An Indian Moon in All Good Things

  • Aug. 10, 2014, 3:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

India was fantastic. I couldn't have asked for a happier, more enjoyable introduction to so notorious a country.

We stayed in one of the top hotels in Delhi, and worked in another, and it was 5-star all the way. I felt like I'd stepped back 100 years into the colonial era, with men in white suits and turbans constantly bowing to me and jumping to fulfil my every desire. I had my own butler, rosewater spray and iced towels brought to me at the pool beneath the stars, and even attended a champagne reception with I think it was the British ambassador!

The job itself was pretty easy, all things considered. The first day was tough, but we sat much shorter days for the rest of the week, so I had plenty of time to hang out at the pool and we even had an afternoon free to go sightseeing and exploring temples and tombs and discovering where the monkeys and the bats hang out. It was so much fun, and I loved spending hours at the pool every evening. Any day of work is vastly improved when you can swim outdoors afterwards...

Despite the fact it only the second week of work I've done this year, it felt like a marvellous holiday, and I feel much revived for it.

I go to Dubai next weekend for the rest of August, and I'm really happy about that, too, since I haven't been since April. Can't wait to see my massage lady and the desert again. It's two months since I was last in a desert - that's far too long.

And yes, somehow I need to tell Will to leave. I've decided I want to keep this flat - I really love it - but not with him. I suspect he knows what's coming. He went out and got drunk last night while I was at the theatre. I was with friends afterwards until late, and he called me around 1am to ask if I was home yet and, when I told him I was on my way, said then he'd head home too. By the time I went to sleep at 2am, he hadn't turned up and now it's 11am and still no sign of him. A few years ago I'd have been desperately worried, but now I'm just enjoying having the house to myself in the rain... I'm so over all of this.

Less than two months to go until Singapore! I booked my accommodation in Melbourne yesterday, and now I need to do Sydney as well. Annette's in Las Vegas at the moment, but I need to check with her that she's sorted Singapore. Oh, I can't wait. It feels an eternity since Tel Aviv, but we're halfway through the break. I miss everyone so much. Luckily I'm going to be in Dubai and Oman and Qatar for most of the time I have to wait, which should make it pass quickly because I'll be so busy.

I'm enjoying this year so much. It's wonderful no longer being burnt out and dreading getting up every morning. I love being eager for every day.

I'd better finish cleaning the house since I'm off to the theatre in a couple of hours. Hopefully the lashing rain will ease by then!


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.