Case dismissed in A day in the life...

  • July 19, 2014, 12:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yep, it was quick and (almost) painless.

Yesterday was the hearing on AAA's motion to dismiss my case against them, and the judge granted it. Yes, you read that right. She (the judge) said that this was clearly a workman's comp case and not a court case and that what Elaine (attorney I worked for) did was not done to intentionally cause me distress.

I'll admit it, I was upset for about half an hour. Not upset as in crying and screaming or anything like that...more like my feelings were hurt. I had said before that whatever happens, it's in God's hands. I still believe that and I really am fine. What had me a little upset was the judge's comment that what Elaine did was not done to intentionally cause me distress. Really? And you know that how, Judge? If it wasn't done to cause me distress and paint me in a bad light and ruin my reputation at my place of employment, then why did she do it? And what about the flat-out lie she told about my husband and I having a troubled marriage and us being in marital counseling for it? But it is what it is. Now my lawyers are meeting next week to hammer out a workman's comp claim and we'll see how that goes.

Seeing what my aunt is going through right now really puts things in perspective anyway. So the judge dismissed the case...big deal. I have my family, friends, church, job, health, and my faith....I have everything that matters. My aunt is fighting Stage 4 non-Hodgkins lymphoma (yes, that's what the biopsy results showed) and has started a brutal course of chemotherapy. She's going to get sick as a dog, most likely lose all her hair, won't be able to be around any of the kids in our family or any adult who is sick, will have to mask up anytime she leaves her house because she will have no immune system for a long time, and anyone who goes to see her will also have to mask up. I have NOTHING to complain about and trust me, I'm not complaining. I'm praying every day, constantly throughout the day, for my aunt, and I would appreciate any and all prayers from anyone who reads this.

So the job is still going well. I've been a few minutes late a few times because mornings are not my friend at all, but no one has said anything. And if I am a few minutes late I just make sure I come back early from lunch. This coming Wednesday I'll only be working a half day because I have therapist and endocrinologist appointments. What sucks about it is that I won't get paid for the time I'm not there, but what is AWESOME about it is that I haven't seen my therapist in well over a month AND this coming Wednesday is also a group therapy day, which I haven't been able to go to in well over a month as well. YAY! I miss my group friends and the camaraderie we have and the emotional support I get from them and I can't wait to see everyone!

I'm not as excited to see the endocrinologist. She's going to be pissed at me, that much I know for sure. I haven't been going to the gym lately and I was out of a couple of my diabetes meds for a while and didn't have the money to get them refilled (cuz I wasn't working) so my blood sugars haven't been what they should be. I'm sure my A1c is going to be not great at all. But it's okay because starting on Monday I'm getting back on the gym wagon, I have all my meds and have the money to get them refilled when I need them, and I'm going to be the good little diabetic I know I can be :-)

I have to go clean the office building sometime today but right now I'm just not in the mood. I had Ben for a couple of hours this morning and then his dad came and got him (and actually paid me!). Now I'm just sitting around in my jammies with the TV on and considering a nap before going and tackling the office building. Hubby had to work today. He won't get off until 3:30 and then he's going to the gym after he gets off.

I cut my mood stabilizer down to half a pill a day to see if that would help with feeling so numb inside all the time. I think it has a little bit. I still haven't been able to cry about anything but I have found myself being more humorous and laughing more in the past week, so that's a good thing. Anyone who knows me knows I love to laugh and I've really missed my funny self and laughing at other people's humor or funny things I read or see. I even made some people laugh at work yesterday before we went home...lol!

Let me set the scene: Patrick is our supervisor. I do order processing and when I'm done processing the orders I give them to Norrine, who handles the logistics (how they're going to be shipped, by what company, etc.). Yesterday I had two separate orders for a company called Pacific Dimensions. One order was for an item that could be shipped UPS, but the other order had an item on it that absolutely had to go freight. When that happens we combine the orders and ship everything freight. It saves the client money that way, but shipping things freight instead of UPS is also more work for Norrine. Anyway, I processed the two Pacific Dimensions orders, marked them to ship freight and figured out the cost, printed out the paperwork for each order and clipped them together since they were shipping together and handed everything to Norrine. Getting late in the day, right as Norrine is starting on the PD orders, Patrick tells Norrine to give them back to me because he has two more PD orders he wants to add, making four orders total for PD. Norrine is irritated (at Patrick) because she had just started on them but she stops what she's doing and gives them back to me. Patrick gives me the two new PD orders and I process those and then clip the now four orders together and give everything back to Norrine. 4:30 comes (time to go home) and we're all getting our desks in order and our purses out and getting ready to go punch out and leave. Norrine is in the kitchen grabbing her lunch bag when Patrick pokes his head out of his cubicle.

Patrick: Hey Amy, where are those Pacific Dimensions orders?

Me: I already did them and gave them to Norrine. Why?

Patrick: I need them back...I have two more to add to them.

Me: You have two more??? That'll be six orders combined. Oh Patrick, you are in a lot of trouble.

Patrick (smiling and chuckling): You think Norrine's going to be mad?

Me: She's going to hurt you. I need to go punch out so I can get out of here before you tell her.

Patrick: What, you don't want to stick around and see how she reacts?

Me: Definitely not. I can't afford to get any blood on my clothes because I'm out of Oxi-Clean.

Lauretta, Danielle, and all the ladies in customer service bust out laughing just as Norrine walks up and asks what's so funny. I told her Patrick would be happy to fill her in and smiled at him and wished him luck.

Okay, maybe you had to be there to appreciate the humor in the situation. It WAS funny, though.

Have I mentioned that lately I've developed a serious addiction to peanut butter? I mean, I've always liked it, but lately I've been going through a jar of it every week or two. I eat it on bananas, apples, graham crackers, gluten-free waffles, or just straight out of the jar. I know it's not great for diabetics but at least I eat the low sugar kind. Right now I'm out and there are some bananas and apples in the fruit bowl on the kitchen table mocking me because they know I won't eat them without peanut butter. They think they're safe but little do they know I'm going to go pick up some more PB tonight, haha!

Okay, well, I'm bored now and I'm sure you are too so I'll end here. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!!

Much love....xoxo


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.