Oy. in 2014

  • July 17, 2014, 12:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A supervisors work is never done. I'm off today since the team I am incharging is off Sunday's and Thursday's. Sam texted me a bit ago, letting me know one of our girls was showing up as a no call no show for her make-up hours today. Um, no. I had resubmitted her make-up hour request on Monday and it should have been fixed. So, I got to call Workforce and explain to Neil what happened and that I did have the emails back and forth from someone else in Workforce, but don't have access to them right now since I don't have my work email on my phone.

It's now fixed.

Oy.

My computer profiles at work are now all supervisor profiles. My background for Windows is orange and I'm on all of the supervisor distro lists for email. I dread to think what my email will look like tomorrow. You get roughly fifty emails an hour. Which is only a very slight exaggeration, depending on what's going on.

I'm pretty sure the team I'm in-charging is trying to spoil me. They brought me breakfast yesterday, which consisted of a sausage biscuit and hashbrown from McDonald's. They said they never did that for Sam. The day before, they told me they were going to vote him off the island and vote me on.

I've been thinking about the differences between the two of us to figure out what I shouldn't do as a sup, which is difficult. As a person, I really like Sam. But as a sup...that's another story entirely. Between the two of us, there is an age difference of about ten years (I'm older) and I don't have ADHA. But for some of the things I've heard in the last week and have seen before that, there is no excuse.

I'm not brash. I'll tell you that you need to do something and how to do it in such a way that you will understand, using my own examples, giving you tips and tricks I found successful on the phones. If you are late or leave early, I will try my best not to point you using PTO or shift swaps or considering the lateness you lunch. If I have to point you, I will tell you what I pointed and why. I give updates on attendance points so everyone knows where they are at. When I send out the hourly updates, I try to make it encouraging and inspiring when they are bad, but serious so they know I mean business since brow beating never gets a positive affect with most people.

Sam doesn't do these things. That frustrates me because it seems like what he does has a negative impact on people. You want to have a positive impact, even if you are getting onto somebody about something.

But I have my faults. I want to be hard. I want to have the iron fist. Especially when it comes to attendance. That is my biggie. Most people do not understand that. After everything I have seen my dad go through physically where he did not miss work, I want to go hard. With that inspiration, I have worked when I probably shouldn't have, like when my gallbladder was singing it's final song. If I call in, people know I am about to die, or at least feel like it.

A good example was a girl that wanted to leave yesterday because of "female problems". When I stopped my birth control in January, I had one hell of a few months after that. The pain was more than anything I could remember a period feeling like. But I still made it to work.

Yet, there is a balance. Everyone has a different pain tolerance. Mine is higher than most people's because of what I've been through. Kidney stones, childbirth, gallbladder failing. My period is nothing compared to those but, when it gets bad, I know to take measures to prevent the pain from being bad. My coworker and best friend Tammera make me a herbal tea blend that hits the cramps and the bloating to the point I don't have to take even OTC painkillers.

But not everyone is as resourceful as I am. I have to keep reminding myself of that.

Video of the day. I don't like much rap, but I love this song. The lyrics are amazing. I really need to watch the Fast & Furious movies one of these days. I saw #1 when it came out and Tokyo Drift, but not the others.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.