I can do this....right? in A day in the life...

  • Aug. 5, 2014, 11:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, the new(ish) job......boring. Just flat-out mind-numbingly boring. Yes, at first I thought that was a great thing...no mess, no stress. Now I'm going a little bit nuts. I've been on a good (and proper) medication regimen for a while (I cut the mood stabilizer in half, so the feeling numb inside went away) so I feel like I can handle more now. And the longer I've been here, the more I'm finding out things that I don't like. Let me make a list:

  1. Half hour lunch (okay, not that big of a deal, but still).
  2. I don't get paid for any holidays until I've been there 90 days. This means I didn't get paid for July 4 and won't get paid for Labor Day. That's bullshit.
  3. No insurance (again, not a huge thing since hubby covers me, but still).
  4. No bonuses....ever.
  5. After one year you get five vacation days. Those five days also cover any sick time. That's right...for the first FIVE YEARS you work there, you get five lousy days a year to use for vacation and/or sick time. If you get the flu or some other horrible sickness that has you out of work for any period of time, you're screwed.
  6. You have to make a list every day of what you did and how long you spent doing it.
  7. I make a whole $11/hour.

The one awesome thing is it's not that far from home and I get to wear jeans to work.

So anyway, today I went on an interview....at a law firm. Now before you start yelling at me just hear me out. I am better! I'm NOT the emotional wreck I was when I worked for AAA. When I worked at AAA I hadn't been diagnosed and wasn't being properly medicated. I also had never worked for such a horrible person before and between her and me being unmedicated, it was a recipe for disaster. It didn't work...end of story.

My friend told me about how her firm was hiring. What's funny is I was supposed to interview there last year but I blew off the interview, but when Nikki told me they were looking for a secretary again I decided to take a chance and called the office manager and left her a message telling her who I was, reminding her that we had spoken last year and that I was supposed to interview but didn't make it, and that I would love to interview for this new open position if she would give me another chance. She called me back within an hour and set up an interview. She told me she had REALLY wanted to interview me last time and she was really looking forward to meeting me. So today I met her (get this...her name is also Elaine...lol), we talked for a LONG time, and then I did some testing. She told me that she would call me on Thursday and set up a time for me to meet the attorney I would be working for if I get the job. Elaine and I got along beautifully.

This place sounds pretty awesome. After 90 days of employment you get 70 HOURS of paid time off (PTO)!!! Every year you get two weeks, and after three years you get four weeks off! You get bonuses, paid holidays, and Elaine made it clear that the attorneys there don't (and wouldn't) get away with the crap the other Elaine put me through at AAA. She is dedicated to keeping the office as drama-free as possible, which is awesome! Only bad thing is I'll have to start wearing office-wear again....blah.

Last Friday when I got home I had a message on my answering machine from another place that saw my resume on Michigan Talent and also wants to interview me. Damn....lol....I've gotten really popular! I called them back today when I got home from my interview and the girl who called (Lisa) had already left so I left a message that I would call her tomorrow on my lunch hour. I'm really hoping the job I interviewed for today comes though, though. The attorney does medical malpractice, which is my FAVORITE!!!

I really do feel like I can handle going back to the legal field....I swear. I feel like such a different person now. I'm not an emotional wreck anymore. Things don't bother me like they used to. There are two girls who work where I am now that I can tell don't care for me and you know what? I don't care....not even a little. I don't feel malicious towards them, I just don't care. The old me would have been crying and wondering what I had done and driving myself crazy trying to come up with ways to get them to like me. Not this me. They don't like me, oh well. They don't clean my house, pay my bills or put money in my checking account, so it's no big loss. I don't dislike them and have no ill will towards them. It is what it is.

I had also never worked for such a circus that was AAA, or for such a disorganized, crazy person like Elaine. In the past I've worked for law firms I've loved and hated to leave, so I know if I find the right place again, it can work.

Just please pray for me, okay? Pray for God's will. He's never let me down before and I know He won't stop now!

And please, PLEASE keep praying for my Aunt Dee. She started chemo three weeks ago and she's already had to go back to the hospital once for an infection and her hair has started falling out in large clumps. It's hard for me to think about any of it. She's always been so alive and fun and funny and loving...she never complains, even now. But my Aunt Pam told my mom that when her hair started falling out she broke down and cried like a baby. It's not a vanity thing....I think it's that all this is really starting to hit her. When I think about it I feel like someone has kicked me in the stomach. Please please please keep her in your prayers!!!

Okay, hubby is home so I'm gonna chat with him. Hope everyone had a great Tuesday!

Much love....xoxo


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.