned above. It's not going to get you a private plane, but damn! It's a job. Too many people just think they are too good.

Good luck with whatever happens! Hopefully you are the next in line!

Simply Adia August 16, 2014

*an

precious butterflies August 16, 2014

That is so frustrating!!!! Wow!

Mrs.Kristen.Canon August 19, 2014

just older August 19, 2014

It's so hard to find good help any more.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.