8/7/14 in Reviews

  • Aug. 8, 2014, 1:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a membership to Audible. I actually enjoy listening to the books. Funny thing though, the one Stephen King book I have exclusively listened to is Under The Dome and even though I have listened to the whole thing, I want to READ it too.So I am slowly working through that on the side.

Recently I downloaded Ulysses, partly because it is so freaking long/expensive when not using the credits you get (so basically I paid $14 for it instead of the $50 or whatever it is listed for). Also, because it is a classic, and it is on my To Read List.

So I tried listening to this book. And it just won't happen. OMG. the writing. I can't do it. I could probably handle reading it, but I can't handle listening to it. James Joyce is freaking long winded! lol

That is all.


Duke August 08, 2014

I listened to Under the Dome on a round trip to Maryland - about 23 hours. Long listen. Kept me entertained!

Princess Buttercup Duke ⋅ August 08, 2014

I listened to it on a round trip to Colorado from Minnesota. Perfect fit, time wise for that trip!

An'yai August 09, 2014

Hehehe, I love audible.

You do know that if you hated Ulysses, and absolutely can't stand continuing to listen to it, you can get your credit back? I found that extremely useful when I picked up some books on a whim and realized that they were horrid.

I love Stephen King, but I have a hard time reading anything he's done after the Dark Tower finale. I tried reading Under the Dome... it just... didn't happen for me. -chuckles- I think the Simpsons Movie ruined it for me. Lately I've been listening to Jacqueline Carey's Kushiel books on audio.

Pintador August 10, 2014

Ha! I would think it would be the other way around. I think I could handle a long winded author on audio better than I could read him/her! On the other hand, I suppose the mind would start to wander in either situation...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.